CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Great Lakes-Northern Forest Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (GLNF-CESU) is a network of faculty and staff from 37 leading academic programs, specialists from 10 organizations, and resource managers from 10 federal land management and natural resource agencies.

The GLNF-CESU biogeographic region includes all or parts of 12 states, over 30 percent of the nation's total population, large metropolitan areas, and some of the most significant water resources and forest lands.

Members strive to improve the scientific knowledge for managing public lands by providing resource managers with high-quality research, technical assistance, and education. The GLNF-CESU seeks to resolve resource problems at multiple scales using interdisciplinary ecosystem studies involving the biological, physical, social, and cultural sciences.

HOST Universith of Minnesota

University of Minnesota

ESTABLISHED 2002
WEBSITE http://www.cesu.umn.edu
CO-DIRECTORS Michael Kilgore
Professor and Head, Department of Forest Resources
College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural Resource Sciences
115 Green Hall
1530 Cleveland Avenue N
St. Paul, MN, 55108
PHONE: (612) 624-3098
EMAIL: mkilgore@umn.edu

Erin Williams
Co-Director, Great Lakes-Northern Forest CESU
Great Lakes Restoration Initiative Coordinator
National Park Service, Midwest Region
115 Green Hall
1530 Cleveland Avenue N
St. Paul, MN 55108
PHONE: (612) 624-7286 office
EMAIL: Erin_Williams@nps.gov

Merril Flanary
GLNF CESU Coordinator
EMAIL: glnfcesu@umn.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS
AGREEMENTS AMENDMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2002)
Amendment 1 adding Cleveland State University and University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point
Amendment 2 adding Northern Michigan University, Stephen F. Austin State University, and University of Wisconsin, La Crosse
Amendment 3 adding the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2007)
Amendment 1 adding Antioch University New England, Cornell University, Indiana State University, Purdue University, and University of Notre Dame
Amendment 2 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment
Amendment 3 adding Ball State University, Grand Valley State University, Hamline University, Midwest Art Conservation Center, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota, and Winona State University

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2012)
Amendment 1 adding Central Michigan University, Kent State University, The Ohio State University, and Wildlife Conservation Society
Amendment 2 adding Chicago Botanic Garden, Northland College, and Northern Illinois University
Amendment 3 adding George Wright Society
Amendment 4 adding The College at Brockport (SUNY)
Amendment 5 adding Bureau of Indian Affairs, University of Wisconsin–Green Bay, and Wayne State University

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2017)
Amendment 1 adding University of Pittsburgh

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Land Management Sean MacDougall
Biological Sciences Program Lead
Eastern States Office
smacdoug@blm.gov

Karlee Yurek
Branch Chief, Natural and Community Resources
kyurek@blm.gov
Brandon Riley
Grants Management Officer
briley@blm.gov
Department of Defense Ray Rainbolt
Raymond.E.Rainbolt.civ@mail.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
DoD CESU Project Manager
USACE Fort Worth District
Kathy.S.Mitchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
DoD CESU Project Manager
Engineering Construction and Support Office
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
U.S. Forest Service Thomas L. Schmidt
Station Assistant Director
Northern Research Station
tschmidt@fs.fed.us
David Garrison
Grants and Agreements Specialist
davidgarrison@fs.fed.us
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Craig Czarnecki
Science Applications Assistant Regional Director
craig_czarnecki@fws.gov
Daniel D. Lovdahl
Grants Management Specialist
Region 3 CGS Division
daniel_lovdahl@fws.gov
National Aeronautics and Space Administration Donald Easterling
Chief, Energy and Environmental Management
John H. Glenn Research Center
Donald.F.Easterling@nasa.gov
Melissa Merrill
Lead Grant Officer
John H. Glenn Research Center
Melissa.A.Merrill@grc.nasa.gov
National Park Service Erin Williams
CESU Research Coordinator
erin_williams@nps.gov
Julie Hendricks
Lead Grants and Agreements Officer
Midwest Regional Office
julie_hendricks@nps.gov

Noël Ann Miller
Grants Management Specialist
noel_miller@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist
Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Kirk Lohman
Supervisory Research Biologist
klohman@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Antioch University, New England James Jordan
jjordan@antioch.edu
David Caruso
dcaruso1@antioch.edu
Ball State University Melody Bernot
mjbernot@bsu.edu
Justin M. Miller
jmiller5@bsu.edu
Central Michigan University Donald Uzarski
uzars1dg@cmich.edu
David E. Ash
ash1de@cmich.edu

Mary Montoye
monto1mj@cmich.edu
Cleveland State University Mike Walton
b.walton@csuohio.edu
Leo Jeffres
l.jeffres@csuohio.edu
Cornell University Daniel Decker
djd6@cornell.edu
Christine Ashdown
cma20@cornell.edu
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College Courtney Kowalczak
courtneyk@fdltcc.edu
Larry Anderson
larrya@fdltcc.edu
Grand Valley State University Alan Steinman
steinmaa@gvsu.edu
Chris Chamberlain
chambech@gvsu.edu
Hamline University Tracy Fredin
tfredin@hamline.edu
David Stern
dstern02@hamline.edu
Indiana State University Lynn Maurer
Dean, College of Graduate and Professional Studies
Lynn.Maurer@indstate.edu
Liz Metzger
Office of Sponsored Programs
emetzger@indstate.edu
Indiana University Stephen Wolter
sawolter@indiana.edu
Theresa Ann Miller
teremill@indiana.edu
Kent State University Christopher Blackwood
cblackwo@kent.edu
W. Grant McGimpsey
wmcgimps@kent.edu
Michigan State University Daniel Keathley
Keathley@msu.edu
Daniel Evon
evon@cga.msu.edu
Michigan Technological University David Reed
ddreed@mtu.edu
Lisa Jukkala
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
lajukkal@mtu.edu
Minnesota State University, Mankato Ronald Nickerson
ronald.nickerson@mnsu.edu
Richard Straka
richard.straka@mnsu.edu
Northland College Randy Lehr
Co-Director, Burke Center for Freshwater Innovation
rlehr@northland.edu
Lisa S. Williamson
Director of Sponsored Programs
lwilliamson@northland.edu
Northern Illinois University Melissa Lenczewski
Director, Institute for the Study of the Environment, Sustainability, and Energy
lenczewski@niu.edu
Dara C. Little
Director, Office of Sponsored Projects
dlittle@niu.edu
Northern Michigan University Susy Ziegler
Associate Professor and Department Head, Earth, Environmental, and Geographical Sciences
Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences
suziegle@nmu.edu
Michael Broadway
mbroadwa@nmu.edu
Purdue University Robert Swihart
rswihart@purdue.edu
Mark Pearson
mwpearson@purdue.edu
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Andrew Robertson
Executive Director
GeoSpatial Services
aroberts@smumn.edu
Benjamin Murray
Vice President for Financial Affairs
bmurray@smumn.edu
Southern University and A&M College Kamran Abdollahi
kamrana664@cs.com
James Llorens
james_llorens@subr.edu
State University of New York Mark Lomolino
island@esf.edu
Cornelius Murphy, Jr.
cbmurphy@esf.edu
The College at Brockport (SUNY) Jacques Rinchard
jrinchar@brockport.edu
Laura Merkl
lmerkl@brockport.edu
Stephen F. Austin State University Dr. Shelby Laird
lairdsg@sfasu.edu
Jennifer Hanlon
Assistant Director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
hanlonjd@sfasu.edu
The Ohio State University Stuart A. Ludsin
ludsin.1@osu.edu
Ginette A. Busque
busque.1@osu.edu
University of Iowa Keri Hornbuckle
keri-hornbuckle@uiowa.edu
Jennifer Lassner
jennifer-lassner@uiowa.edu
University of Minnesota Michael Kilgore
Professor and Head, Department of Forest Resources
College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural Resource Sciences
mkilgore@umn.edu

Alan Ek
Professor Emeritus, Department of Forest Resources
aek@umn.edu
Kevin McKoskey
Director, Office of Sponsored Projects Administration
kevin@umn.edu
University of Notre Dame Gary Lamberti
glambert@nd.edu
Liz Rulli
lrulli@nd.edu
University of Toledo Christine Mayer
christine.mayer@utoledo.edu
Brenda McKinley
Associate Director, Research and Sponsored Programs
researchadmin.mc@utoledo.edu
University of Vermont Allan Strong
Allan.Strong@uvm.edu
Jennifer Gagnon
Jennifer.Gagnon@uvm.edu
University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Mathew Dornbush
Associate Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs / Director of Graduate Studies
dornbusm@uwgb.edu
Lidia Nonn
Director, Office of Grants and Research
nonnl@uwgb.edu
University of Wisconsin-Extension Kevin Erb
Director, Conservation Professional Training Program
UWEX Environmental Resources Center
Kevin.Erb@ces.uwex.edu
Jordon Ott
Director, Office of Extramural Support
jordon.ott@uwex.edu
University of Wisconsin, La Crosse James Wiener
wiener.jame@uwlax.edu
Robert H. Hoar
rhoar@uwlax.edu
University of Wisconsin, Madison Bill Barker
Associate Dean for Research
College of Agricultural and Life Sciences
william.barker@wisc.edu
Kim Moreland
kmorelan@rsp.wisc.edu
University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point Christine Thomas
cthomas@uwsp.edu
Katherine Jore
kjore@uwsp.edu
West Virginia University Chad Pierskalla
cpierska@wvu.edu
Curt Peterson
curt.peterson@mail.wvu.edu
Winona State University Charla S. Miertschin
Dean, College of Science and Engineering
CMiertschin@winona.edu
Brett Ayers
Director, Grants and Sponsored Projects
BAyers@winona.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
American Indian Science and Engineering Society (inactive) vacant  
Chicago Botanic Garden Gregory M. Mueller
Vice President of Science and Academic Programs
gmueller@chicagobotanic.org
Anya Maziak
Development Officer, Foundation and Government Relations
amaziak@chicagobotanic.org
George Wright Society Emily Dekker-Fiala
efiala@georgewright.org
 
Great Lakes Commission Tom Crane
tcrane@glc.org
 
Midwest Art Conservation Center Colin Turner
cturner@preserveart.org
 
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Keith Wendt
keith.wendt@dnr.state.mn.us
 
Science Museum of Minnesota Paul Martin
pmartin@smm.org

Dan Engstrom
dengstrom@smm.org
Eric Jolly
ejolly@smm.org
The Nature Conservancy Christine Hall
chall@tnc.org
Rob McKim
rmckim@tnc.org
Wildlife Conservation Society Heidi Kretser
hkrester@wcs.org

Jodi Hilty
North America Program Director
Wildlife Conservation Director
jodiannhilty@gmail.com