CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

With rapidly growing and urbanizing populations, the Rocky Mountain Region presents opportunities for innovative and creative resource management.  The RM-CESU meets these opportunities by bringing together the region’s best scientific talent and scholarship to help manage resource problems across social, cultural, economic, political, and environmental arenas. The RM-CESU works to aid in the development and transmission of knowledge to land managers, political and industry leaders, and others who need such information.  The RM-CESU conducts research, education, and technical assistance on both agency specific issues and on issues concerning areas of mixed ownership.  In fact, one of its strengths is the ability to identify and manage activities that require partnerships that involve more than two of its partners.

HOST Universith of Montana

University of Montana

ESTABLISHED 1999
WEBSITE http://www.cfc.umt.edu/cesu/
CO-DIRECTORs Tom DeLuca
Dean and Professor, College of Forestry and Conservation
32 Campus Dr
Missoula, MT, 59812
PHONE: (406) 243-5521
EMAIL: tom.deluca@mso.umt.edu

Lisa Gerloff
ROMO-CESU
32 Campus Dr
Missoula, MT, 59812
PHONE: (406) 243-6936
EMAIL: rmcesu@cfc.umt.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (1999)
Amendment 1 adding University of Wyoming
Amendment 2 adding University of Colorado at Boulder and Denver
Amendment 3 adding U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2004)
Amendment 1 adding Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding University of Northern Colorado
Amendment 3 adding University of Calgary
Amendment 4 adding U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works
Amendment 5 adding Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2009)
Amendment 1 adding U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 2 adding Metropolitan State College (now University) of Denver
Amendment 3 adding Little Big Horn College
Amendment 4 adding Northwest College and University of Utah
Amendment 5 adding Blackfeet Community College, Chief Dull Knife College, University of Waterloo, and Wildlife Conservation Society

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2014)
Amendment 1 adding Boise State University and Western State Colorado University

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Climate Science Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Sandy Leach
Deputy State Director, Resources, Planning, and Fire
BLM-Montana
ssleach@blm.gov

Scott Davis
Central Regional Science Coordinator, National Science and Technology Center
scott_davis@blm.gov
Lori J. Anderson
Grants Management Officer
landerso@blm.gov
Bureau of Reclamation Jennifer Beardsley
Great Plains Regional Office
jbeardsley@usbr.gov
Lindsey Nafts
Grants and Cooperative Agreements Specialist
lnafts@usbr.gov
Department of Defense Alan B. Anderson
Chief, Ecological Processes Branch
U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center (ERDC)
Construction Engineering Research Laboratory (CERL)
alan.b.anderson@usace.army.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
DoD CESU Project Manager
USACE Fort Worth District
Kathy.S.Mitchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
DoD CESU Project Manager
Engineering Construction and Support Office
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Greg Watson
Chief, Office of Landscape Conservation
Mountain-Prairie Region
Greg_Watson@fws.gov
Tammy Mayne or Patrick McKenney
Grants and Agreements Specialists FW6_CGS_FA@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Jan Engert
Assistant Director, Science Application and Integration
Rocky Mountain Research Station
jengert@fs.fed.us

Claudia Regan
Regional Vegetation Ecologist, Region 2
cregan@fs.fed.us

Beth Hahn

Regional Wildlife Ecologist, Region 1
bhahn@fs.fed.us
Cindy Gordon
Lead Grants Management Specialist
Rocky Mountain Research Station
cdgordon@fs.fed.us

Linda Marsh
Grants Management Specialist
lmarsh@fs.fed.us
National Park Service Brendan Moynahan
Research Coordinator
brendan_moynahan@nps.gov
Kelvin Delaney
Intermountain Region
Financial Assistance Officer
kelvin_delaney@nps.gov

Andrew Lubner
Washington Office
Contract Officer
andrew_lubner@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Jeff Kershner
Fort Collins Science Center
jkershner@usgs.gov

Zack Bowen
Fort Collins Science Center
zack_bowen@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Blackfeet Community College Carol Murray
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and Student Services
c_murray@bfcc.edu
Lola Wippert
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
lola@bfcc.edu
Boise State University Pei-Lin Yu
Assistant Professor
Department of Anthropology
pei-linyu@boisestate.edu
Karen Henry
Executive Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
osp@boisestate.edu
Chief Dull Knife College Michelle Curlee
Dean of Academic Affairs
mcurlee@cdkc.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Colorado State University Mark W. Paschke
Associate Professor, Restoration Ecology Forest and Rangeland Stewardship
Research Associate Dean, Warner College of Natural Resources
mark.paschki@colostate.edu
Diane Barrett
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
diane.barrett@colostate.edu
Little Big Horn College David Small
Dean of Administration
Little Big Horn College
smalld@lbhc.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Metropolitan State University of Denver Jason Janke
Professor, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
jjanke1@mscd.edu
Gwendolyn Mami, J.D.
Executive Director, Office of Sponsored Research and Programs
gmami@msudenver.edu
Montana State University David W. Roberts
Department Head, Ecology
droberts@montana.edu
Sandy Sward
Director of Office of Sponsored Programs
ssward@montana.edu
Northwest College Dean Bruce
Interim Dean of Extended Campus and Workforce
Dean.Bruce@nwc.edu
Gerald Giraud
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Gerald.Giraud@nwc.edu
Salish Kootenai College Adrian Leighton
Forestry Program
adrian_leighton@skc.edu

Pat Hurley
Environmental Science Program
pat_hurley@skc.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Calgary Andre Buret
Associate Vice President (Research)
aburet@ucalgary.ca
Lorna Very
Director, Grants, Awards and Ethics
rsogrants@ucalgary.ca
University of Colorado, Boulder Tim Seastedt
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology/Fellow, INSTAAR
timothy.seastedt@colordao.edu

Patricia Rankin
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
patricia.rankin@colorado.edu
Denitta Ward
Director, Office of Contracts and Grants
denitta.ward@colorado.edu
University of Colorado, Denver Ekaterini "Kat" Vlahos
Associate Professor and Director, Center of Preservation Research
kat.vlahos@ucdenver.edu
Ginger Acierno
Director, Sponsored Projects Financial Services
ginger.acierno@ucdenver.edu
University of Idaho Kurt Pregitzer
Dean, College of Natural Resources
kpregitzer@uidaho.edu
Deborah Shaver
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
dshaver@uidaho.edu
University of Montana Tom DeLuca
Dean and Professor, College of Forestry and Conservation
tom.deluca@mso.umt.edu

Lisa Gerloff
ROMO CESU Executive Coordinator
rmcesu@cfc.umt.edu
Judy Fredenberg
Assistant Vice President for Research and Federal Relations
judy.fredenberg@umontana.edu
University of Northern Colorado Jim Doerner
Professor, Department of Geography
james.doerner@unco.edu
Robert Houser
Assistant Vice President for Research and Sponsored Programs
robert.houser@unco.edu
University of Utah Matt Brownlee
Assistant Professor, Natural Resources Recreation Planning and Management
Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism
matthew.brownlee@hsc.utah.edu

Nan Ellin
Chair, Department of City and Metropolitan Planning
College of Architecture and Planning
ellin@arch.utah.edu
Brent K. Brown, J.D.
Director, Office of Sponsored Projects
ospawards@osp.utah.edu
University of Waterloo Brad Fedy
Assistant Professor
Environment and Resource Studies
bfedy@uwaterloo.ca

Heidi Swanson
Assistant Professor
Department of Biology
hswanson@uwaterloo.ca
George Dixon
V.P. University Research
dgdixon@uwaterloo.ca
University of Wyoming Dan Tinker
Assistant Professor, Botany
tinker@uwyo.edu
Jonnie Jenkins
Manager, Sponsored Programs
jjenki13@uwyo.edu
Utah State University Nancy Huntly
Director, Ecology Center, Professor of Biology
nancy.huntly@usu.edu
Kevin Peterson
Executive Director, Sponsored Programs
kevin.peterson@usu.edu
Washington State University Lisa Shipley
Associate Director and Professor, School of the Environment
shipley@wsu.edu
Darlene Rae Miller
Fiscal Specialist
millerdr@wsu.edu
Western State Colorado University Melanie Armstrong
Assistant Professor of Environment and Sustainability
Masters in Environmental Management Program
marmstrong@western.edu
Janice Welborn
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
jwelborn@western.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Wildlife Conservation Society Jeff Burrell
Northern Rockies and Greater Yellowstone Program Coordinator
jburrell@wcs.org
Shannon Roberts
Senior Program Manager/Finance and Operations
sroberts@wcs.org