CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Desert Southwest Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (DSCESU) is a cooperative network of 10 federal agencies, 13 universities, and 14 state and local agencies and nongovernmental organizations studying and managing natural and cultural resources across the states of California, Nevada, Arizona, New Mexico, and Texas. Formed in 2000, and encompassing the Mojave, Sonoran, and Chihuahuan deserts, the DSCESU has been involved in more than 400 projects, with funding totalling over $20 million. The DSCESU is hosted by the School of Natural Resources and the Environment at The University of Arizona in Tucson, Arizona.

Members of the Desert Southwest CESU benefit from a collaborative partnership in research, education, and technical assistance. Collaboration is facilitated by a streamlined task agreement process, and a 17.5% indirect cost rate (with the exception of the indirect cost rate of the U.S. Forest Service (0%) and Natural Resources Conservation Service (10%)).

HOST
Universith of Arizona

University of Arizona

ESTABLISHED
2000
WEBSITE
http://www.cals.arizona.edu/dscesu/
DIRECTOR
Stuart Marsh, Ph.D.
Director, School of Natural Resources and the Environment
The University of Arizona
ENR2 – Room N333
1064 E. Lowell Street
Tucson, AZ 85721
PHONE: (520) 621-8574
EMAIL: smarsh@email.arizona.edu

Ashley Stewart
Program Coordinator
The University of Arizona
ENR2 – Room N327
1064 E. Lowell Street
Tucson, AZ 85721 
PHONE: (520) 621-8567
EMAIL: akstewart@email.arizona.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2000)
Amendment 1 adding The Nature Conservancy
Amendment 2 adding the Univerity of Texas, El Paso
Amendment 3 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2005)
Amendment 1 adding the Organization of American Historians, Pima County Regional Flood Control District, and the Rocky Mountain Bird Observatory
Amendment 2 adding the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works
Amendment 3 adding Cornerstones Community Partnerships and the University of Texas, Arlington

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2010)
Amendment 1 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 2 adding the Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden
Amendment 3 adding CyArk, Western National Parks Association, and University of Utah
Amendment 4 adding Archaeology Southwest
Amendment 5 adding Sky Island Alliance
Amendment 6 adding Northern Arizona University
Amendment 7 adding Arizona Game and Fish Department

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2015)
Amendment 1 adding the Bureau of Indian Affairs
Amendment 2 adding Baylor University, Eastern New Mexico University, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, and Hawks Aloft, Inc.

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Climate Science Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Aaron Wilkerson
Soil, Water and Air Program Lead
Arizona State Office
awilkers@blm.gov
 
Bureau of Reclamation Mark McKinstry
Biological Scientist, Adaptive Management
mmckinstry@usbr.gov
Tim Wagoner
Grants Officer
Upper Colorado Regional Office
tpwagoner@usbr.gov
Department of Defense Sheridan Stone
Wildlife Biologist
Sheridan.Stone@us.army.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
kathy.s.mimtchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Dana Roth, DVM
Assistant Regional Director, Science Applications, Southwest Region
dana_roth@fws.gov
Annessa Culbreth
Executive Assistant
Science Applications Associate Regional Director
annessa_culbreth@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Alison Hill
Rocky Mountain Research Station
ahill01@fs.fed.us
Cindy Gordon
Lead Grants Management Specialist
Rocky Mountain Research Station
cdgordon@fs.fed.us

Linda Marsh
Grants Management Specialist
lmarsh@fs.fed.us
National Park Service Sallie Hejl
CESU Research Coordinator
sallie_hejl@nps.gov

Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Brent Sigafus
Biologist
Southwest Biological Science Center
Sonoran Desert Research Station
bsigafus@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Howard University Eleanor M. King
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology
emking@howard.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
New Mexico State University Kathryn Stoner
Professor and Department Head
Fishery and Wildlife Sciences
kstoner@nmsu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Northern Arizona University James Allen
Executive Director, School of Forestry
James.Allen@nau.edu
Wilma G. (Winnie) Ennenga
Director, Grant and Contract Services
Wilma.Ennenga@nau.edu
Texas State University Nathan Currit
Professor, Department of Geography
currit@txstate.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Universidad de Sonora José Raúl Romo León
Departamento de investigaciones Científicas y Tecnológicas
Profesor Investigador de Tiempo Completo
joser2@guayacan.uson.mx
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Arizona Stuart E. Marsh
Director, School of Natural Resources and the Environment
Professor and Chair Arid Lands Resource Sciences Ph.D. Program
Professor School of Geography and Development
smarsh@email.arizona.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of California, Riverside Michael F. Allen
Director, Center for Conservation Biology
michael.allen@ucr.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Texas, Arlington Jeremy Forsberg
Assistant Vice President for Research
ogcs@uta.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Texas, El Paso Carl Lieb
Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
clieb@utep.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Utah Matt Brownlee
Assistant Professor, Natural Resources Recreation Planning and Management Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism
matthew.brownlee@hsc.utah.edu
Brent K. Brown
Director of Sponsored Projects
ospawards@osp.utah.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Archaeology Southwest Linda Pierce
Deputy Director
lpierce@archaeologysouthwest.org
 
Arizona Game and Fish Department Tim Wade
Chief, Wildlife Contracts Branch
twade@azgfd.gov
 
Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum Kim Franklin
Conservation Biologist
Kfrankling@desertmuseum.org
 
Bird Conservancy of the Rockies Duane B. Pool
Science Director
duane.pool@birdconservancy.org

Arvind Panjabi

Director, International Program
arvind.panjabi@birdconservancy.org
 
Cornerstones Community Partnerships Jake Barrow
Program Director
Jbarrow@cstones.org
 
CyArk Elizabeth Lee
Vice President
elizabeth.lee@cyark.org
 
Organization of American Historians Aiden Smith
Interim Public History Manager
aidsmith@oah.org
 
Pima County and Pima County Regional Flood Control District Brian Powell
Program Manager
brian.powell@pima.gov
 
Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden Lucinda McDade
Executive Director and Judith B. Friend Director of Research
lucinda.mcdade@cgu.edu
 
Sky Island Allliance Carianne Campbell
Conservation Director
carianne@skyislandalliance.org
 
Sonoran Institute John Shepard
Senior Advisor
jshepard@sonoraninstitute.org
 
The Nature Conservancy David Mehlman
dmehlman@tnc.org
 
Western National Parks Association Jim Cook
Executive Director
Jim.Cook@wnpa.org