CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Piedmont-South Atlantic Coast Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (PSAC-CESU) facilitates collaboration among university, non-governmental organization and federal agency partners to provide relevant research, education and technical assistance for stewardship of cultural and natural resources.

HOST University of Georgia Warnell College logo

University of Georgia
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources

ESTABLISHED 2003
WEBSITE http://psaccesu.uga.edu/
DIRECTOR Nate Nibbelink
Associate Dean for Research
Professor, Spatial Ecology and Geographic Information Science
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
University of Georgia
180 E. Green Street
Athens, GA 30602-2152
PHONE: (706) 352-9294
FAX: (706) 542-8356
EMAIL: nate2@uga.edu

Eva Levi
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
180 Green Street
The University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602-2152
PHONE: (706) 542-3098
EMAIL: eva.levi@uga.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2003)
Amendment 1 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, East Carolina University, and University of South Carolina
Amendment 3 adding the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment
Amendment 4 adding the Department of the Army, North Carolina A&T State University, Towson University, University of South Florida, and Southern Forest Research Partnership

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2008)
Amendment 1 adding the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Amendment 2 adding Christopher Newport University, The Citadel, and the University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Amendment 3 adding Bureau of Ocean Energy, Management, Regulation, and Enforcement, University of West Georgia, Duke University, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill, National Wildlife Federation, and Project Orianne, Ltd.
Amendment 4 adding College of Charleston
Amendment 5 adding Georgia Department of Natural Resources Wildlife Resources Division and Marshall University

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2013)
Amendment 1 adding Amphibian and Reptile Conservancy, Georgia Tech Research Institute (on behalf of Georgia Institute of Technology), Georgia Southern University Research and Service Foundation, and University of North Florida
Amendment 2 adding Georgia Aquarium, Joseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center, and Georgia-Alabama Land Trust, Inc.

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2018)
Amendment 1 adding the University of North Carolina Greensboro
Amendment 2 adding the Park Institute of America

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Jennifer Seiter-Moser
Acting Technical Director
Civil Engineering Programs
Engineer Research and Development Center
jennifer.m.seiter-moser@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Tribal Resilience Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Anthony D. Bobo, Jr.
Deputy State Director, Natural Resources
BLM Eastern States Office
a1bobo@blm.gov
Amy Marshall
Grants Management Officer
amarshall@blm.gov
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Mary Boatman
Environmental Studies Chief
Office of Renewable Energy Programs
Environment Review Branch for Renewable Energy
mary.boatman@boem.gov
Jonathan Lilley
Program Analyst
Division of Environmental Sciences
Jonathan.Lilley@boem.gov
Department of Defense Chris Petersen
Senior Natural Resources Specialist
Naval Facilities Engineering Command - Atlantic
chris.petersen@navy.mil

Liz Galli-Noble
Program Manager, DoD Legacy Resource Management Program
elizabeth.j.galli-noble.civ@mail.mil
Lori Kruse-Johnson
SWD CESU Program Manager
Lori.M.Kruse-Johnson@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Laura Brandt
Regional Scientist
laura_brandt@fws.gov
Anna-Marie York
Grants Management Specialist
Science Applications
anna-marie_york@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Monica Schwalbach
Assistant Station Director
Southern Research Station
monica.schwalbach@usda.gov
Kim Parks
Grants and Agreements Specialist
Southern Research Station
kim.parks2@usda.gov
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Clay Porch
Director, Southeast Fisheries Sciences Center
clay.porch@noaa.gov
Michael Liddel
CESU Program Manager
Acting Branch Chief, Commercial Fishery Statistics
michael.liddel@noaa.gov
National Park Service Ray Albright
CESU Coordinator
ray_albright@nps.gov
Brian Straka
Lead Grants Management Officer
brian_straka@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Ronald Harris
Director
Outreach and Partnerships Division
Ronald.Harris@usda.gov
Aileen Anderson
Grants Management Specialist
aileen.anderson@usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey TBD/Vacant
TBD @ usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Auburn University Graeme Lockaby
Clinton McClure Professor
Director, Center for Forest Sustainability
Interim Dean & Professor,
School of Forestry & Wildlife Sciences
lockabg@auburn.edu
Mark Dutton
Contracts and Grants Administrator
Office of Sponsored Programs
mld0007@auburn.edu
Christopher Newport University Nicole Guajardo
Dean, College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences
nguajard@cnu.edu

Robert Atkinson
Department of Biology, Chemistry & Environmental Science
Atkinson@cnu.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
The Citadel Dena Garner
Director, Undergraduate Research Office
garnerd1@citadel.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Clemson University Matt Brownlee
Associate Professor, Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Management
mbrownl@clemson.edu
Sheila Lischwe
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
cuosp@clemson.edu
College of Charleston Sebastian van Delden
Interim Dean, School of Sciences and Mathematics
vandeldensa@cofc.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Duke University Shila Nordone
Director of Research Development
snordone@duke.edu
Keith Hurka-Owen
Associate Director
Office of Research Support
kpho@duke.edu
East Carolina University Hans Vogelsong
Associate Professor
Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies
vogelsongh@ecu.edu
Julie Cole
Director, Office of Research Administration
ORA@ecu.edu
Florida Agriculture and Mechanical University Vonda Richardson
Associate Director
Cooperative Extension Program
vonda.richardson@famu.edu
Timothy Moore
Vice President for Research
timothy.moore@famu.edu

Glory Brown
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
glory.brown@famu.edu
Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech) Kevin Caravati
Senior Research Scientist
Georgia Tech Research Institute
ATAS-Energy and Sustainability
Kevin.Caravati@gtri.gatech.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Georgia Southern University Daniel Gleason
Director, Institute for Coastal Plain Science
dgleason@georgiasouthern.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Marshall University Joe Ciccarello
Director, Grant/Contract Development
ciccarello@marshall.edu
Joe Ciccarello
Director, Grant/Contract Development
ciccarello@marshall.edu
North Carolina State University Richard Venditti
Interim Associate Dean for Research, College of Natural Resources
Elis and Signe Olsson Professor, Department of Forest Biomaterials
richardv@ncsu.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
The Citadel Lok C. Lew Yan Voon
Dean, School of Science and Mathematics
llewyanv@citadel.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Towson University Richard Seigel
Chair, Department of Biological Sciences
rseigel@towson.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Central Florida Graham A. J. Worthy
Distinguished Research Professor and Hubbs-Sea World Professor
gworthy@mail.ucf.edu
Mindy Solivan
Assistant Director of Research Programs and Services
Office of Research and Commercialization
mindy.solivan@ucf.edu
University of Florida Sherry Larkin
Director, Florida Sea Grant
slarkin@ufl.edu
Stephanie Gray
Assistant Vice President for Research
ufawards@ufl.edu
University of Georgia Scott Merkle
Associate Dean Research
Professor Forest Biology
smerkle@uga.edu
Jennifer Culbertson
Grants Coordinator III
Warnell Research Office
jculbertson@warnell.uga.edu
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Lawrence Band
Voit Gilmore Distinguished Professor of Geography and Director of the Institute for the Environment
lband@email.unc.edu
Tony Reevy
Senior Associate Director
UNC-Chapel Hill Institute for the Environment
reevy@email.unc.edu
University of North Carolina, Greensboro Evan Goldstein
Research Scientist
Department of Geography, Environment, and Sustainability
ebgoldst@uncg.edu
Valera Francis
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
vtfranc2@uncg.edu

Kimberly Littlefield
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Engagement
kplittle@uncg.edu
University of North Carolina, Wilmington Stuart Borrett
Associate Professor
Dept. of Biology and Marine Biology
borretts@uncw.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of North Florida John Kantner
Associate Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School
j.kantner@unf.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of South Carolina John Kupfer
Professor, Department of Geography
kupfer@sc.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of South Florida Travis Doering
Alliance for Integrated Spatial Technologies
Office of Research and Scholarship
College of Arts and Sciences
tdoering@usf.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of West Georgia Ann McCleary
Director, Center for Public History
History Department
amcclear@westga.edu
Ashley Miller
Pre-Award Coordinator
Office of Research and Sponsored Projects
amiller@westga.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Amphibian and Reptile Conservancy Jeff Holmes
Executive Director
jholmes@amphibiansreptiles.org
 
Audubon Florida Julie Wraithmell
Executive Director
jwraithmell@audubon.org
 
Audubon North Carolina Walker Golder
Director of the Atlantic Flyway Coasts
wgolder@audubon.org
 
Audubon South Carolina Walker Golder
Director of the Atlantic Flyway Coasts
wgolder@audubon.org
 
Georgia-Alabama Land Trust, Inc. Hal Robinson, Esq., LL.M.
Program Director and Director of Legal Affairs
hrobinson@galandtrust.org
 
Georgia Aquarium Alistair Dove
Director of Research and Conservation
adove@georgiaaquarium.org
 
Georgia Department of Natural Resources Wildlife Resources Division Jon Ambrose
Chief, Nongame Conservation Section
Georgia DNR Wildlife Resources Division
jon.ambrose@dnr.state.ga.us
 
Joseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center Lora Smith
Associate Scientist
lora.smith@jonesctr.org
 
National Wildlife Federation Patty Glick
Senior Climate Adaptation Specialist
glick@nwf.org

Naomi Edelson
Senior Manager of State Wildlife Programs
edelsonn@nwf.org
The Orianne Society Christopher Jenkins
Executive Director
cljenkins@oriannesociety.org
Park Institute of America Maureen Finnerty
Acting Board Director
mfinn03@comcast.net