CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Piedmont-South Atlantic Coast Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (PSAC-CESU) facilitates collaboration among university, non-governmental organization and federal agency partners to provide relevant research, education and technical assistance for stewardship of cultural and natural resources.

HOST University of Georgia Warnell College logo

University of Georgia (Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources)

ESTABLISHED 2003
WEBSITE http://psaccesu.uga.edu/
DIRECTOR Michael T Mengak
Associate Dean, Outreach
Professor, Wildlife Management & Outreach Specialist
Certified Wildlife Biologist®
Warnell School of Forestry & Natural Resources
180 Green Street
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30677
PHONE: (706) 583-8096
EMAIL: mmengak@uga.edu

Charlotte “Carly” Surratt
Warnell School of Forestry & Natural Resources
180 Green Street
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30677
PHONE: (706) 542-3098
EMAIL: csurratt@uga.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2003)
Amendment 1 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, East Carolina University, and University of South Carolina
Amendment 3 adding the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment
Amendment 4 adding the Department of the Army, North Carolina A&T State University, Towson University, University of South Florida, and Southern Forest Research Partnership

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2008)
Amendment 1 adding the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Amendment 2 adding Christopher Newport University, The Citadel, and the University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Amendment 3 adding Bureau of Ocean Energy, Management, Regulation, and Enforcement, University of West Georgia, Duke University, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill, National Wildlife Federation, and Project Orianne, Ltd.
Amendment 4 adding College of Charleston
Amendment 5 adding Georgia Department of Natural Resources Wildlife Resources Division and Marshall University

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2013)
Amendment 1 adding Amphibian and Reptile Conservancy, Georgia Tech Research Institute (on behalf of Georgia Institute of Technology), Georgia Southern University Research & Service Foundation, and University of North Florida

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Land Management Sean MacDougall
Biological Sciences Program Lead
Eastern States Office
smacdoug@blm.gov
Brandon Riley
Grants Management Officer
briley@blm.gov
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Mary C. Boatman
Environmental Studies Chief
Office of Renewable Energy Programs
Environment Review Branch for Renewable Energy
mary.boatman@boem.gov
Kate Segarra
Oceanographer
Division of Environmental Sciences katherine.segarra@boem.gov
Department of Defense
Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
kathy.s.mimtchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
Fish and Wildlife Service Laura Brandt
Regional Scientist
laura_brandt@fws.gov
Steve Sponaugle
Chief
Division of Contracting and Grant Services (CGS)
Southeast Region
steve_sponaugle@fws.gov
Forest Service Monica J. Schwalbach
Assistant Director, Planning & Applications
Southern Research Station
mschwalbach@fs.fed.us
Joyce Gorgas
Lead Grants and Agreements Specialist
jgorgas@fs.fed.us
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Bonnie Ponwith
Science and Research Director
Southeast Fisheries Sciences Center
bonnie.ponwith@noaa.gov
 
National Park Service Ray Albright
CESU Coordinator
ray_albright@nps.gov
 
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
United States Geological Survey Peter J. Lasier
pete_lasier@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Auburn University B. Graeme Lockaby
Clinton McClure Professor
Director, Center for Forest Sustainability
Interim Dean & Professor,
School of Forestry & Wildlife Sciences
lockabg@auburn.edu
Mark Dutton
Contracts and Grants Administrator
Office of Sponsored Programs
mld0007@auburn.edu
Christopher Newport University Nicole Guajardo
Dean, College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences
nguajard@cnu.edu

Robert Atkinson
Department of Biology, Chemistry & Environmental Science
Atkinson@cnu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Clemson University Joe Culin
Interim Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Studies
jculin@clemson.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
College of Charleston Michael Auerbach
Dean, School of Sciences and Mathematics
auerbachmj@cofc.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Duke University Ana Barros
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
barros@duke.edu

Dean Urban
Nicholas School of the Environment
University Program on Ecology
deanu@duke.edu

Christine Erlien
Research Opportunities Coordinator
Nicholas School of the Environment
christine.erlien@duke.edu
Keith Hurka‑Owen
Associate Director
Office of Research Support
kpho@duke.edu
East Carolina University Hans Vogelsong
Associate Professor
Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies
vogelsongh@ecu.edu
Barbara Gray
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
osp@ecu.edu
Florida Agriculture and Mechanical University Vonda Richardson
Associate Director
Cooperative Extension Program
vonda.richardson@famu.edu

K. Ken Redda
Professor and VP for Research
Division of Research
kinfe.redda@famu.edu
Glory B. Brown
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
glory.brown@famu.edu
Georgia Southern University Daniel Gleason
Director, Institute for Coastal Plain Science
dgleason@georgiasouthern.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Georgia Tech Research Institute (on behalf of Georgia Institute of Technology) Kevin Caravati
Senior Research Scientist
Georgia Tech Research Institute
ATAS-Energy & Sustainability
Kevin.Caravati@gtri.gatech.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Marshall University Joe Ciccarello
Director, Grant/Contract Development
ciccarello@marshall.edu
Joe Ciccarello
Director, Grant/Contract Development
ciccarello@marshall.edu
North Carolina State University Marian G. McCord
Associate Dean for Research, College of Natural Resources Director of Global Health Initiatives
mmccord@ncsu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
The Citadel Lok C. Lew Yan Voon
Dean, School of Science and Mathematics
llewyanv@citadel.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Towson University Richard A. Seigel
Chair, Department of Biological Sciences
rseigel@towson.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Central Florida Graham A. J. Worthy
Distinguished Research Professor and Hubbs-Sea World Professor
gworthy@mail.ucf.edu
Jennifer Parker
Proposal Manager
Office of Research and Commercialization
Jennifer.Parker@ucf.edu
University of Florida Sherry Larkin
Associate Dean for Research and Associate Director Florida Agriculture Experiment Station, Institute of Food and Agriculture Sciences
slarkin@ufl.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Georgia Michael T Mengak
Associate Dean, Outreach
Professor, Wildlife Management & Outreach Specialist
Certified Wildlife Biologist®
mmengak@uga.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Lawrence E. Band
Voit Gilmore Distinguished Professor of Geography and Director of the Institute for the Environment
lband@email.unc.edu
Tony Reevy
Senior Associate Director
UNC-Chapel Hill Institute for the Environment
reevy@email.unc.edu
University of North Carolina, Wilmington Stuart R. Borrett
Associate Professor
Dept. of Biology and Marine Biology
borretts@uncw.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of North Florida John Kantner, PhD, RPA
Associate Vice President for Research & Dean of the Graduate School
j.kantner@unf.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of South Carolina John Kupfer
Department of Geography
kupfer@sc.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of South Florida Travis F. Doering
Alliance for Integrated Spatial Technologies
Office of Research and Scholarship
College of Arts and Sciences
tdoering@cas.usf.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of West Georgia Ann E. McCleary
Director, Center for Public History
History Department
amcclear@westga.edu
Charla Campbell
Interim Director,
Office of Research & Sponsored Projects
charlac@westga.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Amphibian and Reptile Conservancy Jeff Holmes
Executive Director
jholmes@amphibiansreptiles.org
 
Audubon of Florida, North Carolina, and South Carolina Jerry Lorenz
State Research Director
jlorenz@audubon.org
 
Georgia Department of Natural Resources Wildlife Resources Division Jon Ambrose
Chief, Nongame Conservation Section
Georgia DNR Wildlife Resources Division
jon.ambrose@dnr.state.ga.us
 
National Wildlife Federation Naomi Edelson
Senior Manager of State Wildlife Programs
edelsonn@nwf.org
 
The Orianne Society Christopher L. Jenkins
Executive Director
cljenkins@oriannesociety.org