CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Pacific Northwest Cooperative Ecosystems Studies Unit (PNW CESU) is a cooperative venture between 17 leading academic institutions in the Pacific Northwest region, one state agency and ten federal land management and natural resource research organizations. The University of Washington serves as host to the PNW CESU. To date the United States had been divided into 17 bio-geographic regions, each served by a distinct CESU, with all regions connected in one national network. The overarching goal of the CESU network is to improve the scientific base for managing federal lands by providing resource managers with high-quality scientific research, technical assistance, and education. Since beginning in October 2000, over 250 projects have been funded through the PNW CESU Cooperative Agreement.

HOST

Universith of Washington

University of Washington

ESTABLISHED 2001
WEBSITE http://www.cfr.washington.edu/research.cesu/
CO-DIRECTORS Chris Lauver
Box 3521000
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195-2100
PHONE: (206) 685-7404
EMAIL: chris_lauver@nps.gov

Teresa Bresee

Program Coordinator
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195-2100
PHONE: (206) 616-4850
EMAIL: pnwcesu@u.washington.edu

Elizabeth Van Volkenburgh
Interim Director, School of Environmental and Forest Sciences
University of Washington
217 Johnson Hall
PHONE: (206) 543-6286 (Office) | (206) 543-3944 (Lab)  
EMAIL: lizvanv@u.washington.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2000)
Amendment 1 adding the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Amendment 2 adding the Bureau of Reclamation
Amendment 3 adding Southern Oregon University and the Alaska Native Science Comission
Amendment 4 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2005)
Amendment 1
adding Minerals Management Service and the Oregon Institute of Technology
Amendment 2 adding St. Mary's University of Minnesota
Amendment 3 adding Eastern Washington University
Amendment 4
adding the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2010)
Amendment 1 adding Department of Defense (Installations and Environment)

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2015)
Amendment 1 adding Bureau of Indian Affairs
Amendment 2 adding Seattle University

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Climate Science Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Louisa Evers
Research Liaison/Climate Change Coordinator
levers@blm.gov
Jessica Clark
Grants Management Officer
j1clark@blm.gov
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Dee Williams
Environmental Studies Program
dee.williams@boem.gov
Kate Segarra
Oceanographer
Division of Environmental Sciences katherine.segarra@boem.gov
Bureau of Reclamation Jaimee Turner
Regional Program Coordinator
Pacific Northwest Region
jmturner@usbr.gov
Melinda Ritacco
Grants Management Specialist
BOR Pacific Northwest Regional Office
mritacco@usbr.gov
Department of Defense William A. Vagt
Oregon Army National Guard
william.a.vagt.nfg@mail.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
kathy.s.mimtchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Paul Heimowitz
Regional Science Coordinator 
paul_heimowitz@fws.gov
Alice Garrett
Contract Specialist
alice_garrett@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Simon Kihia
Pacific Northwest Research Station
smkihia@fs.fed.us
Vi Ta
Grants Management
vita@fs.fed.us
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration John E. Stein
Deputy Science Director
NOAA Fisheries Service, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
john.e.stein@noaa.gov
Jennifer Lechuga
Environmental Compliance Coordinator
CESU Program Manager
jennifer.lechuga@noaa.gov
National Park Service Chris Lauver
CESU Coordinator
Chris_Lauver@nps.gov
Lilette Baltodano
Financial Agreements Officer Pacific West Regional Office
lilette_baltodano@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist
Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Carrie Phillips
Forest and Coastal Research Manager
USGS Forest and Rangeland Ecosystem Science Center
carrie_phillips@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Central Washington University Anne Johansen
Professor, Chemistry Department
johansea@cwu.edu
Julie Guggino
Associate Director, Research and Sponsored Programs
gugginoj@cwu.edu
Eastern Washington University Rebecca Brown
Assistant Professor, Department of Biology
rbrown@mail.ewu.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Heritage University Kazuhiro Sonoda
Dean, Arts and Sciences
sonoda_k@heritage.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Oregon Institute of Technology Jherime Kellermann
Assistant Professor of Natural Sciences
Jherime.Kellermann@oie.edu
Sara Reuter
Director, Business Affairs
sara.reuter@oit.edu
Oregon State University Lisa Gaines
Interim Director, Institute for Natural Resources
lisa.gaines@oregonstate.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Portland State University Lisa Zurk
Maseeh Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering Director
Northwest Electromagnetics and Acoustics Research Laboratory
Associate Vice President for Research
zurkl@pdx.edu


Contact your sponsored programs office
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Andrew Robertson
Executive Director
GeoSpatial Services
aroberts@smumn.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Seattle University Teodora Rutar Shuman
Associate Professor and Chair
Mechanical Engineering Department
teodora@seattleu.edu
Rebecca McColl
Director, Office of Research Services and Sponsored Projects
mccollr@seattleu.edu
Southern Oregon University Alissa Arp
Chair, Department of Environmental Science and Policy
arpa@sou.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Alaska, Anchorage Matthew Carlson
Associate Professor of Biological Sciences
mlcarlson@uaa.alaska.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Alaska, Southeast Karen Schmitt
Dean, School of Arts and Sciences; Vice Provost for Research & Sponsored Programs 
Arts and Sciences Department
krschmitt@uas.alaska.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of British Columbia Bruce Larson
Professor and Department Head
Department of Forest Resources Management
bruce.larson@ubc.ca
Contact your sponsored programs office
Univeristy of Idaho Kurt  Pretziger
Dean, College of Natural Resources
kpregitzer@uidaho.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Oregon Moira Kiltie
Assistant Vice President for Research
kiltie@uoregon.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Vermont and State Agriculture College Robert Manning
Professor, School of Natural Resources
robert.manning@uvm.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Washington Tom DeLuca
Director, School of Forest Resources
deluca@uw.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Washington State University Lisa Shipley
Associate Director/Professor School of the Environment
shipley@wsu.edu
Darlene Rae Miller
Contracting
millerdr@wsu.edu
Western Washington University Steve Hollenhorst
Professor and Dean, Huxley College of Environmental Studies
steve.hollenhorst@wwu.edu or nancy.mclaughlin@wwu.edu

Nancy McLaughlin
Assistant to the Dean
nancy.mclaughlin@wwu.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
OTHER PARTNERS
Alaska Department of Fish and Game Daniel Coleman
daniel.coleman@alaska.gov