CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Alaska CESU is a collaborative effort between universities, institutions, and federal agencies designed to facilitate research.

The Alaska CESU achieves the highest level of integrity and leadership expertise in unique circumpolar north, boreal and marine ecosystem science critical to the future of state, national and global issues by establishing:      

  • An integrated structural partnership that functions seamlessly to meet science needs
  • A quality assurance and peer review mechanism that assures the integrity of the process, bringing accurate and current science to bear on policy issues
  • A collaboration that is publicly visible in making connections and communicating research impacts at the state and national levels
  • A program that draws from all cultures in Alaska, builds both agency and partner human resource capacity in Alaskan expertise for the future and connects this capacity with the national arena
HOST University of Alaska, Fairbanks

University of Alaska, Fairbanks

ESTABLISHED 2003
WEBSITE http://www.uaf.edu/snre/cesu/
DIRECTOR Peter Fix
323 O'Neill Bldg
PO Box 757200
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Fairbanks, AK 99775
PHONE: (907) 474-6926
EMAIL: pjfix@alaska.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2003)
Amendment 1 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding the Minerals Management Service
Amendment 3 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 4 adding the Alaska Pacific University and Denali Education Center

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2008)
Amendment 1 adding the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment
Amendment 2 adding U.S. Army Corps of Engineers – Civil Works and Alaska Geographic
Amendment 3 adding Alaska Bird Observatory and Manomet Center for Conservation Sciences
Amendment 4 adding Wildlife Conservation Society, Idaho State University, and Montana State University

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2013)
Amendment 1 adding Sitka Sound Science Center
Amendment 2 adding Bureau of Indian Affairs

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2018)
Amendment 1 adding Alaska Conservation Foundation, Sealaska Heritage Institute, and Wildlife Management Institute
Amendment 2 adding Texas A&M AgriLife Research

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Jennifer Seiter-Moser
Acting Technical Director
Civil Engineering Programs
Engineer Research and Development Center
jennifer.m.seiter-moser@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Tribal Resilience Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Randy Goodwin
Alaska State Office
rgoodwin@blm.gov
Amy Marshall
Grants Management Officer
amarshall@blm.gov
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Cathy Coon
Chief, Environmental Sciences Management
catherine.coon@boem.gov
Jonathan Lilley
Program Analyst
Division of Environmental Sciences
Jonathan.Lilley@boem.gov
Department of Defense Matt Sprau
Resource Planning Branch Chief
DPW Environmental Division
matthew.h.sprau.civ@mail.mil

Liz Galli-Noble
Program Manager, DoD Legacy Resource Management Program
elizabeth.j.galli-noble.civ@mail.mil
Lori Kruse-Johnson
SWD CESU Program Manager
Lori.M.Kruse-Johnson@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Karen A. Murphy
Science Applications Program Coordinator
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Alaska Region
karen_a_murphy@fws.gov
Anna-Marie York
Grants Management Specialist
Science Applications
anna-marie_york@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Teresa Hollingsworth
Research Ecologist
Boreal Cooperative Research Unit
teresa.hollingsworth@usda.gov
Vi Ta
Grants and Agreements Lead
PNW Research Station
vi.ta@usda.gov
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Robert Foy
Director, Alaska Fisheries Science Center
robert.foy@noaa.gov
Michael Liddel
CESU Program Manager
Acting Branch Chief, Commercial Fishery Statistics
michael.liddel@noaa.gov
National Park Service Lois Dalle-Molle
CESU Research Coordinator
lois_dalle-molle@nps.gov
Erica Cordeiro
Grants Specialist
erica_cordeiro@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Ronald Harris
Director
Outreach and Partnerships Division
Ronald.Harris@usda.gov
Aileen Anderson
Grants Management Specialist
aileen.anderson@usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Grant Hilderbrand
Chief, Marine Ecology Office
ghilderbrand@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Alaska Pacific University Brad Harris
Associate Professor, Marine and Environmental Sciences
bharris@alaskapacific.edu
Rhonda Sandvik
Grants Director, Office of Advancement and Sponsored Programs
rsandvik@alaskapacific.edu
Idaho State University Ben Crosby
Assistant Professor
Department of Geosciences
crosby@isu.edu
Patricia Spotts
Director of Contracts, Office of Sponsored Programs
spotpatr@isu.edu
Montana State University Stephanie A. Ewing
Assistant Professor
Department of Land Resources and Environmental Sciences
stephanie.ewing@montana.edu
Sandy Sward
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
ssward@montana.edu
Texas A&M AgriLife Research Mathew Kramm
Project Director
Natural Resources Institute
Mathew.Kramm@ag.tamu.edu
Debbie Danford
Grants Manager
Natural Resources Institute
dedanford@ag.tamu.edu
University of Alaska, Anchorage Peter Fix
Chair, Department of Natural Resources Management
Alaska CESU Campus Coordinator
pjfix@alaska.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Alaska, Fairbanks Peter Fix
Chair, Department of Natural Resources Management
Alaska CESU Campus Coordinator
pjfix@alaska.edu

Larry Hinzman
Vice Chancellor for Research
ldhinzman@alaska.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Alaska, Southeast Peter Fix
Chair, Department of Natural Resources Management
Alaska CESU Campus Coordinator
pjfix@alaska.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of New Hampshire John D. Aber
Vice President for Research and Public Service
john.aber@unh.edu

Kelly Giraud Cullen
Associate Professor, Department of Natural Resources and the Environment
kelly.cullen@unh.edu
Louise G. Griffin
Senior Director, Research and Sponsored Programs Administration
Louise.Griffin@unh.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Alaska Geographic Andy Hall
Exeutive Director
andyh@alaskageographic.org

Eileen Kazura
Education Program Director
ekazura@alaskageographic.org
Alaska Conservation Foundation Aaron Poe
Network Officer
apoe@alaskaconservation.org
Alaska SeaLife Center Tara Riemer
President and CEO
tarar@alaskasealife.org
Manomet Center for Conservation Sciences Stephen Brown
Vice President for Shorebird Conservation
sbrown@manomet.org
Sealaska Heritage Institute Chuck Smythe
Director, Culture and History Department
chuck.smythe@sealaska.com
Sitka Sound Science Center Lisa Busch
Executive Director
lbusch@sitkascience.org
Wildlife Conservation Society Martin Robards
Regional Director
mrobards@wcs.org
Wildlife Management Institute Christian Smith
Western Field Representative
csmith@wildlifemgt.org