CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Hawaiʻi-Pacific Islands Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (HPI-CESU), a coalition of governmental agencies, non-governmental organizations and universities, promotes research, education and technical assistance to support better stewardship of imperiled natural and cultural resources within the Pacific.

On 1 July 2004, Hawaiʻi and the Pacific Islands became part of Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Units Network, a national network which links federal land-managing agencies with universities, museums and other organizations that can provide research, training and technical expertise in managing natural and cultural resources. It allows easy transfer of federal funds through cooperative agreements to individual principal investigators to work on collaborative projects with partner organizations.

HOST

University of Hawaiʻi

University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo

University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo

ESTABLISHED 2004
WEBSITE http://hilo.hawaii.edu/hpicesu/
DIRECTOR Sharon Ziegler Chong
Research and Community Partnerships
University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
200 W. Kāwili Street
Hilo, HI 96720
PHONE: (808) 933-0759
FAX: (808) 933-0704
EMAIL: ziegler@hawaii.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement 2004
Amendment 1 adding Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment
Amendment 2 adding
University of Redlands

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement 2009
Amendment 1 adding National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works
Amendment 2 adding the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
Amendment 3 adding Island Conservation

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement 2014
Amendment 1 adding Ships of Discovery, Micronesian Conservation Coalition, and Edith Kanakaʻole Foundation

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement 2019
Amendment 1 adding American Bird Conservancy

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Jennifer Seiter-Moser
Acting Technical Director
Civil Engineering Programs
Engineer Research and Development Center
jennifer.m.seiter-moser@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Land Management James Weigand
Ecologist
California State Office
jweigand@blm.gov
Leona Parker
Grants Management Officer
California State Office
lparker@blm.gov
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Cathie Dunkel
Environmental Studies Coordinator
Pacific OCS Region
catherine.dunkel@boem.gov
Jonathan Lilley
Program Analyst
Division of Environmental Sciences
Jonathan.Lilley@boem.gov
Department of Defense Kapua Kawelo
Manager, U.S. Army Garrison Hawaiʻiís Oahu Natural Resources Program
hilary.k.kawelo.civ@mail.mil

Jennifer Horeg
Conservation Resources Program Manager, NAVFAC
jennifer.horeg@fe.navy.mil

Liz Galli-Noble
Program Manager, DoD Legacy Resource Management Program
elizabeth.j.galli-noble.civ@mail.mil
Lori Kruse-Johnson
SWD CESU Program Manager
Lori.M.Kruse-Johnson@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Stephen Miller
stephen_e_miller@fws.gov
Anna-Marie York
Grants Management Specialist
Science Applications
anna-marie_york@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Susan Cordell
Director, Institute of Pacific Islands Forestry (IPIF)
Pacific Southwest Research Station
scordell01@fs.fed.us
National Park Service Jadelyn Nakamura
CESU Research Coordinator
jadelyn_moniz-nakamura@nps.gov
Lilette Baltodano
Financial Agreements Officer Pacific West Regional Office
lilette_baltodano@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Ronald Harris
Director
Outreach and Partnerships Division
Ronald.Harris@usda.gov
Aileen Anderson
Grants Management Specialist
aileen.anderson@usda.gov
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Michael Seki
Deputy Director
Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center
National Marine Fisheries Service, NOAA
michael.seki@noaa.gov
Michael Liddel
CESU Program Manager
Acting Branch Chief, Commercial Fishery Statistics
michael.liddel@noaa.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Gordon Tribble
Director, Pacific Island Ecosystems Research Center (PIERC)
gtribble@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
American Samoa Community College Don Vargo
Department of Community and Natural Resources
donvargo@rocketmail.com
Daniel Aga
Acting Dean/Director
danaga98@yahoo.com
Hawaiʻi Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
Honolulu Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
Kapiʻolani Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
Kauaʻi Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
Leeward Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
Maui Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
Texas A&M AgriLife Research Mathew Kramm
Project Director
Natural Resources Institute
Mathew.Kramm@ag.tamu.edu
Debbie Danford
Grants Manager
Natural Resources Institute
dedanford@ag.tamu.edu
University of California, Berkley Rosemary G. Gillespie
Director, Essig Museum of Entomology,
Professor, Insect Biology,
gillespie@berkeley.edu
Patricia A. Gates
Assistant Director,
UC Berkeley Sponsored Projects
pgates@uclink.berkeley.edu
University of Guam Rachael T. Leon Guerrero
Director, Research and Sponsored Programs
rachaeltlg@triton.uog.edu
Janet T. Dirige
Grants Officer, Research and Sponsored Programs
jtdirige@uog.edu

Jerica B. Santos
Program Coordinator, Research and Sponsored Programs
blasj8288@triton.uog.edu
University of Hawaiʻi, Hilo Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
University of Hawaiʻi, Mānoa Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu

University of Hawaiʻi, West Oʻahu Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
University of Redlands Steven D. Moore
Director of Spatial Studies
University of Redlands
steven_moore@redlands.edu
Cory Nomura
Chief Financial Officer
cory_nomura@redlands.edu

Bob Baird
Grants Administrator
Bob_Baird@spatial.redlands.edu

Windward Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
American Bird Conservancy Chris Farmer
Hawaiʻi Program Director
cfarmer@abcbirds.org

Hannah Nevins
Seabird Program Director
hnevins@abcbirds.org
Merrie Morrison
Vice President of Operations
mmorrison@abcbirds.org
Bishop Museum Allen Allison
Director of Natural Sciences
allison@bishopmuseum.org

Edith Kanakaʻole Foundation Huihui Kanahele-Mossman
Director of Research and Innovation
huihui@edithkanakaolefoundation.org
Island Conservation Patty Baiao
Hawaiʻi Program Manager
patty.baiao@islandconservationorg.onmicrosoft.com
Micronesian Conservation Coalition Julie Hartup
Director
mccjuliehartup@gmail.com
National Tropical Botanical Garden David H. Lorence
Director of Science and Conservation
lorence@ntbg.org
Chipper Wichman
Director and CEO
wichman@ntbg.org

Janet Mayfield
Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer
jmayfield@ntbg.org
Pacific International Center for High Technology Research Janel Pang
Assistant Controller and Contracts Officer
janel.pang@pichtr.org


Ships of Discovery Toni Carrell
Vice President
tlcarrell@shipsofdiscovery.org
The Nature Conservancy of Hawaiʻi Mark Fox
Director of External Affairs
mfox@tnc.org