CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Hawaii-Pacific Islands Cooperative Ecosystems Studies Unit (HPI-CESU), a coalition of governmental agencies, non-governmental organizations and universities, promotes research, education and technical assistance to support better stewardship of imperiled natural and cultural resources within the Pacific.

On 1 July 2004, Hawaii and the Pacific Islands became part of Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Units Network, a national network which links federal land-managing agencies with universities, museums and other organizations that can provide research, training and technical expertise in managing natural and cultural resources. It allows easy transfer of federal funds through cooperative agreements to individual principal investigators to work on collaborative projects with partner organizations.

HOST

Universith of Hawaii at Hilo

University of Hawai'i at Hilo

ESTABLISHED 2004
WEBSITE http://hilo.hawaii.edu/hpicesu/
DIRECTOR Sharon Ziegler Chong
Pacific Internship Programs for Exploring Science
University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
200 W. Kāwili Street
Hilo, HI 96720
PHONE: (808) 933-0759
FAX: (808) 933-0704
EMAIL: ziegler@hawaii.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement 2004
Amendment 1 adding Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment
Amendment 2 adding
University of Redlands

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement 2009
Amendment 1 adding National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works
Amendment 2 adding the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
Amendment 3 adding Island Conservation

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement 2014

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Land Management James Weigand
Ecologist
California State Office
jweigand@blm.gov
Julia Lang
Procurement Analyst
California State Office
julang@blm.gov
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Cathie Dunkel
Environmental Studies Coordinator
Pacific OCS Region
catherine.dunkel@boem.gov
Kate Segarra
Oceanographer
Division of Environmental Sciences
katherine.segarra@boem.gov
Department of Defense Michelle Mansker
Chief, Natural Resource Section
Environmental Division
Directorate of Public Works
U.S. Army Garrison, Hawaii
Michelle.L.Mansker.civ@mail.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
kathy.s.mimtchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Stephen E. Miller
stephen_e_miller@fws.gov
Alice Garrett
Contract Specialist
alice_garrett@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Ricardo Lopez
Director, Institute of Pacific Islands Forestry (IPIF)
Pacific Southwest Research Station
RDLopez@fs.fed.us
 
National Park Service Darcy Hu
CESU Coordinator
darcy_hu@nps.gov
Lilette Baltodano
Financial Agreements Officer Pacific West Regional Office
lilette_baltodano@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Michael P. Seki, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center
National Marine Fisheries Service, NOAA
michael.seki@noaa.gov
 
United States Geological Survey Gordon Tribble
gtribble@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
American Samoa Community College Don Vargo
Department of Community and Natural Resources
donvargo@rocketmail.com
Daniel Aga
Acting Dean/Director
danaga98@yahoo.com
Hawaii Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
 
Honolulu Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
 
Kapiolani Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
 
Kauai Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
 
Leeward Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
 
Maui Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
 
University of California, Berkley Rosemary G. Gillespie
Director, Essig Museum of Entomology,
Professor, Insect Biology,
gillespi@nature.berkeley.edu
Patricia A. Gates
Assistant Director,
UC Berkeley Sponsored Projects
pgates@uclink.berkeley.edu
University of Guam John Peterson
Director of the Micronesian Area Research
Center (MARC)
jpeterson@uguam.uog.edu
Edwin Reyes
Office of Sponsored Programs Grants Administrator
edwinreyes@uguam.uog.edu
University of Hawaii, Hilo Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
 
University of Hawaii, Manoa Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu

University of Hawaii, West Oahu Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
 
University of Redlands Steven D. Moore
Director of Spatial Studies
University of Redlands
steven_moore@redlands.edu
Cory Nomura
Chief Financial Officer
cory_nomura@redlands.edu

Bob Baird
Grants Administrator
Bob_Baird@spatial.redlands.edu

Windward Community College Sharon Ziegler Chong
ziegler@hawaii.edu
 
OTHER PARTNERS
Bishop Museum Allen Allison
Vice President for Science
allison@bishopmuseum.org

Island Conservation Alex Wegmann
Program Manager
Island Conservation – Hawaii-US Pacific and Micronesia Program Office
Pacific Reefs National Wildlife Refuge Complex
alex.wegmann@islandconservation.org
 
National Tropical Botanical Garden David H. Lorence
Director of Science and Conservation
lorence@ntbg.org
Chipper Wichman
Director and CEO
wichman@ntbg.org

Janet Mayfield
Chief Operating Officer & Chief Financial Officer
jmayfield@ntbg.org
Pacific International Center for High Technology Research Janel Pang
Assistant Controller & Contracts Officer
janel.pang@pichtr.org


The Nature Conservancy of Hawaii Mark Fox
Director of External Affairs
mfox@tnc.org