CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Great Basin is geographically well defined, bounded on the west by the Sierra Nevada range, on the north by the northern edge of southern plains of Idaho, on the east by the Wasatch range of Utah, and on the south by the Mojave desert in southern Utah and Nevada.

The objectives of the Great Basin Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (CESU) are to:

  • Provide research, technical assistance and education to federal land management, environmental and research agencies and their potential partners;
  • Develop a program of research, technical assistance and education that involves the biological, physical, social, and cultural sciences needed to address resources issues and interdisciplinary problem-solving at multiple scales and in an ecosystem context at the local, regional, and national level; and
  • Place special emphasis on the working collaboration among federal agencies and universities and their related partner institutions
HOST

Universith of California (Berkeley)

University of Nevada, Reno

ESTABLISHED 2001
WEBSITE http://environment.unr.edu/gbcesu/
DIRECTOR Maureen I. McCarthy, PhD
Director (Interim), Academy for the Environment
University of Nevada, Reno
PHONE: (775) 784-8262
EMAIL: mimccarthy@unr.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2001)
Amendment 1 adding Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding California State University, Fresno
Amendment 3 adding Boise State University
Amendment 4 adding Agricultural Research Service
Amendment 5 adding Brigham Young University and University of Idaho
Amendment 6 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 7 adding the Bureau of Reclamation

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2006)
Amendment 1 changing the name to University of San Diego/White Mountain Research Station
Amendment 2 adding Texas A&M University, Kingsville

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2011)
Amendment 1 adding Ball State University
Amendment 2 adding HawkWatch International, Inc.
Amendment 3 adding Department of Defense (Installations and Environment)

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2016)

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
Agricultural Research Service Keirith Snyder
Keirith.Snyder@ars.usda.gov

Beth Newingham
Beth.Newingham@ars.usda.gov
Raymond Carruthers
Research Leader
ray.carruthers@ars.usda.gov
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Climate Science Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Kim Dow
Natural Resource Specialist
Western Region/Nevada State Office
kddow@blm.gov
Susan Caller
Grant Management Officer
skaller@blm.gov
Bureau of Reclamation Mark McKinstry
Biological Scientist, Adaptive Management
mmckinstry@usbr.gov
Tim Wagoner
Grants Officer
Upper Colorado Regional Office
tpwagoner@usbr.gov
Department of Defense Robbie Knight
Regional Coordinator and Wildlife Biologist
U.S. Army Dugway Proving Ground robert.n.knight@us.army.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
kathy.s.mimtchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Laurie Averill-Murray
annalaura_averillmurray@fws.gov
Alice Garrett
Contract Specialist (for projects)
alice_garrett@fws.gov

Sue Lackey
Administrative Officer (for amendments)
sue_lackey@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Jeanne Chambers
Research Ecologist
Rocky Mountain Research Station
jchambers@fs.fed.us
Cindy Gordon
Lead Grants Management Specialist
Rocky Mountain Research Station
cdgordon@fs.fed.us
National Park Service Chris Lauver
Acting NPS Coordinator for the GRBA CESU
chris_lauver@nps.gov
Lilette Baltodano
Financial Agreements Officer
Pacific West Regional Office
lilette_baltodano@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist
Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Sue Phillips
Arid Lands Research Manager
Biological Resources Division
Forest and Rangeland Ecosystem Science Center
sue_phillips@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Ball State University Melody Bernot
Assistant Professor of Biology Director
mjbernot@bsu.edu
Justin M. Miller
jmiller5@bsu.edu
Boise State University Steve Novak
Professor
snovak@boisestate.edu
Kimberly Page
Assistant Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
kimberlypage@boisestate.edu
Brigham Young University Bruce Roundy
Professor
bruce_roundy@byu.edu
Gary Reynolds
gary_reynolds@byu.edu
California State University, Fresno Bruce Roberts
J. G. Boswell Chair of Agronomy
baroberts@csufresno.edu
Cynthia Teniente-Matson
Vice President for Administration and Chief Financial Officer
cmatson@csufresno.edu
Great Basin College Tracy Shane
Professor of Agriculture and BAIS Natural Resources Program Supervisor
tracy@gwmail.gbcnv.edu
Sonja Sibert
Fiscal Office
sonjas@gwmail.gbcnv.edu
Idaho State University Keith Reinhardt
Associate Professor, Department of Biological Science
reinkeit@isu.edu
Dave B. Harris
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
harrdave@isu.edu
Oregon State University Paul Doescher
Director, Natural Resources Program
paul.doescher@oregonstate.edu
Patricia Hawk
Director, Sponsored Programs
patricia.hawk@oregonstate.edu
University of Idaho Kurt Pregitzer
Dean, College of Natural Resources
kpregitzer@uidaho.edu
Polly Knutson
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
osp@uidaho.edu
University of Nevada, Las Vegas Stanley D. Smith
Associate VP for Research
stan.smith@unlv.edu
R. David Paul
Executive Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
osp@unlv.edu
University of Nevada, Reno Michael Collopy
Assistant Vice President for Research
Office of Undergraduate and Interdisciplinary Research
mcollopy@unr.edu
Texas A&M University, Kingsville Allen Rasmussen
Dean, College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences
allen.rasmussen@tamuk.edu
University of Utah Matt Brownlee
Assistant Professor, Natural Resources Recreation Planning and Management
Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism
matthew.brownlee@hsc.utah.edu
William Ernest
Sponsored Projects Officer
william.ernest@osp.utah.edu
Utah State University (Senior Partner) Eugene Schupp
Department of Wildland Resources
schupp@cc.usu.edu
Jeff Coleman
Director
Sponsored Programs Office
jeff.coleman@usu.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Desert Research Institute Paul S. J. Verburg
Associate Research Professor, Interim Executive Director
paul.verburg@dri.edu
Jenny Frayer
Interim Director of Sponsored Projects and Compliance
jenny.frayer@dri.edu
HawkWatch International Steven J. Slater
Conservation Director
sslater@hawkwatch.org