CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Great Basin is geographically well defined, bounded on the west by the Sierra Nevada range, on the north by the northern edge of southern plains of Idaho, on the east by the Wasatch range of Utah, and on the south by the Mojave desert in southern Utah and Nevada.

The objectives of the Great Basin Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (CESU) are to:

  • Provide research, technical assistance and education to federal land management, environmental and research agencies and their potential partners;
  • Develop a program of research, technical assistance and education that involves the biological, physical, social, and cultural sciences needed to address resources issues and interdisciplinary problem-solving at multiple scales and in an ecosystem context at the local, regional, and national level; and
  • Place special emphasis on the working collaboration among federal agencies and universities and their related partner institutions
HOST

Universith of California (Berkeley)

University of Nevada, Reno

ESTABLISHED 2001
WEBSITE https://gbcesu.unr.edu/
DIRECTOR Ahmad Itani, Ph.D., S.E.
Foundation Professor and Associate Vice President for Research
Division of Research and Innovation
University of Nevada
Reno, NV 89557

PHONE: (775) 327-2363
EMAIL: itani@unr.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2001)
Amendment 1 adding Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding California State University, Fresno
Amendment 3 adding Boise State University
Amendment 4 adding Agricultural Research Service
Amendment 5 adding Brigham Young University and University of Idaho
Amendment 6 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 7 adding the Bureau of Reclamation

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2006)
Amendment 1 changing the name to University of San Diego/White Mountain Research Station
Amendment 2 adding Texas A&M University, Kingsville

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2011)
Amendment 1 adding Ball State University
Amendment 2 adding HawkWatch International, Inc.
Amendment 3 adding Department of Defense (Installations and Environment)

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2016)
Amendment 1 adding Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies
Amendment 2 adding Conservation Science Institute

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
Agricultural Research Service Keirith Snyder
Keirith.Snyder@ars.usda.gov
Beth Newingham
Beth.Newingham@ars.usda.gov
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Tribal Resilience Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Kim Dow
Natural Resource Specialist
Western Region/Nevada State Office
kddow@blm.gov
Susan Kaller
Grants Management Officer
skaller@blm.gov
Bureau of Reclamation Mark McKinstry
Biological Scientist, Adaptive Management
mmckinstry@usbr.gov
Glen Josephson
Grants Officer
Acquisition Management Division
gjosephson@usbr.gov
Department of Defense Robbie Knight
Regional Coordinator and Wildlife Biologist
U.S. Army Dugway Proving Ground Robert.N.Knight.civ@mail.mil

Liz Galli-Noble
Program Manager, DoD Legacy Resource Management Program
elizabeth.j.galli-noble.civ@mail.mil
Lori Kruse-Johnson
SWD CESU Program Manager
Lori.M.Kruse-Johnson@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service John Tull
Nevada Science Coordinator
john_tull@fws.gov
Anna-Marie York
Grants Management Specialist
Science Applications
anna-marie_york@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Jeanne Chambers
Research Ecologist
Rocky Mountain Research Station
jeanne.chambers@usda.gov
Cindy Gordon
Lead Grants Management Specialist
Rocky Mountain Research Station
cindy.d.gordon@usda.gov
National Park Service Alison Ainsworth
Science Advisor/Ecologist
NPS Regions 8, 9, 10, and 12
NPS Research Coordinator, Great Basin CESU
University of Washington
alison_ainsworth@nps.gov
William Nash
Financial Agreements Officer
william_nash@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Ronald Harris
Director
Outreach and Partnerships Division
Ronald.Harris@usda.gov
Aileen Anderson
Grants Management Specialist
aileen.anderson@usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Sue Phillips
Arid Lands Research Manager
Biological Resources Division
Forest and Rangeland Ecosystem Science Center
sue_phillips@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Ball State University Melody Bernot
Assistant Professor of Biology Director
mjbernot@bsu.edu
Justin M. Miller
jmiller5@bsu.edu
Boise State University Steve Novak
Professor
snovak@boisestate.edu
Kimberly Page
Assistant Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
kimberlypage@boisestate.edu
Brigham Young University Bruce Roundy
Professor
bruce_roundy@byu.edu
Gary Reynolds
gary_reynolds@byu.edu
Great Basin College Tracy Shane
Professor of Agriculture and BAIS Natural Resources Program Supervisor
tracy@gwmail.gbcnv.edu
Sonja Sibert
Fiscal Office
sonjas@gwmail.gbcnv.edu
Idaho State University Keith Reinhardt
Associate Professor, Department of Biological Science
reinkeit@isu.edu
Dave B. Harris
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
harrdave@isu.edu
Oregon State University Paul Doescher
Director, Natural Resources Program
paul.doescher@oregonstate.edu
Patricia Hawk
Director, Sponsored Programs
patricia.hawk@oregonstate.edu
University of Idaho Dennis Becker
Dean, College of Natural Resources
drbecker@uidaho.edu
Polly Knutson
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
osp@uidaho.edu
University of Nevada, Las Vegas Stanley Smith
Associate VP for Research
stan.smith@unlv.edu
R. David Paul
Executive Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
osp@unlv.edu
University of Nevada, Reno Ahmad Itani
Foundation Professor and Associate Vice President for Research
itani@unr.edu
Kayla Armbruster
Administrative Assistant
kaylab@unr.edu
University of Utah Kelly Bricker
Professor and Chair
Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism
kelly.bricker@health.utah.edu
Erica Trejo
Sponsored Projects Officer
Office of Sponsored Projects
erica.trejo@osp.utah.edu
Utah State University (Senior Partner) Eugene Schupp
Department of Wildland Resources
schupp@cc.usu.edu
Jeff Coleman
Director, Sponsored Programs Office
jeff.coleman@usu.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Conservation Science Institute Casey Lott
Founder and Research Ecologist
caseylott@ymail.com

Desert Research Institute Paul S. J. Verburg
Associate Research Professor, Interim Executive Director
paul.verburg@dri.edu
Jenny Frayer
Interim Director of Sponsored Projects and Compliance
jenny.frayer@dri.edu
HawkWatch International Steven J. Slater
Conservation Director
sslater@hawkwatch.org
Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies Christopher Moore
Acting Executive Director
chris.moore@wafwa.org
Cathy Campbell
Grants and Contracts Manager
Cathy.campbell@wafwa.org