CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Great Plains Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (GP-CESU) is a network of 16 academic institutions in the Great Plains region and eight federal agencies.  The University of Nebraska-Lincoln serves as host to the GP-CESU.  The unit encompasses a broad geographical portion of the Great Plains and offers an outstanding group of scientists in grasslands, ecosystems studies, and natural and cultural resources management for collaborative research, technical assistance and educational opportunities in the CESU.

HOST

Universith of Nebraska, Lincoln

University of Nebraska, Lincoln

ESTABLISHED 2003
WEBSITE http://www.greatplainscesu.com/
FACEBOOK Great-Plains-Cooperative-Ecosystem-Studies-Unit
DIRECTOR Dr. Larkin Powell
3310 Holdrege St., 419 Hardin Hall
University of Nebraska, Lincoln
Lincoln, NE 68583-0973
PHONE: (402) 472-6825
EMAIL: lpowell3@unl.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2000)
Amendment 1 adding the University of Wyoming, South Dakota State University and the University of South Dakota
Amendment 2
adding the Bureau of Reclamation
Amendment 3
adding Black Hills State University and North Dakota State University
Amendment 4 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2005)
Amendment 1 adding U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 2 adding the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works, Emporia State University, and New Mexico Highlands University
Amendment 3 adding South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Amendment 4 adding Winona State University
Amendment 5 adding Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2010)
Amendment 1 adding Oklahoma State University
Amendment 2 adding the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Public Health
Amendment 3 adding Farm Service Agency
Amendment 4 adding Texas Tech University and World Wildlife Fund Northern Great Plains Program

UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE COOPERATIVE AGREEMENTS REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Deannda Sontag
Grants Officer
Deannda.S.Sontag@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Land Management Adrienne Pilmanis
Botanist, Wyoming State Office
apilmani@blm.gov
Bob Tichac
Grants Officer
rtichac@blm.gov
Bureau of Reclamation Doug Epperly
Great Plains Regional Office
depperly@usbr.gov
Lindsey Naft
Grants and Cooperative Agreements Specialist
lnafts@usbr.gov
Department of Defense Alan B. Anderson
Chief, Ecological Processes Branch
U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center (ERDC)
Construction Engineering Research Laboratory (CERL)
alan.b.anderson@usace.army.mil
Jack Mobley
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
jack.e.mobley@usace.army.mil

Sean Rutherford
Natural and Cultural Resources Support Specialist
sean.rutherford.ctr@osd.mil
Farm Service Agency Skip Hyberg
Economic and Policy Analyst
Senior Agricultural Economist
skip.hyberg@wdc.usda.gov
 
Fish and Wildlife Service Greg Watson
Energy/Research Coordinator
Greg_Watson@fws.gov
Tammy Mayne or Patrick McKenney
Grants and Agreements Specialists FW6_CGS_FA@fws.gov
Forest Service Paulette Ford
Rocky Mountain Research Station plford@fs.fed.us
Cindy Gordon
Lead Grants Management Specialist
Rocky Mountain Research Station
cdgordon@fs.fed.us
National Park Service Dawn Bringelson
Acting CESU Coordinator
dawn_bringelson@nps.gov
Julie Hendricks
Lead Grants and Agreements Officer
Midwest Regional Office
julie_hendricks@nps.gov

Catherine Schroeder
Grants and Agreements Officer
catherine_schroeder@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
 
United States Geological Survey Robert Swanson
Director Nebraska Science Center
rswanson@usgs.gov
Faith D. Graves
Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Black Hills State University Brian Smith
Department of Biology
briansmith@bhsu.edu
Holly Downing
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
hollydowning@bhsu.edu
Colorado State University Mark Paschke
Research Associate Dean/Associate Professor
Warner College of Natural Resources
Mark.Paschke@colostate.edu
Carmen Morales
Sponsored Programs
carmen.morales@research.colostate.edu
Emporia State University William Jensen
Department of Biological Sciences
wjensen1@emporia.edu
Diana Kuhlmann
Associate Vice President for Fiscal Affairs and Budget Director
dkuhlman@emporia.edu
Kansas State University David A. Haukos
Associate Professor
dhaukos@ksu.edu
Paul R. Lowee
Assistant Vice President for Research
plowe@ksu.edu
Langston University Dennis Howard
Extension/Outreach
dvhoward@langston.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
New Mexico Highlands University Kent Reid
Interim Director
New Mexico Forest and Watershed Restoration Institute
kreid@nmhu.edu
Domingo Sanchez, III
Interim Vice President for Finance and Administration Services
North Dakota State University Rodney Lym
Department of Plant Sciences
rod.lym@ndsu.nodak.edu
Valrey Kettner
Assistant Vice President
Sponsored Programs Administration
val.kettner@ndsu.edu

Amy Scott
amy.scott@ndsu.edu
Oklahoma State University Loren M. Smith
Regents Professor and Department Head
Department of Zoology
loren.smith@okstate.edu
Toni Shaklee
Assistant Vice President for Research
toni.shaklee@okstate.edu
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology Pallaoor V. (PV) Sundareshwar
Director, Biogeochemistry Core Facility
pvs@sdsmt.edu
Ronald J. White
Vice President for Research Office of Research Affairs
Sponsored.Programs@sdsmt.edu
South Dakota State University Nels Troelstrup, Jr.
Interim Department Head/Professor Nels.Troelstrup@sdstate.edu
James Doolittle
Associate Vice President for Research
james.doolittle@sdstate.edu

Brenda Hayne
brenda.hayne@sdstate.edu
Texas A&M University Todd Snelgrove
Texas AgriLife Research
tsnelgrove@tamu.edu

Carol Gaas
cgaas@ag.tamu.edu
Paula Mathers
Contracts Administrator
Texas AgriLife Research
pmathers@tamu.edu
Texas Tech University David C. Weindorf
Associate Professor & BL Allen Endowed Chair
David.Weindorf@TTU.edu
Kathleen Harris
Senior Associate Vice President for Research
Office of Research Services Kathleen.harris@ttu.edu
University of Minnesota Alan Ek
Department of Forest Resources
aek@umn.edu
Kevin McKoskey
Senior Associate Director
Sponsored Projects Administration
kevin@umn.edu
University of Nebraska, Lincoln Larkin Powell
lpowell3@unl.edu
Jeanne Wicks
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
jwicks2@unl.edu
University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Public Health Terry T-K Huang
Professor and Chair
Department of Health Promotion and Social and Behavioral Health
TTHuang@unmc.edu

Bruce Grogan
CESU Program Coordinator bruce.grogan@unmc.edu
Laura Bashus
Administrator, Finance & Human Resources
lbashus@unmc.edu
University of North Dakota Scott Korom
Geology and Geological Engineering
scott.korom@engr.und.edu
Barry Milavetz
Research Development and Compliance
barry.milavetz@email.und.edu

Wayde Anderson
Grants & Contracts Officer
wayde.anderson@research.und.edu
University of Oklahoma Heather McCarthy
Department of Microbiology and Plant Biology
heather.mccarthy@ou.edu
Andrea Deaton
Executive Director
Office of Research Services
adeaton@ou.edu
University of South Dakota Tim Cowman
Director
Missouri River Institute
tim.cowman@usd.edu
Laura Jenski
Vice President for Research
ljenski@usd.edu
University of Wyoming Gary Beauvais
Director
Wyoming Natural Resource Diversity Database
beauvais@uwyo.edu
Dorothy Yates
Associate Vice President for Research and Economic Development
dyates4@uwyo.edu

Linda Osterman
Research Services Coordinator
osterman@uwyo.edu
Winona State University Charla S. Miertschin
Interim Dean, College of Science and Engineering
CMiertschin@winona.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
OTHER PARTNERS
World Wildlife Fund Northern Great Plains Program Kevin Ellison
Grasslands Ecologist
Northern Great Plains Program
Kevin.Ellison@wwwfus.org