CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Great Plains Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (GP-CESU) is a network of 16 academic institutions in the Great Plains region and eight federal agencies.  The University of Nebraska-Lincoln serves as host to the GP-CESU.  The unit encompasses a broad geographical portion of the Great Plains and offers an outstanding group of scientists in grasslands, ecosystems studies, and natural and cultural resources management for collaborative research, technical assistance and educational opportunities in the CESU.

HOST

Universith of Nebraska, Lincoln

University of Nebraska, Lincoln

ESTABLISHED 2003
WEBSITE http://gpcesu.unl.edu/
FACEBOOK Great-Plains-Cooperative-Ecosystem-Studies-Unit
DIRECTOR Dr. Larkin Powell
3310 Holdrege St., 419 Hardin Hall
University of Nebraska, Lincoln
Lincoln, NE 68583-0973
PHONE: (402) 472-6825
EMAIL: lpowell3@unl.edu

Katherine Bickert
Program Coordinator
University of Nebraska, Lincoln
kbickert2@unl.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2000)
Amendment 1 adding the University of Wyoming, South Dakota State University and the University of South Dakota
Amendment 2
adding the Bureau of Reclamation
Amendment 3
adding Black Hills State University and North Dakota State University
Amendment 4 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2005)
Amendment 1 adding U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 2 adding the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works, Emporia State University, and New Mexico Highlands University
Amendment 3 adding South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Amendment 4 adding Winona State University
Amendment 5 adding Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2010)
Amendment 1 adding Oklahoma State University
Amendment 2 adding the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Public Health
Amendment 3 adding Farm Service Agency
Amendment 4 adding Texas Tech University and World Wildlife Fund Northern Great Plains Program
Amendment 5, adding Bureau of Indian Affairs and National Atmospheric and Oceanic Administration

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2015)

UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE COOPERATIVE AGREEMENTS REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Jeri Mcguffie
Grants Officer
Jeri.H.Mcguffie@usace.army.mil

Sherry Whitaker  
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Climate Science Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
 
Bureau of Land Management Tanya Skurski
Botanist, Lander Field Office
tskurski@blm.gov
Matt Burns
Wyoming State Procurement Analyst
mburns@blm.gov
Bureau of Reclamation Jennifer Beardsley
Great Plains Regional Office
jbeardsley@usbr.gov
Lindsey Nafts
Great Plains Regional Office
lnafts@usbr.gov
Department of Defense Alan B. Anderson
Chief, Ecological Processes Branch
U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center (ERDC)
Construction Engineering Research Laboratory (CERL)
alan.b.anderson@usace.army.mil
Jack Mobley
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
jack.e.mobley@usace.army.mil
Farm Service Agency Rich Iovanna
Agricultural Economist Rich.Iovanna@wdc.usda.gov
 
Fish and Wildlife Service Greg Watson
Energy/Research Coordinator
Greg_Watson@fws.gov
Tammy Mayne or Patrick McKenney
Grants and Agreements Specialists FW6_CGS_FA@fws.gov
Forest Service Paulette Ford
Research Ecologist
Rocky Mountain Research Station plford@fs.fed.us
Cindy Gordon
Lead Grants Management Specialist
Rocky Mountain Research Station
cdgordon@fs.fed.us

Linda Marsh
Grants Management Specialist
lmarsh@fs.fed.us
National Atmospheric and Oceanic Administration Christopher Strager
Director, National Weather Service Central Region
christopher.strager@noaa.gov
Jen Lechuga
Program Analyst
Office of Chief Financial Officer
jennifer.lechuga@noaa.gov
National Park Service Tanya Shenk
CESU Research Coordinator
tanya_shenk@nps.gov
Julie Hendricks
Lead Grants and Agreements Officer
Midwest Regional Office
julie_hendricks@nps.gov

Noël Ann Miller
Grants Management Specialist
noel_miller@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
United States Geological Survey Robert Swanson
Director Nebraska Science Center
rswanson@usgs.gov
Faith D. Graves
Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Black Hills State University Brian Smith
Department of Biology
briansmith@bhsu.edu
Charles Lamb
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Charles.lamb@bhsu.edu
Colorado State University Mark Paschke
Research Associate Dean/Associate Professor
Warner College of Natural Resources
Mark.Paschke@colostate.edu
Carmen Morales
Sponsored Programs
carmen.morales@research.colostate.edu
Emporia State University William Jensen
Department of Biological Sciences
wjensen1@emporia.edu
Diana Kuhlmann
Associate Vice President for Fiscal Affairs and Budget Director
dkuhlman@emporia.edu
Kansas State University David A. Haukos
Associate Professor
dhaukos@ksu.edu
Paul R. Lowee
Assistant Vice President for Research
plowe@ksu.edu
Langston University Dennis Howard
Extension/Outreach
dvhoward@langston.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
New Mexico Highlands University Kent Reid
Director
New Mexico Forest and Watershed Restoration Institute
rkreid@nmhu.edu
Linda LaGrange
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
Director of the Office of Research and Sponsored Projects
Dean, Graduate Studies
LaGrange_L@nmhu.edu
North Dakota State University Rodney Lym
Associate Department Head and Professor
Department of Plant Sciences
rod.lym@ndsu.nodak.edu
Valrey Kettner
Assistant Vice President
Sponsored Programs Administration
val.kettner@ndsu.edu

Amy Scott
amy.scott@ndsu.edu
Oklahoma State University Loren M. Smith
Regents Professor and Department Head
Department of Zoology
loren.smith@okstate.edu
Toni Shaklee
Assistant Vice President for Research
toni.shaklee@okstate.edu
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology Lisa Kunza
Assistant Professor
Department of Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences
Lisa.Kunza@sdsmt.edu
Jan Puszynski
Vice President for Research Professor Chemical and Biological Engineering (CBE)
jan.puszynski@sdsmt.edu
South Dakota State University Nels Troelstrup
Professor, Assistant Department Head, and Field Station Director
Oak Lake Field Station
Department of Biology & Microbiology
Nels.Troelstrup@sdstate.edu
James Doolittle
Associate Vice President for Research
james.doolittle@sdstate.edu

Cindy Steen
cindy.steen@sdstate.edu
Texas A&M University Jeremiah Leibowitz
Program Manager
Texas A&M Institute of Renewable Natural Resources
jeremiah.leibowitz@ag.tamu.edu
Paula Mathers
Contracts Administrator
Texas AgriLife Research
pmathers@tamu.edu
Texas Tech University David C. Weindorf
Associate Professor & BL Allen Endowed Chair
David.Weindorf@TTU.edu
Amy Cook
Associate Managing Director
amy.cook@ttu.edu
University of Minnesota Alan Ek
Department of Forest Resources
aek@umn.edu
Kevin McKoskey
Senior Associate Director
Sponsored Projects Administration
kevin@umn.edu
University of Nebraska, Lincoln Larkin Powell
Professor, School of Natural Resources
Director, Great Plains Cooperative Ecosystems Studies Unit
lpowell3@unl.edu
Jeanne Wicks
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
jwicks2@unl.edu
University of Nebraska Medical Center Bruce Grogan
CESU Program Coordinator bruce.grogan@unmc.edu
Rob Hansen, MPA
Grants and Contracts Specialist
Sponsored Programs Administration
University of Nebraska Medical Center
rthansen@unmc.edu

Keith Hansen
Assistant Dean for Operations and Management
kfhansen@unmc.edu
University of North Dakota Brian Darby
Assistant Professor, Biology
brian.darby@und.edu
Barry Milavetz
Research Development and Compliance
barry.milavetz@email.und.edu

Wayde Anderson
Grants & Contracts Officer
wayde.anderson@research.und.edu
University of Oklahoma Heather McCarthy
Department of Microbiology and Plant Biology
heather.mccarthy@ou.edu
Andrea Deaton
Executive Director
Office of Research Services
adeaton@ou.edu
University of South Dakota Tim Cowman
Director
Missouri River Institute
tim.cowman@usd.edu
Mary Berry
Interim VP, Research & Sponsored Programs
Mary.Berry@usd.edu
University of Wyoming Gary Beauvais
Director
Wyoming Natural Resource Diversity Database
beauvais@uwyo.edu
Dorothy Yates
Associate Vice President for Research and Economic Development
dyates4@uwyo.edu

Linda Osterman
Research Services Coordinator
osterman@uwyo.edu
Winona State University Charla S. Miertschin
Dean, College of Science and Engineering
CMiertschin@winona.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
OTHER PARTNERS
World Wildlife Fund Northern Great Plains Program Kevin Ellison
Grasslands Ecologist
Northern Great Plains Program
Kevin.Ellison@wwfus.org