CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Great Rivers CESU is part of a network of cooperative ecosystem studies units (see map below) focusing on providing partners in the network high-quality science, usable knowledge for resource managers, responsive technical assistance, continuing education, and cost-effective research programs. The Great Rivers CESU is a cooperative effort of seventeen institutions and seven federal agencies whose goal is to focus on the objectives listed above in the geographic area of the upper and middle Mississippi Valley. The Great Rivers CESU was formerly the Upper and Middle Mississippi Valley CESU.

HOST

Universith of Missouri

University of Missouri

ESTABLISHED 2003
WEBSITE http://greatrivers-cesu.missouri.edu/
DIRECTOR Jill Findeis
215 Genry Hall
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO 65211
PHONE: (573) 882-7740
EMAIL: findeisj@missouri.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2003)
Amendment 1 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment
Amendment 3 adding the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works and Saint Mary's University of Minnesota
Amendment 4 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 5 adding the University of Notre Dame

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2008)
Amendment 1 adding the U.S. Forest Service and Winona State University
Amendment 2 adding the National Great Rivers Research and Education Center
Amendment 3 adding the University of Memphis

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2013)
Amendment 1 adding Farm Service Agency
Amendment 2 adding Southeast Missouri State University
Amendment 3 adding Saint Louis University

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Land Management Sean MacDougall
Biological Sciences Program Lead
Eastern States Office
smacdoug@blm.gov
Brandon Riley
Grants Management Officer
briley@blm.gov
Department of Defense Alan B. Anderson
Chief, Ecological Processes Branch
U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center (ERDC)
Construction Engineering Research Laboratory (CERL)
alan.b.anderson@usace.army.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
kathy.s.mimtchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
Farm Service Agency Rich Iovanna
Agricultural Economist
Rich.Iovanna@wdc.usda.gov
 
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Doug Helmers
Iowa State Private Lands Coordinator
Iowa Private Lands Office
Doug_Helmers@fws.gov
Daniel D. Lovdahl
Contract Specialist
Construction & Acquisition Division
daniel_lovdahl@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Daniel C. Dey
Northern Research Station
ddey@fs.fed.us
David Garrison
Grants & Agreements Specialist
davidgarrison@fs.fed.us
National Park Service Nicole Athearn
CESU Research Coordinator
nicole_athearn@nps.gov
Julie Hendricks
Lead Grants and Agreements Officer
Midwest Regional Office
julie_hendricks@nps.gov

Noël Ann Miller
Grants Management Specialist
noel_miller@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Scott Morlock
Deputy Regional Director for Science
USGS Midwest Region
smorlock@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Drake University James L. Christiansen
james.christiansen@drake.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Indiana University Steve Wolter
sawolter@indiana.edu
Teresa Miller
teremill@iu.edu
Iowa State University John Lawrence
Director, Extension to Agriculture and Natural Resources and Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
jdlaw@iastate.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Lewis and Clark Community College (via NGREC) Lori Artis
Associate Vice President
Media and Foundations Relations
lartis@lc.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Lincoln University Thomas R. Omara-Alwala
omarat@lincolnu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Missouri State University Alicia Mathis
Head of Biology Department
aliciamathis@missouristate.edu
Janene Proctor
JaneneProctor@missouristate.edu
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Andrew Robertson
Executive Director
GeoSpatial Services
aroberts@smumn.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Southeast Missouri State University Kathy Mangels
Vice President for Finance and Administration
kmangels@semo.edu
Kathy Mangels
Vice President for Finance and Administration
kmangels@semo.edu
Southern Illinois University James Garvey
jgarvey@siu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Illinois Jeff Brawn
Professor and Head
Dept of NRES
jbrawn@illinois.edu
Sonsored Programs Office
gcoaward@uillinois.edu
University of Iowa Larry Weber
Director of IIHR,
Hydroscience & Engineering and
Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
larry-weber@uiowa.edu
Sonsored Programs Office
dsp-contracts@uiowa.edu
University of Kansas Donald Huggins
Senior Scientist
Kansas Biological Survey
Lucille Marino
lmarino@ku.edu
University of Memphis Brian Waldron
Associate Professor, Civil Engineering
bwaldron@memphis.edu
Deborah Hernandez
Director, Research Development,
Corporate and Foundation Grants
dhernndz@memphis.edu
University of Minnesota Alan Ek
aek@umn.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Missouri Chris Barnett
BarnettC@missouri.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Notre Dame Paul W. Bohn
pbohn@nd.edu
Greg Luttrell
greg.luttrell@nd.edu
Winona State University Charla S. Miertschin
CMiertschin@winona.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
OTHER PARTNERS
Audubon, Mississippi River Initiative Matthew Anderson
manderson@audubon.org
 
Audubon, Missouri Patricia Hagen
phagen@audubon.org
 
Conservation Federation of Missouri Dave Murphy
confedmo@socket.net
 
Missouri Botanical Gardens James Solomon
jim.solomon@mobot.org
 
National Great Rivers Research and Education Center William P. Kruidenier
Associate Director
kruideni@uiuc.edu

Dale Chapman
dchapman@lc.edu
 
National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium Mark D. Wagner
Director of Education & Visitor Experience
mdwagner@rivermuseum.com