CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Great Rivers CESU is part of a network of cooperative ecosystem studies units (see map below) focusing on providing partners in the network high-quality science, usable knowledge for resource managers, responsive technical assistance, continuing education, and cost-effective research programs. The Great Rivers CESU is a cooperative effort of seventeen institutions and seven federal agencies whose goal is to focus on the objectives listed above in the geographic area of the upper and middle Mississippi Valley. The Great Rivers CESU was formerly the Upper and Middle Mississippi Valley CESU.

HOST

Universith of Missouri

University of Missouri

ESTABLISHED 2003
WEBSITE http://greatrivers-cesu.missouri.edu/
DIRECTOR Patrick Market
Professor and Interim Director
School of Natural Resources
302 Anheuser-Busch Natural Resources Building
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO 65211
PHONE: (573) 882-1496
EMAIL: MarketP@missouri.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2003)
Amendment 1 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment
Amendment 3 adding the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works and Saint Mary's University of Minnesota
Amendment 4 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 5 adding the University of Notre Dame

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2008)
Amendment 1 adding the U.S. Forest Service and Winona State University
Amendment 2 adding the National Great Rivers Research and Education Center
Amendment 3 adding the University of Memphis

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2013)
Amendment 1 adding Farm Service Agency
Amendment 2 adding Southeast Missouri State University
Amendment 3 adding Saint Louis University
Amendment 4 adding Bureau of Indian Affairs and Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2018)

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Tribal Resilience Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Sean MacDougall
Biological Sciences Program Lead
Eastern States Office
smacdoug@blm.gov

Karlee Yurek
Associate Deputy State Director
Eastern States Office
kyurek@blm.gov
Brandon Riley
Grants Management Officer
briley@blm.gov
Department of Defense Alan B. Anderson
Chief, Ecological Processes Branch
U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center (ERDC)
Construction Engineering Research Laboratory (CERL)
alan.b.anderson@usace.army.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Program Manager, DoD Natural Resources
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
DoD CESU Project Manager
USACE Fort Worth District
Kathy.S.Mitchell@usace.army.mil
Farm Service Agency Rich Iovanna
Agricultural Economist
Rich.Iovanna@wdc.usda.gov
 
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Doug Helmers
Iowa State Private Lands Coordinator
Iowa Private Lands Office
Doug_Helmers@fws.gov
Grayson Rentz
Grants Management Specialist Region 3 CGS Division grayson_rentz@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Daniel C. Dey
Northern Research Station
ddey@fs.fed.us
David Garrison
Grants and Agreements Specialist
davidgarrison@fs.fed.us
National Park Service Tanya Shenk (Acting)
CESU Research Coordinator
tanya_shenk@nps.gov
Noël Miller
Lead Grants Management Specialist
Noel_Miller@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Jacqueline Davis-Slay
National Coordinator, Cooperative Ecosystems Study Units
Director, Public and Private Partnerships
jacqueline.davis-slay@wdc.usda.gov

Sonya Neal-Reeves (acting)
National Program Manager, Strategic Natural Resource Initiatives
sonya.neal-reeves@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist
Christopher.Watkins@wdc.usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Scott Morlock
Deputy Regional Director for Science
USGS Midwest Region
smorlock@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Drake University Thomas Rosburg
Professor, Department of Biology
thomas.rosburg@drake.edu
Mary Wohlford
Director, Sponsored Programs and Grants Management
mary.wohlford@drake.edu
Indiana University Stephen A. Wolter
Executive Director, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands
sawolter@indiana.edu
Office of Research Administration
oraresco@iu.edu
Iowa State University John Lawrence
Director, Extension to Agriculture and Natural Resources and Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
jdlaw@iastate.edu
Becky Musselman
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs Administration
rjmusse@iastate.edu
Lewis and Clark Community College (via NGRREC) Linda T. Chapman
Vice President, Academic Affairs
lchapman@lc.edu
Lori Artis
Vice President, Administration
lartis@lc.edu
Lincoln University Thomas R. Omara-Alwala
Professor, Department of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences
omarat@lincolnu.edu
Stacey Schulte
Grants Administrator
Office of the Chief Financial Officer
schultes@lincoln.edu
Missouri State University Alicia Mathis
Professor and Department Head, Department of Biology
AliciaMathis@MissouriState.edu
Janene Proctor
Research Adminstration Specialist
Office of Research Administration
janeneproctor@missouristate.edu
Saint Louis University Amanda Cox
Associate Professor
Parks College of Engineering, Aviation and Technology
amanda.cox@slu.edu
Alexis Bruce-Staudt
Executive Director, Grant Operation Centers
alexis.brucestaudt@slu.edu
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Andrew Robertson
Executive Director, GeoSpatial Services
aroberts@smumn.edu
Benjamin Murray
Vice President for Financial Affairs
bmurray@smumn.edu
Southeast Missouri State University Kathy Mangels
Vice President for Finance and Administration
kmangels@semo.edu
Pam Vargas
Director, Office of Research and Grant Development
pvargas@semo.edu
Southern Illinois University James Garvey
Professor, Department of Zoology and
Interim Vice Chancellor for Research
jgarvey@siu.edu
Sonjie Schwartz
Interim Director, Office of Sponsored Projects Administration
sonjie@siu.edu
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Jerry Weinberg
Associate Provost for Research and Dean of the Graduate School
jweinbe@siue.edu
Susan Morgan
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
smorgan@siue.edu
University of Illinois Jeffrey Brawn
Professor and Head, Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences
jbrawn@illinois.edu
Linda Williams
Director, Pre-Award
Sponsored Programs Administration
spapreaward@illinois.edu
University of Iowa Gabriele Villarini
Director, IIHR-Hydroscience and Engineering and
Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
gabriele-villarini@uiowa.edu

Carmen Langel
Director of Development and Communications, IIHR—Hydroscience and Engineering
Managing Director, Iowa Flood Center
carmen-langel@uiowa.edu
Erin Brothers
Senior Sponsored Research Specialist
Division of Sponsored Programs
erin-brothers@uiowa.edu

Division of Sponsored Programs
dsp-contracts@uiowa.edu
University of Kansas Donald Huggins
Senior Scientist, Kansas Biological Survey
Director, Central Plains Center for BioAssessment
dhuggins@ku.edu
Lucille Marino
Associate Director, Office of Research
marino@ku.edu
University of Memphis Brian Waldron
Associate Professor, Civil Engineering and
Director, Center for Applied Earth Science and Engineering Research (CAESER) bwaldron@memphis.edu
Deborah Hernandez
Director, Research Development
Division of Research and Sponsored Programs
dhernndz@memphis.edu
University of Minnesota Michael Kilgore
Professor and Interim Head, Department of Forest Resources
College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural Resource Sciences
mkilgore@umn.edu
Kevin McKoskey
Director, Office of Sponsored Projects Administration
kevin@umn.edu
University of Missouri Patrick Market
Professor and Interim Director
School of Natural Resources
MarketP@missouri.edu
Holly Stillman
Senior Grants and Contracts Administrator
stillmanh@missouri.edu
University of Notre Dame Paul Bohn
Professor, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering pbohn@nd.edu
Liz Rulli
Associate Vice President for Research
lrulli@nd.edu
University of Wisconsin-Extension Rebecca Power
Director, North Central Region Water Network
UWEX Environmental Resources Center
RLPower@wisc.edu
Largaret Erickson
Acting Director, Office of Extramural Support
margaret.erickson@uwex.edu
Winona State University Charla Miertschin
Dean, College of Science and Engineering
CMiertschin@winona.edu
Brett Ayers
Director, Office of Grants and Sponsored Projects
BAyers@winona.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Audubon, Mississippi River Initiative Matthew Anderson
manderson@audubon.org
Audubon, Missouri Ken Buchholz
Director, Audubon Center at Riverlands
kbuchholz@audubon.org
Conservation Federation of Missouri Brandon Butler
Executive Director
bbutler@confedmo.org
Missouri Botanical Gardens James Solomon
Curator of Herbarium
jim.solomon@mobot.org
James Miller
Senior Vice President, Science and Conservation
james.miller@mobot.org
National Great Rivers Research and Education Center Lyle Guyon
Senior Research Scientist, Terrestrial
lguyon@lc.edu

Linda Chapman
Vice President, Academic Affairs
Lewis and Clark Community College
lchapman@lc.edu
Lori Artis
Vice President, Administration
Lewis and Clark Community College
lartis@lc.edu
National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium Kurt Strand
President and CEO
kstrand@rivermuseum.com
Tom Lange
Director of Finance and Accounting
tlange@rivermuseum.com