CESU Masthead
Header image

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Colorado Plateau Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (CPCESU) is a cooperative network, transcending political and institutional boundaries, which creates innovative opportunities for research, education, and technical assistance in support of the management and stewardship by partner agencies of the Colorado Plateau's natural, cultural, and social resources.

HOST

Northern Arizona University

Northern Arizona University

ESTABLISHED 1999
WEBSITE nau.edu/cefns/forestry/cpcesu/
DIRECTOR James Allen
PO Box: 15018
Northern Arizona University
Flagstaff, AZ, 86011-5765
PHONE: (928) 523-5894
EMAIL: James.Allen@nau.edu

Laurie Thom
Program Coordinator, CPCESU
Northern Arizona University
PO Box 15018
Flagstaff, AZ 86011-5018
PHONE: (928) 523-5549
EMAIL: Laurie.Thom@nau.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (1999)
Amendment 1 adding New Mexico State University

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2004)
Amendment 1 adding Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding Deputy Under Secretary of Defense (Installations and Environment), Mesa State College, Southern Utah University, Center for Desert Archaeology, and Rocky Mountain Bird Observatory
Amendment 3 adding Weber State University
Amendment 4 adding University of New Mexico
Amendment 5 adding Navajo Nation
Amendment 6 adding Crow Canyon Archaeological Center and University of Pennsylvania

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2009)
Amendment 1 adding U.S. Army Corps of Engineers – Civil Works and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 2 adding Prescott College and Institute for Bird Populations
Amendment 3 adding University of Texas at San Antonio
Amendment 4 adding University of Utah
Amendment 5 adding Utah Valley University
Amendment 6 adding Dixie State University
Amendment 7 adding Conservation Science Partners and Desert Research Institute

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2014)
Amendment 1 adding the Bureau of Indian Affairs
Amendment 2 adding University of Cincinnati

UNIT PARTNERS
TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE COOPERATIVE AGREEMENTS REPRESENTATIVE
TRIBAL PARTNERS
Navajo Nation Ora Marek-Martinez
Navajo Nation Archaeology Department
Ora.Marek@nau.edu
 
FEDERAL PARTNERS
Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Jeri Mcguffie
Grants Officer
Jeri.H.Mcguffie@usace.army.mil

Sherry Whitaker  
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Climate Science Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
 
Bureau of Land Management Ron Bolander
State Botanist, Utah
rbolande@blm.gov
Maria Gochis
Grants Management Officer
mgochis@blm.gov
Bureau of Reclamation Mark McKinstry
Biological Scientist, Adaptive Management
mmckinstry@usbr.gov
Tim Wagoner
Grants Officer
Upper Colorado Regional Office
tpwagoner@usbr.gov
Department of Defense Robbie Knight
Regional Coordinator and Wildlife Biologist
U.S. Army Dugway Proving Ground robert.n.knight@us.army.mil
Jack Mobley
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
jack.e.mobley@usace.army.mil
Fish and Wildlife Service Greg Watson
Chief, Office of Landscape Conservation, Mountain-Prairie Region
Greg_Watson@fws.gov
Tammy Mayne or Patrick McKenney
Grants and Agreements Specialists FW6_CGS_FA@fws.gov
Forest Service Carolyn Hull Sieg
Research Plant Ecologist
csieg@fs.fed.us
Cindy Gordon
Lead Grants Management Specialist
Rocky Mountain Research Station
cdgordon@fs.fed.us
National Park Service Todd Chaudhry
CESU Research Coordinator
todd_chaudhry@nps.gov
 
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
United States Geological Survey Charles Drost
Southwest Biological Science Center
Charles_Drost@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Arizona State University Charles Redman
Director,Center for Environmental Studies
Charles.Redman@asu.edu

Arleyn W. Simon

Director, Archaeological Research Institute
arleyn.simon@asu.edu

Jennifer Carter
ASU Global Institute of Sustainability (GIOS)
jenny.carter@asu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Colorado Mesa University Deborah Kennard
Associate Professor, Environmental Science
dkennard@coloradomesa.edu
Cindy Lueb
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
clueb@coloradomesa.edu
Colorado State University Mark Paschke
Shell Endowed Chair of Restoration Ecology Forest and Rangeland Stewardship Department and
Research Associate Dean
Warner College of Natural Resources
Mark.Paschke@colostate.edu
Carmen Morales
Senior Research Administrator
Sponsored Programs
carmen.morales@colostate.edu
Diné College Donald K. Robinson
Science Division, GCB
dkrobinson@dinecollege.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Dixie State University Erin O’Brien
Department of Biological Sciences
Obrien@dixie.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Fort Lewis College Chuck Riggs
Professor
Department of Anthropology
Center of Southwest Studies
riggs_c@fortlewis.edu

Rebecca Austin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Anthropology and Environmental Studies
austin_r@fortlewis.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
New Mexico State University Kathryn Stoner
Professor and Department Head
Fishery and Wildlife Sciences
kstoner@nmsu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Northern Arizona University James Allen
Executive Director, School of Forestry
James.Allen@nau.edu
Wilma G. (Winnie) Ennenga
Director, Grant and Contract Services
Wilma.Ennenga@nau.edu
Oregon State University Lisa J. Gaines
Institute for Natural Resources
lisa.gaines@oregonstate.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Prescott College Lisa Floyd-Hanna
Professor
Environmental Studies Program
LFloyd-Hanna@prescott.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Southern Utah University Briget Eastep
Director - Outdoor Engagement Center
eastep@suu.edu
Julia Anderson
Director, Sponsored Programs
juliaanderson@suu.edu
University of Arizona Stuart E. Marsh
Interim Director, School of Natural Resources and the Environment
Professor and Chair Arid Lands Resource Sciences Ph.D. Program
Professor School of Geography and Development
smarsh@email.arizona.edu

Ashley Stewart

Administrative Associate
School of Natural Resources and the Environment
akstewart@email.arizona.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Cincinnati Alan P. Sullivan
Professor and Head
Department of Anthropology
alan.sullivan@uc.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Nevada, Reno Maureen I. McCarthy
Director, Academy for the Environment
mimccarthy@unr.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of New Mexico Joseph Cook
Professor of Biology & Curator of Mammals
Museum of Southwestern Biology
cookjose@unm.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Pennsylvania Frank Matero
Professor of Architecture
fgmatero@design.upenn.edu
W. Stuart Watson
Associate Director
Office of Research Services
wswatson@upenn.edu
University of Texas, San Antonio William A. Dupont
San Antonio Conservation Society Endowed Professor
Director, Center for Cultural Sustainability
william.dupont@utsa.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Utah Matt Brownlee
Assistant Professor, Natural Resources Recreation Planning and Management
Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism
matthew.brownlee@hsc.utah.edu

Nan Ellin
Chair, Department of City and Metropolitan Planning
College of Architecture and Planning
ellin@arch.utah.edu
Brent K. Brown
Director of Sponsored Projects
ospawards@osp.utah.edu
Utah State University Mark Brunson
Professor
Mark.Brunson@usu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Utah Valley University Daniel Horns
Associate Dean
College of Science and Health
hornsda@uvu.edu  
 
Weber State University Nancy M. Jarvis
Associated Director, Office of Sponsored Projects
njarvis@weber.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
OTHER PARTNERS
Archaeology Southwest (formerly Center for Desert Archaeology) William H. Doelle
President and CEO wdoelle@archaeologysouthwest.org
 
Bird Conservancy of the Rockies Duane B. Pool
Science Director
duane.pool@birdconservancy.org
 
Conservation Science Partners Brett G. Dickson
President and Chief Scientist
info@csp-inc.org
 
Crow Canyon Archaeological Center Mark Varien
Vice President of Programs
mvarien@crowcanyon.org
 
Desert Research Institute Dave Rhode
Associate Research Professor
Dave.Rhode@dri.edu
 
Institute for Bird Populations Rodney Siegel
Executive Director
rsiegel@birdpop.org
 
Museum of Northern Arizona Kim Spurr
kspurr@musnaz.org
 
The Arboretum at Flagstaff Kristin Haskins
Kristin.Haskins@nau.edu