CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The South Florida and Caribbean Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (SFC CESU) hosted by the University of Miami at the Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science (RSMAS) is one of the second round CESUs created by the federal government under the leadership of the Department of the Interior to provide assistance to managers in federal land management, environmental and research agencies. The South Florida and Caribbean Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit, formed in 2000 and renewed in 2005, 2010, and 2015, is a partnership between nine federal agencies and 21 universities and other nonfederal partner institutions.

HOST University of Miami

University of Miami
Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science

ESTABLISHED 2000
WEBSITE http://www.sfc-cesu.com
DIRECTOR Helena Solo-Gabriele
Professor and Associate Dean for Research
Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
McArthur Engineering Building, Room 252
University of Miami
1251 Memorial Drive
Coral Gables, FL 33146
PHONE: (305) 284-2908
EMAIL: hmsolo@miami.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative Agreement (2000)
Amendment 1 adding Florida Atlantic University
Amendment 2 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 3 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service

Cooperative Agreement (2005)
Amendment 1 adding the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works
Amendment 2 adding Institute for Regional Conservation and Florida Institute of Technology
Amendment 3 adding the Everglades Foundation and University of South Florida
Amendment 4 adding the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Cooperative Agreement (2010)
Amendment 1 adding the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment, Florida Gulf Coast University, and Ocean Research and Conservation Association
Amendment 2 adding the Cetacean Logic Foundation, Inc.
Amendment 3 adding the Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden

Cooperative Agreement (2015)
Amendment 1 adding the Bureau of Indian Affairs
Amendment 2 adding the Avian Research and Conservation Institute and Florida A&M University

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Climate Science Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Sean MacDougall
Biological Sciences Program Lead
Eastern States Office
smacdoug@blm.gov

Karlee Yurek
Branch Chief, Natural and Community Resources
kyurek@blm.gov
Brandon Riley
Grants Management Officer
briley@blm.gov
Department of Defense Michael Andrejko
Natural Resources Project Manager
michael.andrejko@us.af.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
DoD CESU Project Manager
USACE Fort Worth District
Kathy.S.Mitchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
DoD CESU Project Manager
Engineering Construction and Support Office
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Laura Brandt
Regional Scientist
laura_brandt@fws.gov
Steve Sponaugle
Chief
Division of Contracting and Grant Services (CGS)
Southeast Region
steve_sponaugle@fws.gov
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Bonnie Ponwith
Director, Southeast Fisheries Science Center
Bonnie.Ponwith@noaa.gov
Jennifer Lechuga
Environmental Compliance Coordinator
CESU Program Manager
jennifer.lechuga@noaa.gov
National Park Service Carol Daniels
Senior Scientist
cdaniels@miami.edu
carol_daniels@nps.gov
Emmett "Collin" Johnson
Financial Assistance Specialist
emmett_johnson@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist
Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Kenneth G. Rice
Center Director
Wetland and Aquatic Research Center
krice@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Barry University Jeremy Montague
Professor, Marine Biology
jmontague@mail.barry.edu
Sandra Mancuso
Director, Grants and Sponsored Programs
grants@barry.edu.
Flagler College Kelly Enright
Director of Public History and Assistant Professor of History
Department of Humanities
kenright@flagler.edu
Mary Jane Dillon
Director of External Programs
dillonmj@flagler.edu
Florida Atlantic University John Baldwin
Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
jbaldwinn@fau.edu
Camille Coley, J.D.
Senior Vice President for Research
ccoley@fau.edu
Florida Gulf Coast University Darren Rumbold
Department of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Director, Vester Marine Research Field Station
avolety@fgcu.edu
Dr. T. C. Yih
Associate Vice President for Research and Dean, Graduate Studies Florida Gulf Coast University
tcyih@fgcu.edu
Florida Institute of Technology Gary A. Zarillo
Professor of Oceanography
Department of Marine and Environmental Systems
zarillo@fit.edu
Carolyn R. Lockyer
Director of Contracts
clockyer@fit.edu
Florida International University Joel Trexler
Professor of Biological Science and Director of Marine Science
trexlerj@fiu.edu
Roberto M. Gutierrez
Director, Pre-Award
gutierrr@fiu.edu
Nova Southeastern University Richard E. Dodge
Professor and Dean
Executive Director, National Coral Reef Institute
Halmos College of Natural Sciences and Oceanography
dodge@nova.edu
Catherine M. Harlan
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
charlan@nova.edu
University of Florida Frank J. Mazzotti
Director, Fort Lauderdale Research & Education Center
fjma@ifas.ufl.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Miami Helena Solo-Gabriele
Professor and Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering
hmsolo@miami.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of North Carolina, Wilmington Michael Durako
Professor, Department of Biology and Marine Biology
durakom@uncw.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Puerto Rico-Mayagüez Campus Manuel Valdés Pizzini
Dean, College of Arts and Science
manuel.valdes@upr.edu | decano.arci@uprm.edu
Marisol Vera-Colon
Director, UPRM Research and Development Center
directorcid@uprm.edu
University of South Florida Lori Collins
Director, Alliance for Integrated Spatial Technologies
lcollins@usf.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of the Virgin Islands Richard S. Nemeth
Research Professorof Marine Science
Center for Marine and Environmental Studies
rnemeth@uvi.edu
Olusola Ewulo
Director of Sponsored Programs
olusola.ewulo@uvi.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Audubon of Florida Jerry Lorenz
State Science Director
jlorenz@audubon.org
 
Cetacean Logic Foundation Frank Marshall
President
clfinc@earthlink.net
 
Everglades Foundation Tom Van Lent
Director of Science and Policy
tvanlent@evergladesfoundation.org
 
Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden Jennifer Possley
jpossley@fairchildgarden.org

James Joseph Lange
jlange@fairchildgarden.org
 
Institute for Regional Conservation Craig van der Heiden
CEO
craig@regionalconservation.org
Cara Abbott
abbott@regionalconservation.org
Ocean Research and Conservation Association Edith Widder
CEO / President
ewidder@teamorca.org
Warren Falls
Managing Director
wfalls@teamorca.org