CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The South Florida and Caribbean Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (SFC CESU) hosted by the Florida International University is one of the second round CESUs created by the federal government under the leadership of the Department of the Interior to provide assistance to managers in federal land management, environmental and research agencies. The South Florida and Caribbean Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit, formed in 2000 and renewed in 2005, 2010, 2015, and 2020, is a partnership between nine federal agencies and 21 universities and other nonfederal partner institutions.

HOST Florida International University

Florida International University

ESTABLISHED 2000
WEBSITE http://www.sfc-cesu.com
CO-DIRECTORS Evelyn Gaiser
George M. Barley, Jr. Endowed Chair of Everglades Research
Institute of Environment
Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Florida International University
11200 SW 8th Street, CASE 253
Miami, FL 33199
PHONE: (305) 348-6145
EMAIL: gaisere@fiu.edu

ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative Agreement (2000)
Amendment 1 adding Florida Atlantic University
Amendment 2 adding U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 3 adding Natural Resources Conservation Service

Cooperative Agreement (2005)
Amendment 1 adding U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works
Amendment 2 adding Institute for Regional Conservation and Florida Institute of Technology
Amendment 3 adding Everglades Foundation and University of South Florida
Amendment 4 adding National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Cooperative Agreement (2010)
Amendment 1 adding Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment, Florida Gulf Coast University, and Ocean Research and Conservation Association
Amendment 2 adding Cetacean Logic Foundation, Inc.
Amendment 3 adding Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden

Cooperative Agreement (2015)
Amendment 1 adding Bureau of Indian Affairs
Amendment 2 adding Avian Research and Conservation Institute and Florida A&M University

Cooperative Agreement (2020)
Amendment 1 adding Smithsonian Institution

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Jennifer Seiter-Moser
Acting Technical Director
Civil Engineering Programs
Engineer Research and Development Center
jennifer.m.seiter-moser@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Tribal Resilience Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Anthony D. Bobo, Jr.
Deputy State Director, Natural Resources
BLM Eastern States Office
a1bobo@blm.gov
Amy Marshall
Grants Management Officer (Acting)
amarshall@blm.gov
Department of Defense Michael Andrejko
Natural Resources Project Manager
michael.andrejko@us.af.mil

Liz Galli-Noble
Program Manager, DoD Legacy Resource Management Program
elizabeth.j.galli-noble.civ@mail.mil
Lori Kruse-Johnson
SWD CESU Program Manager
Lori.M.Kruse-Johnson@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Laura Brandt
Regional Scientist
laura_brandt@fws.gov
Anna-Marie York
Grants Management Specialist
Science Applications
anna-marie_york@fws.gov
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Clay Porch
Director, Southeast Fisheries Sciences Center
clay.porch@noaa.gov
Michael Liddel
CESU Program Manager
Acting Branch Chief, Commercial Fishery Statistics
michael.liddel@noaa.gov
National Park Service Carol Daniels
Senior Scientist
cdaniels@miami.edu
carol_daniels@nps.gov
Emmett "Collin" Johnson
Financial Assistance Specialist
emmett_johnson@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Weihuan “Mark” Xu
Director, Resource Inventory and Assessment Division, SSRA
weihuan.xu@usda.gov

David Lindbo
Director, Soil and Plant Science Division
david.lindbo@usda.gov
Aileen Anderson
Grants Management Specialist
aileen.anderson@usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Kenneth Rice
Center Director
Wetland and Aquatic Research Center
krice@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Barry University Silvia Maciá
Professor
Biology
smacia@barry.edu
Michelle Gooding
Director, Department of Grants and Sponsored Programs
migooding@barry.edu
grants@barry.edu
Flagler College Kelly Enright
Director of Public History and Assistant Professor of History
Department of Humanities
kenright@flagler.edu
Mary Jane Dillon
Director of External Programs
dillonmj@flagler.edu
Florida A&M University John Baldwin
Helen Worthen
Professor and Dean
College of Agriculture and Food Sciences
helen.worthen@famu.edu
Glory Brown
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
glory.brown@famu.edu
Florida Atlantic University John Baldwin
Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
jbaldwinn@fau.edu
Camille Coley, J.D.
Senior Vice President for Research
ccoley@fau.edu
Florida Gulf Coast University Darren Rumbold
Department of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Director, Vester Marine Research Field Station
avolety@fgcu.edu
Dr. T. C. Yih
Associate Vice President for Research and Dean, Graduate Studies Florida Gulf Coast University
tcyih@fgcu.edu
Florida Institute of Technology Gary A. Zarillo
Professor of Oceanography
Department of Marine and Environmental Systems
zarillo@fit.edu
Carolyn R. Lockyer
Director of Contracts
clockyer@fit.edu
Florida International University Evelyn Gaiser
George M. Barley, Jr. Endowed Chair of Everglades Research
Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
gaisere@fiu.edu
Robert Gutierrez
Assistant Vice President for Research
gutierrr@fiu.edu
Nova Southeastern University Richard Dodge
Professor and Dean
Executive Director, National Coral Reef Institute
Halmos College of Natural Sciences and Oceanography
dodge@nova.edu
Catherine M. Harlan
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
charlan@nova.edu
Smithsonian Institution Scott Miller
Chief Scientist, Office of the Under Secretary for Science and Research
MillerS@si.edu
Karen Otiji
Acting Director, Office of Sponsored Projects
OtijiK@si.edu
University of Florida Frank Mazzotti
Director, Fort Lauderdale Research and Education Center
fjma@ifas.ufl.edu
Stephanie Gray
Assistant Vice President for Research
ufawards@ufl.edu
University of Miami Helena Solo-Gabriele
Professor and Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering
hmsolo@miami.edu
Maria Rojas
Senior Manager, Sponsored Programs
mrojas@miami.edu
University of North Carolina, Wilmington Michael Durako
Professor, Department of Biology and Marine Biology
durakom@uncw.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Puerto Rico-Mayagüez Campus Manuel Valdés Pizzini
Dean, College of Arts and Science
manuel.valdes@upr.edu | decano.arci@uprm.edu
Marisol Vera-Colon
Director, UPRM Research and Development Center
directorcid@uprm.edu
University of South Florida Lori Collins
Director, Alliance for Integrated Spatial Technologies
lcollins@usf.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of the Virgin Islands Richard S. Nemeth
Research Professorof Marine Science
Center for Marine and Environmental Studies
rnemeth@uvi.edu
Olusola Ewulo
Director of Sponsored Programs
olusola.ewulo@uvi.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Audubon of Florida Jerry Lorenz
State Science Director
jlorenz@audubon.org
Avian Research and Conservation Institute Kenneth Meyer
Executive Director
meyer@arcinst.org
Cetacean Logic Foundation Frank Marshall
President
clfinc@earthlink.net
Everglades Foundation Tom Van Lent
Director of Science and Policy
tvanlent@evergladesfoundation.org
Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden Jennifer Possley
jpossley@fairchildgarden.org

James Joseph Lange
jlange@fairchildgarden.org
Institute for Regional Conservation Craig van der Heiden
CEO
craig@regionalconservation.org
Cara Abbott
abbott@regionalconservation.org
Ocean Research and Conservation Association Edith Widder
CEO / President
ewidder@teamorca.org
Warren Falls
Managing Director
wfalls@teamorca.org