CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

Twelve university/research institutions and six federal agencies comprise the Chesapeake Watershed Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (CW CESU). These partners provide leadership in watershed science and stewardship with special emphasis on the watershed of the Chesapeake Bay.

The Chesapeake Watershed is home to more than 3,600 species and over 15 million people all competing for resources and space within this 64,000 square mile region. The CW CESU promotes stewardship and integrated ecosystem management of natural and cultural resources within the Chesapeake Watershed through collaborative research, technical assistance and education.

HOST

Universith of Maryland, Center for Environmental Science

University System of Maryland

ESTABLISHED 2001
WEBSITE http://chwacesu.al.umces.edu
DIRECTOR Eric Davidson
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Appalachian Laboratory
301 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532
PHONE: (301) 689-7204
EMAIL: edavidson@umces.edu

Katie Kline
Laboratory Manager
UMCES - Appalachian Laboratory
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
301 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532
PHONE: (301) 689-7122
FAX: (301) 689-7200
EMAIL: kkline@al.umces.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative Agreement (2001)
Amendment 1 adding the U.S. Forest Service
Amendment 2 adding the College of William and Mary and the National Aquarium in Baltimore
Amendment 3 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 4 adding the American Bird Conservancy and James Madison University

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2006)
Amendment 1 adding Delaware State University
Amendment 2 adding U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works, the University of Delaware, and the Academy of Natural Sciences
Amendment 3 adding National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and Western Pennsylvania Conservancy
Amendment 4 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, American University, Christopher Newport University, Howard University, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, the University of Mary Washingtion, and the University of Virginia

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2011)
Amendment 1 adding George Washington University and Shippensburg University
Amendment 2 adding University of Richmond and Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Amendment 3 adding Garrett College and Virginia Commonwealth University
Amendment 4 adding Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation’s Division of Natural Heritage

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2016)

UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE COOPERATIVE AGREEMENTS REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Land Management Karlee Yurek
Branch Chief, Natural and Community Resources
kyurek@blm.gov
Brandon Riley
Grants Management Officer
briley@blm.gov

Maria Gochis
Bureau Lead Grants and Agreements Specialist
mgochis@blm.gov
Department of Defense Adam G. Wright
DoD Chesapeake Bay Program Coordinator
adam.g.wright@navy.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil

Lucas Walsh
Omaha District CESU
Lucas.v.walsh@usace.army.mil
402-995-2750

Stephanie Rostermundt
Omaha District CESU
Stephanie.a.rostermundt@usace.army.mil
402-995-2083
Kathy Mitchell
Environmental Resources Planner
USACE, Fort Worth District
Kathy.S.Mitchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
DoD CESU Project Manager
Engineering Construction and Support Office
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Mike Millard
Center Director, NE Fishery Center
mike_millard@fws.gov
Gary Dupuis
Grants and Agreements Specialist
gary_dupuis@fws.gov

Anna-Marie York Grants
Management Specialist
anna-marie_york@fws.gov
Forest Service John Hom
Deputy Program Manager
Northern Research Station
jhom@fs.fed.us
David Garrison
Grants & Agreements Specialist
davidgarrison@fs.fed.us
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Bill Karp
Science and Research Director
Northeast Fisheries Science Center 
Bill.Karp@noaa.gov

Russell Brown
Deputy Science and Research Director
Northeast Fisheries Science Center 
Russell.Brown@noaa.gov
 
National Park Service Dr. Daniel M. Filer
NPS Research Coordinator
Chesapeake Watershed CESU University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science - Appalachian Laboratory
Room 304
301 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532
danny_filer@nps.gov
Office: 301-689-7108
Cell: 301-491-2465

Laquita Palmer
Grants Management Specialist
202-619-7082
laquita_palmer@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
United States Geological Survey Allan F. O'Connell
USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
aoconnell@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Anne Arundel Community College Dr. Stephen Ailstock
101 College Parkway
Arnold, MD 21012
smailstock@aacc.edu
Kathleen Bolton
Grant Specialist for Learning
Anne Arundel Community College
101 College Parkway
Arnold, MD 21012
410-777-2028
keboltonk@aacc.edu
American University Dr. Jessica Young
Department of Health Studies
American University
4400 Massachusetts Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20016
jessica@american.edu
(202) 885-2726

Dr. UJ Sofia
Associate Dean of Research
College of Arts and Sciences
American University
4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Battelle Tompkins - 257
Washington DC 20016
202-885-2728
sofia@american.edu
Contact the sponsored programs office
Christopher Newport University Dr. Nicole Guajardo
Dean, College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences
Christopher Newport University
One University Place, McMurran Hall
Newport News, VA 23606
757-594-8214
nguajard@cnu.edu
Contact the sponsored programs office
College of William and Mary Dr. Randolph M. Chambers
Director, W.M. Keck Environmental Field Lab, Director, Environmental Science & Policy Cluster
The College of William and Mary
P.O. Box 8795
Williamsburg, VA 23187-8795
757-221-2311
rmcham@wm.edu
Jane A. Lopez
Director of Sponsored Programs
wosp@wm.edu
757-221-3965
jalope@wm.edu
Delaware State University Dr. Dyremple Marsh
Dean, College of Agriculture and Related Sciences
Delaware State University
1200 N. DuPont Highway, Annex Bldg
Dover, DE 19901
302-857-6400
dmarsh@desu.edu
Contact the sponsored programs office
Frostburg State University Dr. Thomas L. Serfass
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532
301-687-4171
tserfass@frostburg.edu
Aaron Hoel
Director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532
301-687-7097
ahoel@frostburg.edu
Garrett College Dr. Richard Midcap
President
Garrett College
687 Mosser Road
McHenry, MD 21541
?301-387-3056
albert.coviello@garrettcollege.edu
Contact the sponsored programs office
George Mason University Dr. Paul R. Houser
Professor of Global Hydrology
George Mason University
4400 University Drive
Fairfax, VA 22030-4444
Phone: (301) 613-3782
phouser@gmu.edu
Eileene Gallagher, J.D.
Asst. Director, Contracts
Office of Sponsored Programs
George Mason University
4400 University Drive, MS 4C6,
Fairfax, VA 22030
703-993-2292
egallagh@gmu.edu
George Washington University Yongwu Rong
Professor of Mathematics
Associate Dean for Research & Strategic Initiatives
Columbian College of Arts and Sciences
George Washington University
Washington, DC 20052
202-994-6130
rong@gwu.edu
LaTonya Carter
Sponsored Project Administrator, Post Award
Office of the Vice President for Research
George Washington University
Washington, DC 20052
202-994-5377
latanyacarter@gwu.edu
Howard University Dr. George Middendorf, III
Professor, Department of Biology
415 College Street NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-7289
Fax: (202) 806-4564
gmiddendorf@howard.edu
Contact the sponsored programs office
Indiana University of Pennsylvania Deanne Snavely
Dean of College of Natural Science and Mathmatics
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
1011 South Drive
Indiana, PA 15705
724-357-2609
deanne.snavely@iup.edu
Heather Hess
Grant and Contract Specialist
IUP Research Institute
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
1179 Grant Street
Indiana, PA 15701
724-357-2223
heatherh@iup.edu
James Madison University Dr. Christie-Joy Brodrick Hartman
Executive Director, Office of Environmental Stewardship and Sustainability
Associate Professor, Department of Integrated Science and Technology
James Madison University
701 Carrier Drive
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
540-568-3202
brodricj@jmu.edu

Dr. Robert N Brent
Associate Professor, Integrated Science and Technology
James Madison University
701 Carrier Drive
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
540-568-2728
brentrn@jmu.edu

Dr. Christine May
Assistant Professor, Biology Department
Bioscience Building 1028D, MSC 7801
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
540-568-5030
maycl@jmu.edu
Tamara T. Hatch
Interim Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
James Madison University
1031 Harrison Street, JMAC 6, Suite 26, MSC 5728
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22807
540-568-2350
hatchtt@jmu.edu
Pennsylvania State University Lara B. Fowler
Law Professor and PSIEE Research Fellow
Penn State Law, Lewis Katz Building
University Park, PA 16802
814-865-8900
lbf10@psu.edu

Peter Newman
Professor and Department Head
Recreation, Park, and Tourism Management the Pennsylvania State University
801 G. Donald H. Ford Building
University Park, PA 16802
814-863-7849
pbn3@psu.edu
Timothy Michael Stodart
Associate Director for Contracts
Office of Sponsored Programs
the Pennsylvania State University 0110J Technology Center
University Park, PA 16801
814-865-1027
tms21@psu.edu
Shippensburg University Dr. Claire Jantz
Associate Professor
Department of Geography - Earth Science
Shippensburg University
1871 Old Main Drive
Shippensburg, PA 17257
717-477-1399
cajant@ship.edu
Christopher Wonders
Director
Institute for Public Service and Sponsored Programs
Shippensburg University
1871 Old Main Drive
Shippensburg, PA 17257
717-477-1251
cawonders@ship.edu
University of Delaware Dr. Greg Shriver
Assistant Professor Wildlife Ecology
Department of Entomology & Wildlife Ecology
gshriver@udel.edu
Kathy Lyons
Contract and Grant Specialist
kmlyons@udel.edu

Susan Tompkins, CRA
Contract and Grant Specialist
Authorized Official, Research Office
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716
302-831-8002
sdt@udel.edu
University of the District of Columbia Dwane Jones
Director, Center for Sustainable Development
College of Agriculture, Urban Sustainability and Environmental Sciences (CAUSES)
Agricultural Experiment Station, Building 44, Room 120-#1
University of the District of Columbia
4200 Connecticut Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20008
202-274-7182
dwane.jones@udc.edu
JoVita Wells, J.D.
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
Bldg. 39- Suite 301H/301J
University of the District of Columbia
4200 Connecticut Ave., NW,
Washington, DC 20008
202-274-6260
jowells@udc.edu
University of Maryland, Baltimore County Dr. Christopher Swan
Associate Professor
University of Maryland Baltimore County
Department of Biology, 211 Sondheim Hall
1000 Hilltop Circle
Baltimore, MD 21250
410-455-3957
Chris.Swan@umbc.edu
Karen U. Barnes CRA
Grants and Contracts Manager
Office of Sponsored Programs
Engineering, Room 329
University of Maryland Baltimore County
410-455-1374
kbarnes@umbc.edu
ospa@umbc.edu
University of Maryland, Center for Environmental Science (Appalachian Lab) Dr. Eric Davidson
Director
301 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532
301-689-7204
edavidson@umces.edu
Barbara Jenkins
Senior Research Administrator
301-689-7115
bjenkins@umces.edu
University of Maryland, Center for Environmental Science (Chesapeake Bay Lab) Dr. Thomas Miller
Director
410-326-7276
miller@umces.edu
Samantha Mais
Program Administrative Specialist
410-326-7461
mais@umces.edu
University of Maryland, Center for Environmental Science (Horn Point Lab) Dr. William Dennison
P.O. Box 775
2020 Horn Point Road
Cambridge, MD 21613-0775
410-221-2004
wdennison@umces.edu
Julianna Brush
Contract / Grant Specialist
410-221-8414
jbrush@umces.edu
University of Maryland, College Park Dr. Robert Tjaden
Extension Specialist
Environmental/Natural Resources Mgmt. & Policy
Dept. of Environmental Science and Technology
1433 Animal Science/Agr. Engineering Bldg
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-5551
301-405-1179
rtjaden@umd.edu
Wendy Montgomery
Director, Office of Research Administration
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-5551
301-405-6279
wmont@umd.edu
University of Mary Washington Dr. Michael Spencer
Department of Historic Preservation, Combs Hall #132
University of Mary Washington
1301 College Avenue
Fredericksburg, VA 22401-5300
540-654-1311
mspen1bi@umw.edu
Contact the sponsored programs office
University of Richmond Dr. Todd Lookingbill
Asst. Prof. of Geography & the Environment, Asst. Prof. of Biology University of Richmond
28 Westhampton Way
Richmond, VA 23173
804-289-8265
tlooking@richmond.edu
Diana Thompson Vincelli
Director of Grant Support
University of Richmond
28 Westhampton Way
Richmond, VA 23173
804-289-8005
dvincell@richmond.edu
University of Virginia Dr. Todd M. Scanlon
Associate Professor, Department of Environmental Sciences
University of Virginia, Clark Hall
P.O. Box 400123
Charlottesville, VA 22932-4123
434-924-3382
tms2v@cms.mail.virginia.edu

Ami Riscassi
Research Scientist
Department of Environmental Sciences
University of Virginia, Clark Hall
Charlottesville, VA 22932
434-924-0520
alr8m@virginia.edu
Contact the sponsored programs office
Virginia Commonwealth University Dr. Gregory Garman
Project Director, Center for Environmental Studies
Research Director, VCU Rice Rivers Center
Associate Professor, Department of Biology
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA 23284
ggarman@vcu.edu

Lesley Bulluck
Assistant Professor of instruction
Department of Biology
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA 23284
804-828-0072
lpbulluck@vcu.edu
Contact the sponsored programs office
OTHER PARTNERS
Academy of Natural Sciences Dr. David Velinsky
Senior Scientist & Vice President
Patrick Center for Environmental Research
The Academy of Natural Sciences
1900 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy
Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-299-1147
djv23@drexel.edu
 
American Bird Conservancy Dr. David Pashley
Vice President for Conservation Programs
American Bird Conservancy
P.O. Box 249
4249 Loudoun Avenue
The Plains, VA 20198-0249
540-253-5780
dpashley@abcbirds.org
 
National Aquarium Ms. Laura Bankey
National Aquarium in Baltimore
Pier 3, 501 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
410-576-3808
lbankey@aqua.org

Ms. Charmaine Dahlenburg
National Aquarium in Baltimore
Manager, Chesapeake Bay Programs
Pier 3, 501 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
410-659-4207
cdahlenburg@aqua.org

Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation J. Christopher Ludwig
Chief Biologist, VA DCR-DNH
600 East Main Street, 16th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
chris.ludwig@dcr.virginia.gov
 
Virginia Institute of Marine Science Dr. Mark Luckenbach
Associate Dean for Research and Advisory Services
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
1375 Greate Road
Gloucester Point, VA 23062-2026
804-684-7029
luck@vims.edu
Connie M. Motley
Assistant Director of Sponsored Programs
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
1375 Greate Road
Gloucester Point, VA 23062-2026
804-684-7027
motley@vims.edu
Western Pennsylvania Conservancy Ephraim Zimmerman
Ecologist/Ecological Services Coordinator
Pennsylvania Natural Heritage Program
Western Pennsylvania Conservancy
800 Waterfront Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412-586-2319
ezimmerman@paconserve.org