CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

More than 30 nonfederal partner institutions and nine federal agencies comprise the Chesapeake Watershed Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (CW CESU). These partners provide leadership in watershed science and stewardship with special emphasis on the watershed of the Chesapeake Bay.

The Chesapeake Watershed is home to more than 3,600 species and over 15 million people all competing for resources and space within this 64,000 square mile region. The CW CESU promotes stewardship and integrated ecosystem management of natural and cultural resources within the Chesapeake Watershed through collaborative research, technical assistance and education.

HOST

Universith of Maryland, Center for Environmental Science

University System of Maryland

ESTABLISHED 2001
WEBSITE http://chwacesu.al.umces.edu
DIRECTOR Eric Davidson
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Appalachian Laboratory
301 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532
PHONE: (301) 689-7204
EMAIL: edavidson@umces.edu

Rhonda Schwinabart
Coordinator of External Affairs
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Appalachian Laboratory
301 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532
PHONE: (301) 689-7102
FAX: (301) 689-7200
EMAIL: rschwinabart@umces.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative Agreement (2001)
Amendment 1 adding the U.S. Forest Service
Amendment 2 adding the College of William and Mary and the National Aquarium in Baltimore
Amendment 3 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 4 adding the American Bird Conservancy and James Madison University

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2006)
Amendment 1 adding Delaware State University
Amendment 2 adding U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works, the University of Delaware, and the Academy of Natural Sciences
Amendment 3 adding National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and Western Pennsylvania Conservancy
Amendment 4 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, American University, Christopher Newport University, Howard University, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, the University of Mary Washingtion, and the University of Virginia

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2011)
Amendment 1 adding George Washington University and Shippensburg University
Amendment 2 adding University of Richmond and Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Amendment 3 adding Garrett College and Virginia Commonwealth University
Amendment 4 adding Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation’s Division of Natural Heritage

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2016)
Amendment 1 adding Shepherd University
Amendment 2 adding Virginia Tech
Amendment 3 adding Binghamton University, Bowie State University, Ecological Society of America, Longwood University, Maryland Institute College of Art, Morgan State University, Ohio University, Park Rx America, St. Mary’s College of Maryland, Stroud Water Research Center, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, and University of Pennsylvania

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Land Management Sean MacDougall
Biological Sciences Program Lead
Eastern States Office
smacdoug@blm.gov

Karlee Yurek
Branch Chief, Natural and Community Resources
kyurek@blm.gov
Brandon Riley
Grants Management Officer
briley@blm.gov
Department of Defense Adam G. Wright
DoD Chesapeake Bay Program Coordinator
adam.g.wright@navy.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil

Lucas Walsh
DOD CESU Program Manager
USACE Omaha District
lucas.v.walsh@usace.army.mil

Stephanie Rostermundt
USACE Omaha District
stephanie.a.rostermundt@usace.army.mil
Kathy Mitchell
DoD CESU Project Manager
USACE Fort Worth District
Kathy.S.Mitchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
DoD CESU Project Manager
Engineering Construction and Support Office
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Mike Millard
Center Director, Northeast Fishery Center
mike_millard@fws.gov
Gary Dupuis
Grants and Agreements Specialist
gary_dupuis@fws.gov

Anna-Marie York
Grants Management Specialist
anna-marie_york@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service John Hom
Deputy Program Manager
Northern Research Station
jhom@fs.fed.us

Anne Timm
Research Aquatic Ecologist
altimm@fs.fed.us
David Garrison
Grants and Agreements Specialist
davidgarrison@fs.fed.us
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Bill Karp
Science and Research Director
Northeast Fisheries Science Center
Bill.Karp@noaa.gov

Russell Brown
Deputy Science and Research Director
Northeast Fisheries Science Center
Russell.Brown@noaa.gov
Jennifer Lechuga
Environmental Compliance Coordinator
CESU Program Manager
jennifer.lechuga@noaa.gov
National Park Service Daniel M. Filer
NPS Research Coordinator
Chesapeake Watershed CESU
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science - Appalachian Laboratory danny_filer@nps.gov
Laquita Palmer
Grants Management Specialist
laquita_palmer@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
United States Geological Survey Allan F. O'Connell
Branch Chief, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
aoconnell@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Anne Arundel Community College Stephen Ailstock
Department Chair and Professor, Biology
Director, Environmental Center
smailstock@aacc.edu
Kathleen Bolton
Grant Specialist for Learning
kebolton@aacc.edu
American University Jessica Young
Department of Health Studies
jessica@american.edu

UJ Sofia
Associate Dean of Research
sofia@american.edu
James Casey
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
jamesc@american.edu
Binghamton University Carl Lipo
Associate Dean for Research and Programs, Harpur College
Director, Environmental Studies Program
clipo@binghamton.edu
Tanja deMauro
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
tdemauro@binghamton.edu
Bowie State University Gina Lewis
Associate Professor, Art
glewis@bowiestate.edu
Anika Bissahoyo
Director, Office of Sponsored Projects and Research
abissahoyo@bowiestate.edu
Christopher Newport University Nicole Guajardo
Dean, College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences
nguajard@cnu.edu
Anne Pascucci
Director, Sponsored Programs
anne.pascucci@cnu.edu
College of William and Mary Randolph M. Chambers
Director, W.M. Keck Environmental Field Lab
rmcham@wm.edu
Jane A. Lopez
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
wosp@wm.edu
Delaware State University Dyremple Marsh
Dean, College of Agriculture and Related Sciences
dmarsh@desu.edu
Renee S. Jones
Director, Sponsored Programs
rjones@desu.edu
Frostburg State University Thomas Serfass
Chair and Professor, Department of Biology
tserfass@frostburg.edu
Aaron Hoel
Director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
ahoel@frostburg.edu
Garrett College Kevin Dodge
Professor of Wildlife and Biology
Director, Natural Resources and Wildlife Technology Program
kevin.dodge@garrettcollege.edu
Sarah Garrett
Vice President for Instruction and Student Services
sarah.garrett@garrettcollege.edu
George Mason University Paul Houser
Professor of Global Hydrology
phouser@gmu.edu
Eileen Gallagher
Assistant Director, Contracts
Office of Sponsored Programs
egallagh@gmu.edu
George Washington University Yongwu Rong
Associate Dean for Research and Strategic Initiatives
Columbian College of Arts and Sciences
rong@gwu.edu
LaTonya Carter
Sponsored Project Administrator, Post Award
Office of the Vice President for Research
latanyacarter@gwu.edu

Shandra S. White
Director, Office of Sponsored Projects and Research Enhancement Unit
shandra@gwu.edu
Howard University George Middendorf, III
Professor, Department of Biology
gmiddendorf@howard.edu
Linda G. Jones
Special Assistant to the Associate Provost for Research and Graduate Studies
lgjones@howard.edu
Indiana University of Pennsylvania Deanne Snavely
Dean, College of Natural Science and Mathematics
deanne.snavely@iup.edu

Hilliary E. Creely, J.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Research
hcreely@iup.edu
Heather Hess
Grant and Contract Specialist
IUP Research Institute
heatherh@iup.edu
James Madison University Christie-Joy Brodrick Hartman
Executive Director, Office of Environmental Stewardship and Sustainability
Associate Professor, Department of Integrated Science and Technology
brodricj@jmu.edu

Robert N. Brent
Associate Professor, Department of Integrated Science and Technology
brentrn@jmu.edu

Christine May
Associate Professor, Biology Department
maycl@jmu.edu
Tamara T. Hatch
Interim Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
hatchtt@jmu.edu
Longwood University Brian D. Bates
Professor of Anthropology and Archaeology
Executive Director, Institute of Archaeology
batesbd@longwood.edu
Regina Maldve
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs and Research
maldvere@longwood.edu
Maryland Institute College of Art Gwynne Keathley
Vice Provost for Research and Graduate Studies
gkeathley@mica.edu

Contact the MICA Office of Research
officeofresearch@mica.edu
Morgan State University Scott Knoche
Interim Director, Patuxent Environmental and Aquatic Research Laboratory (PEARL)
Scott.Knoche@morgan.edu
Timothy Akers
Assistant Vice President for Research Innovation and Advocacy
Timothy.Akers@morgan.edu
Ohio University Laura L. Jensen
Vice Provost for Research and Graduate Studies
gkeathley@mica.edu
Maureen Valentine
Assistant Vice President for Research
orsp@ohio.edu
Pennsylvania State University Lara B. Fowler
Senior Research Project Manager
Primary Care Research
JensenL@Ohio.edu

Peter Newman
Department Head and Professor
Recreation, Park, and Tourism Management
pbn3@psu.edu
Timothy Michael Stodart
Associate Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
tms21@psu.edu
St. Mary's College of Maryland Sabine L. Dillingham
Director of Research and Sponsored Programs
sldillingham@smcm.edu
Sabine L. Dillingham
Director of Research and Sponsored Programs
sldillingham@smcm.edu
Shepherd University Colleen J. Nolan
Dean, School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
cnolan@shepherd.edu
Jessica L. Kump
Director, Sponsored Programs and Corporate and Foundation Relations
jkump@shepherd.edu
Shippensburg University Claire Jantz
Professor, Department of Geography and Earth Science
cajant@ship.edu
Christopher Wonders
Director, Institute for Public Service and Sponsored Programs
cawonders@ship.edu
University of Delaware Greg Shriver
Assistant Professor Wildlife Ecology
Department of Entomology and Wildlife Ecology
gshriver@udel.edu
Susan Tompkins, CRA
Contract and Grant Specialist
sdt@udel.edu
University of the District of Columbia Dwane Jones
Director, Center for Sustainable Development
College of Agriculture, Urban Sustainability and Environmental Sciences (CAUSES)
dwane.jones@udc.edu
JoVita Wells, J.D.
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
jowells@udc.edu
University of Maryland, Baltimore County Christopher M. Swan
Professor, Department of Geography and Environmental Systems
Chris.Swan@umbc.edu
Deborah Waters, CRA
Senior Grants and Contracts Manager
waters@umbc.edu

Stanley Jackson, CRA
Assistant Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
jacksons@umbc.edu
University of Maryland, Center for Environmental Science (Appalachian Lab) Eric Davidson
Director, Appalachian Lab
edavidson@umces.edu
Barbara Jenkins
Senior Research Administrator
bjenkins@umces.edu 
University of Maryland, Center for Environmental Science (Chesapeake Bay Lab) Thomas Miller
Director, Chesapeake Bay Lab
miller@umces.edu
Samantha Mais
Program Administrative Specialist
mais@umces.edu
University of Maryland, Center for Environmental Science (Horn Point Lab) Bill Dennison
Vice President for Science Applications and Professor
University of Maryland, Center for Environmental Science
dennison@umces.edu
Angela Richmond
Director, Office of Research Administration and Advancement
arichmond@umces.edu

Julianna Brush
Contract / Grant Specialist
Horn Point Lab

jbrush@umces.edu
University of Maryland, College Park Robert Tjaden
Extension Specialist and Professor, Environmental/Natural Resource Management and Policy
Department of Environmental Science and Technology
rtjaden@umd.edu
Wendy Montgomery
Director, Office of Research Administration
wmont@umd.edu
University of Maryland Eastern Shore Joseph Pitula
Associate Professor, Department of Natural Sciences
jspitula@umes.edu
Catherine Bolek
Director, Office of Sponsored Research and Programs
csbolek@umes.edu
University of Mary Washington Michael Spencer
Department of Historic Preservation
mspen1bi@umw.edu
John Morello
Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
jmorello@umw.edu
University of Pennsylvania Michael Spencer
Associate Professor, Graduate Program in Historic Preservation
Department of City and Regional Planning
rfmason@design.upenn.edu
Melissa Peloso
Associate Vice President/Associate Vice Provost
epeloso@upenn.edu
University of Richmond Todd Lookingbill
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Geography and the Environment
Associate Professor, Department of Biology
tlooking@richmond.edu
Diana Thompson Vincelli
Director of Grant Support
dvincell@richmond.edu
University of Virginia Todd M. Scanlon
Associate Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences
tms2v@cms.mail.virginia.edu

Ami Riscassi
Senior Research Scientist
Department of Environmental Sciences
alr8m@Virginia.edu
Mike Ludwick
Associate Director for Grants and Contracts
mpl7d@virginia.edu
Virginia Commonwealth University Gregory Garman
Director, VCU Rice Rivers Center
Associate Professor, Department of Biology
ggarman@vcu.edu
Andrea J. Publow, MFA, CRA
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
ajpublow@vcu.edu
Virginia Institute of Marine Science Mark Luckenbach
Associate Dean for Research and Advisory Services
Professor of Marine Science
luck@vims.edu
Connie M. Motley
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
motley@vims.edu
Virginia Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Viginia Tech) Joel W. Snodgrass
Head and Professor, Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation joels@vt.edu

Paul Kelsch Associate Professor, School of Architecture and Design
pkelsch@vt.edu
Linda Bucy
Assistant Vice President and Interim Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
ospdirector@vt.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Academy of Natural Sciences David Velinsky
Director and Senior Scientist, Patrick Center for Environmental Research
Department Head and Professor, Department of Biodiversity, Earth and Environmental Science
djv23@drexel.edu
American Bird Conservancy David Pashley
Vice President for Conservation Partnerships
dpashley@abcbirds.org
David Roos
Vice President of Finance and CFO
droos@abcbirds.org
Ecological Society of America Clifford S. Duke
Director of Science Programs
csduke@esa.org
Elizabeth Biggs
Chief Financial Officer and Interim Executive Director
liz@esa.org
National Aquarium Laura Bankey
Director of Conservation
lbankey@aqua.org

Charmaine Dahlenburg
Manager, Chesapeake Bay Programs
cdahlenburg@aqua.org
Park Rx America John Henderson
Executive Director
john@parkrxamerica.org
Stroud Water Research Center Scott Ensign
Assistant Director, Administration and Finance Department
ensign@stroudcenter.org
Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation J. Christopher Ludwig
Chief Biologist, VA DCR-DNH
chris.ludwig@dcr.virginia.gov
Western Pennsylvania Conservancy Ephraim Zimmerman
Ecologist and Ecological Services Coordinator
Pennsylvania Natural Heritage Program
ezimmerman@paconserve.org
Cynthia Carrow
Vice President, Government and Community Relations
ccarrow@paconserve.org