CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Southern Appalachian Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (SA-CESU) is a group of federal and private sector partners that have joined together with a mutual mission to promote and provide effective and efficient research, technical assistance and education to federal land management, environmental and research agencies in the Southern Appalachian Mountain Region. The SA-CESU was one of the original four CESU established in 1999, at the start up of the national CESU network.

HOST Universith of Tennessee, Knoxville

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

ESTABLISHED 1999
WEBSITE http://cesu.utk.edu/
DIRECTOR Donald G. (Don) Hodges, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
Forestry, Wildlife, and Fisheries
274 Ellington Plant Sciences
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Knoxville, TN 37996
PHONE: (865) 974-2706
EMAIL: dhodges2@tennessee.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS
AGREEMENTS AMENDMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (1999)
Amendment 1 adding Lincoln Memorial University, Middle Tennessee State University, Tennessee Technological University, Western Kentucky University, and University of Kentucky
Amendment 2 adding Bureau of Land Management
Amendment 3 adding U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2004)
Amendment 1 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment
Amendment 3 adding Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Amendment 4 adding the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2009)
Amendment 1 adding Discover Life in America
Amendment 2 adding the University of North Carolina, Asheville
Amendment 3 adding East Tennessee State University and Tennessee Aquarium Conservation Institute
Amendment 4 adding Austin Peay State University, Jacksonville State University, Marshall University, The University of the South

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2014)
Amendment 1 adding Bureau of Indian Affairs, Ohio University, and University of Tennessee at Martin

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2019)
Amendment 1 adding Washington and Lee University and West Virginia University

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Jennifer Seiter-Moser
Acting Technical Director
Civil Engineering Programs
Engineer Research and Development Center
jennifer.m.seiter-moser@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Tribal Resilience Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Anthony D. Bobo, Jr.
Deputy State Director, Natural Resources
BLM Eastern States Office
a1bobo@blm.gov
Amy Marshall
Grants Management Officer (Acting)
amarshall@blm.gov
Department of Defense Alan Anderson
Alan.B.Anderson@usace.army.mil

Liz Galli-Noble
Program Manager, DoD Legacy Resource Management Program
elizabeth.j.galli-noble.civ@mail.mil
Lori Kruse-Johnson
SWD CESU Program Manager
Lori.M.Kruse-Johnson@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Laura Brandt
Regional Scientist
laura_brandt@fws.gov
Anna-Marie York
Grants Management Specialist
Science Applications
anna-marie_york@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Monica Schwalbach
Assistant Station Director
Southern Research Station
monica.schwalbach@usda.gov
Kim Parks
Grants and Agreements Specialist
Southern Research Station
kim.parks2@usda.gov
National Park Service Ray Albright
CESU Research Coordinator
Ray_Albright@nps.gov
Brian Straka
Financial Assistance Agreements Officer
brian_straka@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Ronald Harris
Director
Outreach and Partnerships Division
Ronald.Harris@usda.gov
Aileen Anderson
Grants Management Specialist
aileen.anderson@usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Joseph Clark
Southern Appalachian Field Branch
jclark1@utk.edu

William J. Wolfe
Hydrologist, Southeast Region
wjwolfe@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Appalachian State University Steven Seagle
Professor and Chair
Department of Biology
seaglesw@appstate.edu
Charna Howson
Director
Office of Sponsored Programs
grants@appstate.edu
Austin Peay State University Steven Hamilton
Director
Center of Excellence for Field Biology
hamiltonsw@apsu.edu
Raj Dakshinamurthy
Interim Director and AOR
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
dakshinamurthyr@apsu.edu
East Tennessee State University Arpita Nandi
Chair
Department of Geosciences
nandi@etsu.edu
William Duncan
Vice Provost for Research and Sponsored Programs
duncanw@etsu.edu
Florida A&M University Michael Abazinge
Professor
Environmental Sciences Institute
michael.abazinge@famu.edu
Glory Brown
Director
Office of Sponsored Programs
glory.brown@famu.edu
Jacksonville State University Lori Hensley
Department Head
Department of Biology
lhensley@jsu.edu
Allison Newton
Coordinator of Proposal Development
Office of Sponsored Programs
anewton@jsu.edu
Lincoln Memorial University Adam Rollins
Dean
School of Mathematics and Sciences
adam.rollins@lmunet.edu
Carolyn Gulley
Executive Director
Office of Grants and Sponsored Programs
carolyn.gulley@lmunet.edu
Marshall University Jayme Waldron
Associate Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
waldron3@marshall.edu
Joe Ciccarello
Director
Grant/Contract Development
ciccarello@marshall.edu
Middle Tennessee State University David Butler
Vice Provost for Research
Dean of Graduate Studies
David.Butler@mtsu.edu
Jeffry Porter
Director
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
Jeffry.Porter@mtsu.edu
Ohio University Elissa Welch
Project Manager
Energy and Environmental Projects
welche@ohio.edu
Bethany Spurrier
Sponsored Programs Manager
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
spurrier@ohio.edu
Tennessee State University Michael Busby
Interim Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs for Research and
Sponsored Programs
research@tnstate.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Tennessee Tech University Dan Combs
Department of Biology
dlcombs@tntech.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
The University of the South Sarah C. Sherwood
Boeckman Director of the Sewanee Environmental Institute
Co-Chair and Associate Professor, Environmental Studies
sherwood@sewanee.edu

Nancy J. Berner
Vice Provost for Planning and Administration
William Henderson Professor of Biology
nberner@sewanee.edu
Pollyanne S. Frantz
Sponsored Research Officer
psfrantz@sewanee.edu
University of Kentucky Terrell T. "Red" Baker
Chair and Professor, Department of Forestry
College of Agriculture
terrellbaker@uky.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of North Carolina Asheville Jonathan Horton
Assistant Professor, Biology Department
jhorton@unca.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Tennessee, Knoxville Don Hodges
Professor and Department Head
Department of Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries
dhodges2@tennessee.edu
Cynthia Nichols
Chief Budget Officer and Budget Director
UT AgResearch
cnichols@utk.edu
University of Tennessee at Martin Paula Gale
Professor of Soil Science
Department of Agriculture, Geosciences, and Natural Resources
pgale@utm.edu
Charley Deal
Executive Director
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
cdeal@utm.edu
Virginia Tech Jay Sullivan
Professor and Department Head
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation
College of Natural Resources and Environment
jsulliv@vt.edu
Trudy Riley
Associate Vice President for Research and Innovation
Office of Sponsored Programs
ospdirector@vt.edu
ospcontracts@vt.edu
Washington and Lee University Bill Hamilton
Chair and Professor
Biology Department
hamiltone@wlu.edu
PJ Townsend
Director of Corporate and Foundation Relations
ptownsend@wlu.edu
West Virginia University Paul Kinder
Director
Natural Resource Analysis Center
Paul.Kinder@mail.wvu.edu
Katie Stores
Assistant Vice President for Research Administration
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
katie.stores@mail.wvu.edu
Western Carolina University Robert Young
Professor
Department of Geosciences and Natural Resources
ryoung@email.wcu.edu
Alison Krauss
Acting Director
Office of Research Administration
alkrauss@wcu.edu
Western Kentucky University Cheryl Davis
Interim Associate Vice Provost for Research and Creative Activities
cheryl.davis@wku.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
OTHER PARTNERS
Discover Life in America Todd P. Witcher
Executive Director
Todd@dlia.org
University of Tennessee Institute for a Secure and Sustainable Environment Chris Cox
Director
ccox9@utk.edu
Southern Appalachian Man and the Bioshpere Alexander F. Comfort
Cradle of Forestry Interpretive Association
alexcfaia@citcom.net
Tennessee Aquarium Conservation Institute Anna L. George
Director
alg@tnaqua.org

Jackson C. Andrews
Director of Operations and Husbandry
jca@tnaqua.org
Gordon Stalans
Director of Finance
gas@tnaqua.org