CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Southern Appalachian Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (SA-CESU) is a group of federal and private sector partners that have joined together with a mutual mission to promote and provide effective and efficient research, technical assistance and education to federal land management, environmental and research agencies in the Southern Appalachian Mountain Region. The SA-CESU was one of the original four CESU established in 1999, at the start up of the national CESU network.

HOST Universith of Tennessee, Knoxville

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

ESTABLISHED 1999
WEBSITE http://cesu.utk.edu/
DIRECTOR Keith Belli
Department of Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries
274 Ellington Hall, PS Bldg
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Knoxville, TN, 37996
PHONE: (865) 974-7989
EMAIL: kbelli@utk.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS
AGREEMENTS AMENDMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (1999)
Amendment 1 adding Lincoln Memorial University, Middle Tennessee State University, Tennessee Technological University, Western Kentucky University, and University of Kentucky
Amendment 2 adding Bureau of Land Management
Amendment 3 adding U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2004)
Amendment 1 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment
Amendment 3 adding Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Amendment 4 adding the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2009)
Amendment 1 adding Discover Life in America
Amendment 2 adding the University of North Carolina, Asheville
Amendment 3 adding East Tennessee State University and Tennessee Aquarium Conservation Institute
Amendment 4 adding Austin Peay State University, Jacksonville State University, Marshall University, The University of the South

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2014)
Amendment 1 adding Bureau of Indian Affairs, Ohio University, and University of Tennessee at Martin

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Climate Science Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Sean MacDougall
Biological Sciences Program Lead
Eastern States Office
smacdoug@blm.gov
Brandon Riley
Grants Management Officer
briley@blm.gov
Department of Defense Alan Anderson
Alan.B.Anderson@usace.army.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
kathy.s.mimtchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
Fish and Wildlife Service Laura Brandt
Regional Scientist
laura_brandt@fws.gov
Steve Sponaugle
Chief
Division of Contracting and Grant Services (CGS)
Southeast Region
steve_sponaugle@fws.gov
Forest Service Monica J. Schwalbach
Assistant Director, Planning & Applications
Southern Research Station
mschwalbach@fs.fed.us

Joyce Gorgas
Lead Grants and Agreements Specialist
jgorgas@fs.fed.us
National Park Service Ray Albright
CESU Coordinator
Ray_Albright@nps.gov
 
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
United States Geological Survey Joseph Clark
Southern Appalachian Field Branch
jclark1@utk.edu

William J. Wolfe
Hydrologist, US Southeast Region
wjwolfe@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov

UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Appalachian State University Steven Seagle
seaglesw@appstate.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Austin Peay State University Steven W. Hamilton
Director, Center of Excellence for Field Biology
hamiltonsw@apsu.edu
Andrew Shepard-Smith
Director of Grants and Sponsored Research
shepardsmitha@apsu.edu
East Tennessee State University Jim L. Mead (retiring May 2016)
Chair, Department of Geosciences
Mead@etsu.edu

Joe Bidwell 
Professor and Chair of Biological Sciences
bidwell@mail.etsu.edu
William R. Duncan
Vice Provost for Research and Sponsored Programs
duncanw@etsu.edu
Florida A&M University Kinfe K. Redda
Vice President for Research
Environmental Sciences Institute
Knife.redda@famu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Jacksonville State University Mark Meade
Department of Biology
mmeade@jsu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Lincoln Memorial University Adam W. Rollins
Chair, Department of Biology
Director, Cumberland Mountain Research Center
Associate Professor of Biology
Adam.Rollins@LMUnet.edu
Carolyn Gulley
Executive Director
Office of Grants and Sponsored Programs
carolyn.gulley@lmunet.edu
Marshall University Jayme Waldron
Department of Biological Sciences
waldron3@marshall.edu
Joe Ciccarello
Director, Grant/Contract Development
ciccarello@marshall.edu
Middle Tennessee State University Michael Allen
Vice Provost for Research
Dean, College of Graduate Studies
michael.allen@mtsu.edu
Myra Norman
Director, Office of Research Services
mnorman@mtsu.edu
Ohio University Robert L. Wiley
Senior Ecologist, Project Manager
wileyr1@ohio.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Tennessee State University Michael Busby
Interim Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs for Research and
Sponsored Programs
research@tnstate.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Tennessee Tech University Dan Combs
Department of Biology
dlcombs@tntech.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
The University of the South Leigh Lentile
Sponsored Research Officer
lblentil@sewanee.edu
Leigh Lentile
Sponsored Research Officer
lblentil@sewanee.edu
University of Kentucky Terrell T. "Red" Baker
Chair & Professor
Department of Forestry/College of Agriculture
terrellbaker@uky.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of North Carolina, Asheville Jonathan Horton
Assistant Professor
Biology Department
jhorton@unca.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Tennessee, Knoxville Keith Belli
Department of Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries
kbelli@utk.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Tennessee at Martin Paula M. Gale
Professor of Soil Science and Assistant Director of Honors Programs
UTAA Alumni Distinguished Service Professor
Department of Agriculture, Geosciences, and Natural Resources
pgale@utm.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Virginia Tech Jay Sullivan
Professor and Department Head Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation College of Natural Resources and Environment
jsulliv@vt.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Western Carolina University Robert Young
ryoung@wcu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Western Kentucky University Cheryl Davis
Interim Associate Vice Provost for Research and Creative Activities
cheryl.davis@wku.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
OTHER PARTNERS
Discover Life in America Todd P. Witcher
Executive Director
Todd@dlia.org


University of Tennessee Institute for a Secure and Sustainable Environment Chris Cox
Director
ccox9@utk.edu
 
Southern Appalachian Man and the Bioshpere Alexander F. Comfort
Cradle of Forestry Interpretive Association
alexcfaia@citcom.net
 
Tennessee Aquarium Conservation Institute Anna L. George
Director
alg@tnaqua.org

Jackson C. Andrews

Director of Operations and Husbandry
jca@tnaqua.org
Gordon Stalans
Director of Finance
gas@tnaqua.org