CESU Masthead
head image header

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Californian CESU was established at the University of California (Berkeley) in 2003. Originally consisting of four federal agency and eight non-federal partners, the CESU has grown to include a total of ten federal partners and 22 non-federal partners.

The mission of the Californian CESU is to provide research, technical assistance and education across the biological, physical, social, and cultural sciences to address natural and cultural resource management issues at multiple scales and in an ecosystem context in California and nationally as appropriate.

HOST Universith of California (Berkeley)University of California (Berkeley)
ESTABLISHED 2003
WEBSITE http://ucanr.org/sites/CCESU/
CO-DIRECTORS Steve Lindow
Executive Associate Dean
Research and Education
College of Natural Resources
University of California, Berkeley
101 Giannini Hall MC#3100
Berkeley, CA 94704-3100
PHONE: (510) 642-7171
EMAIL: icelab@berkeley.edu

E. Maria Kies
College of Natural Resources, Dean's Office
University of California, Berkeley
101 Giannini Hall
PHONE: (510) 643-1722
EMAIL: emkies@berkeley.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2003)
Amendment 1 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 3 adding the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment, California Polytechnic State University, California State University, Chico, and Humboldt State University
Amendment 4 adding California State University, Northridge
Amendment 5 adding California State University, Stanislaus

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2008)
Amendment 1 adding California Department of Fish and Game
Amendment 2 adding National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Amendment 3 adding California State University, Channel Islands and the Institute for Bird Populations
Amendment 4 adding the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation and Enforcement, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers–Civil Works, San Diego State University, and Institute for Wildlife Studies
Amendment 5 adding Santa Barbara Botanic Garden

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2013)
Amendment 1 adding California State University Sacramento (Sacramento State)
Amendment 2 adding San Bernardino County Museum and San Diego Natural History Museum
Amendment 3 adding Carnegie Mellon University
Amendment 4 CSU Fullerton Auxiliary Services Corporation (on behalf of California State University, Fullerton) and Cal Poly Pomona Foundation, Inc. (on behalf of California State Polytechnic University, Pomona)
Amendment 5 adding Bureau of Indian Affairs, California Association for Resource Conservation Districts, and Point Blue Conservation Science
Amendment 6 adding Sonoma State University and USC School of Architecture

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil

Davita Baloue
Grants Officer
Davita.S.Baloue@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Climate Science Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management James Weigand
Ecologist
California State Office
jweigand@blm.gov
Leona Parker
Grants and Agreements Specialist
California State Office
lparker@blm.gov
Bureau of Ocean Energey Management Cathie Dunkel
Environmental Studies Coordinator
Pacific OCS Region
catherine.dunkel@boem.gov
Kate Segarra
Oceanographer
Division of Environmental Sciences
katherine.segarra@boem.gov
Bureau of Reclamation Jobaid Kabir
Chief, Decision Analysis Branch
jkabir@usbr.gov
Brenda Davis
Deputy Manager, Acquisition Services
Mid-Pacific Region
bdavis@usbr.gov
Department of Defense Dawn M. Lawson
Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center Pacific
Sr. Natural Resources Specialist
dawn.lawson@navy.mil


Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
kathy.s.mimtchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Kim Webb
Project Leader, Stockton Fish and Wildlife Office
kim_webb@fws.gov

Cesar Cadena Blanco
Chief, CVPIA Project Implementation Division
cesar_blanco@fws.gov
Jean Lee
Grants and Agreements Specialist
Jean_Lee@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Sarah Sawyer
Assistant Regional Ecologist
scsawyer@fs.fed.us

Jane Hayes
Assistant Director
Pacific Southwest Research Station
jlhayes@fs.fed.us
Sarah Sawyer
Assistant Regional Ecologist
scsawyer@fs.fed.us

Brian Hanlon
Grants and Agreement Specialist
Pacific Southwest Research Station
bhanlon@fs.fed.us
National Aeronautics and Space Administration Hugo Hoffman
NEPA Compliance and Natural Resources
Environmental Management Division
Ames Research Center
hugo.a.hoffman@nasa.gov
Beatrice Morales
bmorales@mail.arc.nasa.gov
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Kristen Koch
Deputy Director
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
kristen.koch@noaa.gov
Meghan Donahue
Director, Operations, Management and Information
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
meghan.donahue@noaa.gov
National Park Service Sarah Allen
CESU Coordinator
sarah_allen@nps.gov
Lilette Baltodano
Financial Agreements Officer Pacific West Regional Office
lilette_baltodano@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist
Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Mara Tongue
Chief, Pacific Geographic Science Team
mtongue@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
California Polytechnic State University Benjamin Ruttenberg
Assistant Professor
Biological Sciences Department
bruttenb@calpoly.edu
Melissa Mullen
Director, Sponsored Programs
mrmullen@calpoly.edu
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona Jayson Smith
Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences
jaysonsmith@csupomona.edu
Greg W. Howell
Director of Research and Sponsored Programs
gwhowell@cpp.edu
California State University, Channel Islands Tina Knight
Assistant Director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
tina.knight@csuci.edu
Donald Rodriguez
Associate Professor and Chair
Environmental Science and Resource Management Program
Donald.Rodriguez@csuci.edu
California State University, Chico Kevin M. Kelley
Associate Vice President, Research and Sponsored Programs
kmkelley@csuchico.edu
John Miner
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
jminer@csuchico.edu
California State University, Fresno Steve Blumenshire
Associate Professor, Department of Biology
sblumens@csufresno.edu
Nancy Myers Sims
Grants and Contracts Development Specialist
nmyers@csufresno.edu
California State University, Fullerton Jennifer Burnaford
Department of Biological Science
College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
jburnaford@fullerton.edu
Denise Bell
Office of Sponsored Programs
CSU Fullerton Auxiliary Services Corporation
dbell@fullerton.edu
California State University, Los Angeles Andres Aguilar
Department of Biological Sciences
aaguil67@calstatela.edu
Alma Sahagun
Director of Contracts and Grants
asahag@cslanet.calstatela.edu
California State University, Monterey Bay Marsha Moroh
Dean, College of Science, Media Arts and Technology
mmoroh@csumb.edu
Cindy Lopez
Director, Sponsored Programs Office
clopez@csumb.edu
California State University, Northridge Paul Wilson
Professor, Department of Biology
paul.wilson@csun.edu
Georg Jahn
Director, Sponsored Programs
gjahn@csun.edu
California State University, Sacramento (Sacramento State) David P. Earwicker
Associate Vice President
Office of Research Affairs
david.earwicker@csus.edu
Monica Kauppinen
Director, Sponsored Programs Administration
mkauppinen@csus.edu
California State University, Stanislaus Patrick A. Kelly
Professor of Zoology and Coordinator, Endangered Species Recovery Program
pkelly@esrp.csustan.edu
Heidi Britt
Lead Grant and Contract Specialist
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
HBritt@csustan.edu
Carnegie Mellon University Bob Iannucci
Associate Dean, Carnegie Mellon University - Engineering
Director, Carnegie Mellon University – Silicon Valley campus
bob@sv.cmu.edu
Julia Sobol
Contracts Officer
sobolj@andrew.cmu.edu
Humboldt State University James H. Howard
Dean, College of Natural Resources
cnrsdean@humboldt.edu
Rhea L. Williamson, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Research and Sponsored Programs
Rhea.Williamson@humboldt.edu
Occidental College Daniel J. Pondella, II
Associate Professor, Biology Department
Director, Vantuna Research Group
pondella@oxy.edu
Kerry Thompson
Interim Dean of the College and Vice President for Academic Affairs
kthompson@oxy.edu
San Diego State University Rebecca Lewsion
Associate Professor, Biology Department
rlewison@mail.sdsu.edu
Barry Janov
Director, Sponsored Research Project Management
bjanov@foundation.sdsu.edu
San Francisco State University Gretchen LeBuhn
Assistant Professor, Department of Biology
lebuhn@sfsu.edu
Alison Sanders
Director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
asanders@sfsu.edu
University of California, Berkeley Steve Beissinger
A. Starker Leopold Chair in Wildlife Biology and Professor of Conservation Biology
beis@berkeley.edu
Pam Miller
Interim Executive Director, Sponsored Projects Office
plfmiller@berkeley.edu
University of California, Davis James F. Quinn
Professor, Department of Environmental Science and Policy
jfquinn@ucdavis.edu
Ahmad Hakim-Elahi
Executive Director, Sponsored Programs
ahakimelahi@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Irvine Travis Huxman
Director, Center for Environmental Biology
thuxman@uci.edu
Nancy Lewis
Executive Director, Sponsored Projects
nrlewis@uci.edu
University of California, Los Angeles Phillip Q. Spinks
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
pqspinks@ucla.edu

Gary Bucciarelli
Director of Research, UCLA Stunt Ranch Santa Monica Mountains Reserve
garyb@ucla.edu
Kathy Kawamura
Assistant Director, Grants and Cooperative Agreements
Office of Contract and Grant Administration
kathy.kawamura@research.ucla.edu
University of California, Merced Qinghua Guo
School of Engineering & Sierra Nevada Research Institute
qguo@ucmerced.edu
Thea Vicari
Contract and Grant Officer
tvicari@ucmerced.edu
University of California, Riverside Emma L. Aronson
Assistant Professor, Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology
emma.aronson@ucr.edu
Teeny Ellis
Senior Contract and Grant Officer
teeny.ellis@ucr.edu
University of California, San Diego Johnathan Shurin
Professor, Division of Biological Sciences
jshurin@ucsd.edu
Linda P. Collins
Assistant Vice Chancellor and
Director, Office of Contract and Grant Administration
lcollins@ucsd.edu
University of California, Santa Barbara Susan Warbrick
Associate Director, Marine Science Institute, Natural Reserve System
swarbric@lifesci.ucsb.edu
Cora Diaz
Director, Sponsored Projects
diaz@research.ucsb.edu
University of California, Santa Cruz Dan Costa
Center for Ocean Health
costa@biology.ucsc.edu
Larry Castro
Director, Office of Sponsored Projects
lcastro@ucsc.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
California Association for Resource Conservation Districts Karen Buhr
Executive Director
karen-buhr@carcd.org
 
California Department of Fish and Wildlife Julie Yamamoto
Acting Deputy Administrator
Office of Spill Prevention and Response
jyamamot@ospr.dfg.ca.gov
 
California Invasive Plant Council Doug Johnson
Executive Director
dwjohnson@cal‐ipc.org
 
Institute for Bird Populations Rodney Siegel
Executive Director
rsiegel@birdpop.org
 
Institute for Wildlife Studies David K. Garcelon
President
garcelon@iws.org
 
Point Blue Conservation Science Dan Robinette
Coastal Marine Program Leader
Point Blue Vandenberg Field Station
drobinette@pointblue.org
 
Santa Barbara Botanic Garden Steve Windhager
Executive Director
swindhager@sbbg.org
 
San Bernardino County Museum Robert McKernan
Museums Director
rmckernan@sbcm.sbcounty.gov

Kathleen Springer
Senior Curator, Geological Sciences
kspringer@sbcm.sbcounty.gov
 
San Diego Zoo Ronald R. Swaisgood
Brown Chair/Director of Applied Animal Ecology
Institute for Conservation Research
San Diego Zoo Global
rswaisgood@sandiegozoo.org
 
San Diego Natural History Museum Kevin Clark
Ecologist
kclark@sdnhm.org