CESU Masthead
head image header

Back to Current CESU Units page

The Californian CESU was established at the University of California (Berkeley) in 2003. Originally consisting of four federal agency and eight non-federal partners, the CESU has grown to include a total of ten federal partners and 22 non-federal partners.

The mission of the Californian CESU is to provide research, technical assistance and education across the biological, physical, social, and cultural sciences to address natural and cultural resource management issues at multiple scales and in an ecosystem context in California and nationally as appropriate.

HOST Universith of California (Berkeley)University of California (Berkeley)
ESTABLISHED 2003
WEBSITE http://ucanr.org/sites/CCESU/
CO-DIRECTORS Steve Lindow
Executive Associate Dean,
Research and Education
College of Natural Resources
University of California, Berkeley
101 Giannini Hall MC#3100
Berkeley, CA 94704-3100
PHONE: (510) 642-7171
EMAIL: icelab@berkeley.edu

Ruxin Liu
Director of Research and Extension
College of Natural Resources - Dean's Office
University of California, Berkeley
101 Giannini Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3100
PHONE: (510) 643-9579
EMAIL: ruxinl@berkeley.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2003)
Amendment 1
adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 3 adding the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment, California Polytechnic State University, California State University, Chico, and Humboldt State University
Amendment 4 adding California State University, Northridge
Amendment 5, adding California State University, Stanislaus

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2008)
Amendment 1 adding California Department of Fish and Game
Amendment 2 adding National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Amendment 3 adding California State University, Channel Islands and the Institute for Bird Populations
Amendment 4 adding the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation and Enforcement, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers – Civil Works, San Diego State University, and Institute for Wildlife Studies
Amendment 5 adding Santa Barbara Botanic Garden

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2013)
Amendment 1 adding California State University Sacramento (Sacramento State)
Amendment 2 adding San Bernardino County Museum and San Diego Natural History Museum

UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE COOPERATIVE AGREEMENTS REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Deannda Sontag
Grants Officer
Deannda.S.Sontag@usace.army.mil

Deberay Carmichael
Grants Specialist
Deberay.R.Carmichael@usace.army.mil

Davita Baloue
Grants Officer
Davita.S.Baloue@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Land Management James Weigand
Ecologist
California State Office
jweigand@blm.gov
Leona Parker
Grants and Agreements Specialist
California State Office
lparker@blm.gov
Bureau of Ocean Energey Management Mary Elaine Helix
DOI Office of the Secretary
Environmental Policy and Compliance
MaryElaine.Helix@boem.gov
Jennifer Ewald
Physical Oceanographer BOEM Environmental Division - Environmental Sciences Branch
Jennifer.Ewald@boem.gov
Bureau of Reclamation Jobaid Kabir
Chief, Decision Analysis Branch
jkabir@usbr.gov
Brenda Davis
Deputy Manager, Acquisition Services
Mid-Pacific Region
bdavis@usbr.gov
Department of Defense Dawn M. Lawson
Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center Pacific
Sr. Natural Resources Specialist
dawn.lawson@navy.mil
Jack Mobley
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
jack.e.mobley@usace.army.mil

Sean Rutherford
Natural and Cultural Resources Support Specialist
sean.rutherford.ctr@osd.mil
Fish and Wildlife Service Kim Webb
Project Leader Stockton Fish and Wildlife Office
kim_webb@fws.gov

Cesar Cadena Blanco
Chief, CVPIA Project Implementation Division
cesar_blanco@fws.gov
Jean Lee 
Grants and Agreements Specialist
Jean_Lee@fws.gov
Forest Service Sarah Sawyer
Assistant Regional Ecologist
scsawyer@fs.fed.us

Jane Hayes
Assistant Director
Pacific Southwest Research Station
jlhayes@fs.fed.us
Sarah Sawyer
Assistant Regional Ecologist
scsawyer@fs.fed.us

Brian Hanlon
Grants and Agreement Specialist
Pacific Southwest Research Station
bhanlon@fs.fed.us
National Aeronautics and Space Administration Kenneth M. Kumor
Natural Resources Program Manager
Environmental Management Office
NASA Headquarters (MS 5B42)
Kenneth.m.kumor@nasa.gov

Hugo Hoffman

NEPA Compliance & Natural Resources Environmental Management Division
Ames Research Center
hugo.a.hoffman@nasa.gov
Beatrice Morales
bmorales@mail.arc.nasa.gov,
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Francisco Werner
Science and Research Director
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
cisco.werner@noaa.gov
Meghan Donahue
Director, Operations, Management and Information
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
meghan.donahue@noaa.gov
National Park Service Angie Evenden, Ph.D.
CESU Coordinator
angela_evenden@nps.gov
Jamie Sherrill
MABO Lead, Acquisition Management
jamie_sherrill@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
 
United States Geological Survey Mara Tongue
Chief, Pacific Geographic Science Team
mtongue@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
California Polytechnic State University Douglas D. Piirto
Department Head
Natural Resources Management Department
dpiirto@calpoly.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
California State University, Channel Islands Tina Knight
Assistant Director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
tina.knight@csuci.edu
Donald Rodriguez
Associate Professor and Chair
Environmental Science and Resource Management Program
Donald.Rodriguez@csuci.edu
California State University, Chico E.K. Park
Dean, Graduate School
ekpark@csuchico.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
California State University, Fresno Steve Blumenshire
Associate Professor, Department of Biology
sblumens@csufresno.edu
Nancy Myers Sims
Grants and Contracts Development Specialist
nmyers@csufresno.edu
California State University, Los Angeles Andres Aguilar
Department of Biological Sciences
aaguil67@calstatela.edu
Alma Sahagun
Director of Contracts and Grants
asahag@cslanet.calstatela.edu
California State University, Monterey Bay Marsha Moroh
Dean, College of Science, Media Arts & Technology
mmoroh@csumb.edu
Cindy Lopez
Director, Sponsored Programs Office
clopez@csumb.edu
California State University, Northridge Paul Wilson
Professor
paul.wilson@csun.edu
Scott Pérez
Director, Research and Sponsored Programs
scott.perez@csun.edu
California State University, Sacramento (Sacramento State) Susan Crawford
Professor of Physical Chemistry
scrawford@csus.edu
David P. Earwicker
Assistant Vice President
Research Administration and Contract Administration
david.earwicker@csus.edu
California State University, Stanislaus Patrick A. Kelly
Professor of Zoology and Coordinator, Endangered Species Recovery Program
pkelly@esrp.csustan.edu
Heidi Britt
Lead Grant & Contract Specialist 
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs HBritt@csustan.edu
Occidental College Daniel J. Pondella, II
Associate Professor, Biology Department
Director, Vantuna Research Group
pondella@oxy.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Humboldt State University James H. Howard
Dean, College of Natural Resources
cnrsdean@humboldt.edu

Rhea L. Williamson, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Research and Sponsored Programs
Humboldt State University
1 Harpst Street
Arcata, CA 95521-8299
Phone: (707) 826-4189
Fax: (707) 826-4783
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
San Diego State University Rebecca Lewsion
Associate Professor, Biology Department
rlewison@mail.sdsu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
San Francisco State University Gretchen LeBuhn
Assistant Professor, Department of Biology
lebuhn@sfsu.edu
Alison Sanders
Director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
asanders@sfsu.edu
University of California, Office of the President, Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources Deborah L. Elliott-Fisk
Department of Wildlife, Fish and Conservation Biology
dlelliottfisk@ucdavis.edu
Lynn E. Deetz
Director, Office of Contracts and Grants
ledeetz@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Berkeley Steve Beissinger
A. Starker Leopold Chair in Wildlife Biology and Professor of Conservation Biology
beis@berkeley.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of California, Davis James F. Quinn
Professor, Department of Environmental Science and Policy
jfquinn@ucdavis.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of California, Irvine Lynn Carpenter
flcarpen@uci.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of California, Los Angeles Phillip Q. Spinks
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
pqspinks@ucla.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of California, Merced Qinghua Guo
qguo@ucmerced.edu
Thea Vicari
Contract and Grant Officer
tvicari@ucmerced.edu
University of California, Riverside Edith B. Allen
Department of Botany and Plant Sciences and Center for Conservation Biology
edith.allen@ucr.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of California, San Diego Paul Dayton
pdayton@ucsd.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of California, Santa Barbara Susan Warbrick
Associate Director, Marine Science Institute, Natural Reserve System
swarbric@lifesci.ucsb.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of California, Santa Cruz Dan Costa
Center for Ocean Health
costa@biology.ucsc.edu
Larry Castro
Director, Office of Sponsored Projects
lcastro@ucsc.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
California Department of Fish and Wildlife Julie Yamamoto
Acting Deputy Administrator
Office of Spill Prevention and Response
jyamamot@ospr.dfg.ca.gov
 
California Invasive Plant Council Doug Johnson
Executive Director
dwjohnson@cal‐ipc.org
 
Institute for Bird Populations Rodney Siegel
Executive Director
rsiegel@birdpop.org
 
Institute for Wildlife Studies David K. Garcelon
President
garcelon@iws.org
 
Santa Barbara Botanic Garden Steve Windhager
Executive Director
swindhager@sbbg.org
 
San Bernardino County Museum Robert McKernan
Museums Director
rmckernan@sbcm.sbcounty.gov

Kathleen Springer
Senior Curator, Geological Sciences
kspringer@sbcm.sbcounty.gov
 
San Diego Zoo Ronald R. Swaisgood
Brown Chair/Director of Applied Animal Ecology
Institute for Conservation Research
San Diego Zoo Global
rswaisgood@sandiegozoo.org
 
San Diego Natural History Museum Kevin Clark
Ecologist
kclark@sdnhm.org