CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The North Atlantic Coast Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (NAC - CESU) was established in June 1999 by cooperative agreement between agencies of the Department of the Interior (National Park Service and USGS Biological Resources Division) and the University of Rhode Island, with its partner institution, University of Maryland Eastern Shore.

The North Atlantic Coast CESU is part of a national network of biogeographic programs being established to provide research, technical assistance and education to federal land management, environmental and research agencies. The CESUs will generate collaborations among federal managers and policy-makers, federal researchers and the academic community. Each partner contributes a different perspective and wealth of technical knowledge allowing for the development of new, innovative and creative solutions to the myriad of environmental and social issues that confront our nation's ecosystems. Host universities are selected by a highly competitive process insuring that each CESU is founded on scientific excellence.

The University of Rhode Island, a national leader in the study of coastal and marine ecosystems, was selected as the host for the North Atlantic Coast CESU. The University of Maryland Eastern Shore, a Historically Black College, offers a strong complement of marine and coastal scientists. Based on the success of initial CESU efforts, four additional institutions have joined the North Atlantic Coast CESU as partners since it's formation: the University of Massachusetts - Amherst, Rutgers University, Stony Brook University, and City University of New York. As a result, excellent research and cooperative education opportunities have been made available to numerous students from diverse backgrounds, for the mutual professional benefit of students and the federal workforce.

HOST

Universith of Rhode Island

University of Rhode Island

ESTABLISHED 1999
WEBSITE http://www.naccesu.org/
DIRECTOR Judith Swift
124 Coastal Institute
URI Bay Campus
Narragansett, RI 02882
PHONE: 401-874-6513
FAX: 401-874-6869
EMAIL: jswift@uri.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative Agreement (1999)
Amendment 1 adding Rutgers University
Amendment 2 adding the University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Amendment 3 adding Maryland Coastal Bays Program and The Research Foundation of SUNY for Stony Brook University
Amendment 4 adding
Environmental Protection Agency - Office of Research and Development

Cooperative Agreement (2004)
Amendment 1 adding Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding the University of Maine
Amendment 3 adding the City University of New York
Amendment 4 adding
College of the Atlantic
Amendment 5 adding U.S. Army Corps of Engineers – Civil Works
Amendment 6 adding Research Foundation of State University of New York for SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
Amendment 7 adding
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and Columbia University in the City of New York

Cooperative Agreement (2009)
Amendment 1 adding National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Bates College, and University of Massachusetts, Boston
Amendment 2 adding Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation and Enforcement, Provincetown Center for Coastal Studies, and Cornell University
Amendment 3 adding Northeastern University and Biodiversity Research Institute
Amendment 4 adding Marine Biological Laboratory and University of New England
Amendment 5 adding Schoodic Education and Research Center Institute
Amendment 6 adding Department of Defense, Harvard University, and Manhattan College
Amendment 7, adding the Narragansett Indian Tribal Historic Preservation Office (NITHPO) on behalf of the Narragansett Indian Tribe
Amendment 8, adding University of Connecticut

Cooperative Agreement (2014)

UNIT PARTNERS
TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE COOPERATIVE AGREEMENTS REPRESENTATIVE
TRIBAL PARTNER
Narragansett Indian Tribal Historic Preservation Office (NITHPO) on behalf of the Narragansett Indian Tribe Doug Harris
Deputy Tribal Historic Preservation Officer/Preservationist for Ceremonial Landscapes
dhnithpo@gmail.com
 
FEDERAL PARTNERS
Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Deannda Sontag
Grants Officer
Deannda.S.Sontag@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Mary C. Boatman
Environmental Studies Chief
Office of Renewable Energy Programs
Environment Review Branch for Renewable Energy
mary.boatman@boem.gov
Jennifer Ewald
Physical Oceanographer
Division of Environmental Sciences
Environmental Studies Program
Jennifer.Ewald@boem.gov
Department of Defense L. Peter Boice
Director, Office of the Deputy Under Secretary of Defense (Installations and Environment)
ODUSD (CO)
l.p.boice.civ@mail.mil
Jack Mobley
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
jack.e.mobley@usace.army.mil

Sean Rutherford
Natural and Cultural Resources Support Specialist
sean.rutherford.ctr@osd.mil
Fish and Wildlife Service Susan C. Adamowicz
Biologist, Region 5
susan_adamowicz@fws.gov

Ward Feurt

Refuge Manager
Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge
ward_feurt@fws.gov
Gary Dupuis
Grants and Agreements Specialist
gary_dupuis@fws.gov
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Bill Karp
Science and Research Director
Northeast Fisheries Science Center 
Bill.Karp@noaa.gov

Russell Brown

Deputy Science and Research Director
Northern Fisheries Science Center
russell.brown@noaa.gov
Nicole Bartlett
NOAA Regional Coordinator, Northeast
nicole.bartlett@noaa.gov
National Park Service Charles Roman
CESU Coordinator
croman@gso.uri.edu
 
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
 
United States Geological Survey Howard Ginsberg
Ecologist, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center Coastal Field Unit
hginsberg@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Bates College Holly Ewing
Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies
hewing@bates.edu
Philip Walsh
Director, Office for External Grants
pwalsh@bates.edu

Katie Currie
Grants Coordinator, Office for External Grants
kcurrie@bates.edu
City University of New York John Waldman
Professor
john.waldman@qc.cuny.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
College of the Atlantic John G.T. Anderson
Associate Dean for Advanced Studies
jga@coa.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Columbia University Steven Cohen
Executive Director, The Earth Institute
sc32@columbia.edu

Rita Ricobelli

Senior Staff Associate, The Earth Institute
rricobelli@ei.columbia.edu

Katherine McFadden

Assistant Professor, Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Environmental Biology
kwm6@columbia.edu
Alison Miller
Deputy Executive Director The Earth Institute
alisonmiller@ei.columbia.edu
Cornell University Stephen D. DeGloria
Director, Institute for Resource Information Sciences
sdd4@cornell.edu
Christine Ashdown
Senior Grant and Contract Officer
Office of Sponsored Programs
cma20@cornell.edu
Harvard University Brian Farrell
Museum of Comparative Zoology
farrellb@oeb.harvard.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Manhattan College Kerryanne Donohue
Civil and Environmental Engineering Department
kerryanne.donohue@manhattan.edu

Kirk Barrett
Civil and Environmental Engineering Department
kirk.barrett@manhattan.edu
Dominic Esposito
Certified Grants Administrator
dominic.esposito@manhattan.edu
Northeastern University Geoffrey C. Trussell
Director, Marine Science Center
g.trussell@neu.edu
Eric Jones
Grant Officer
ep.jones@neu.edu
Rutgers University Norbert Psuty
Director, Sandy Hook Cooperative Research Program
Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences
psuty@marine.rutgers.edu

Michael DeLuca
Senior Associate Director
Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences
deluca@marine.rutgers.edu
Sheryl Goldberg
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
sherylgo@grants.rutgers.edu
State University of New York Neil Ringler
Dean of Research
neilringler@esf.edu

John Auwaeter
Research Scientist
jeauwaer@esf.edu
Justine Gordon
Contract and Grant Specialist
Office of Sponsored Programs Services
Justine.Gordon@rfsuny.org
Stony Brook University R. Lawrence Swanson
Associate Dean
School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
lswanson@notes.cc.sunysb.edu
Anne DePietri
Contracts Administrator
Research Foundation for
The State University of New York
Office of Sponsored Programs
Stony Brook University
annette.depietri@stonybrook.edu
University of Connecticut John Volin
Professor and Head
Natural Resources and the Environment
1376 Storrs Road Unit 4087
University of Connecticut
Storrs, CT  06269-4087
Phone: (860) 486-2840
john.volin@uconn.edu

Glenn Warner
Associate Professor
Department of Natural Resources and the Environment
The University of Connecticut U-87,
1376 Storrs Road
Storrs, CT 06269-4087
Phone: (860) 486-0140
glenn.warner@uconn.edu

Michael R. Willig
Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
and Center for Environmental Sciences & Engineering
University of Connecticut
Storrs, CT 06269-5210
Phone: (860) 486-1455
michael.willig@uconn.edu
Andrea Kelly
Executive Assistant to the Vice President for Research
andrea.kelly@uconn.edu
University of Maine, Orono Ivan J. Fernandez
Professor of Soil Science and
Cooperating Professor of Forest Resources
Department of Plant, Soil & Environmental Sciences
ivanjf@maine.edu
Arlene Russell
Institutional Administrative Official
arlene.russell@umit.maine.edu
University of Maryland, Eastern Shore Joseph Pitula
Department of Natural Sciences
jspitula@umes.edu
Catherine Bolek
Director, Sponsored Research
csbolek@mail.umes.edu
University of Massachusetts, Amherst Eric Johnson
Director
UMASS Archaeological Services
Department of Anthropology
ericjohnson@anthro.umass.edu
Office of Grant & Contract Administration
ogca@research.umass.edu
University of Massachusetts, Boston Jack Wiggin
Director, Urban Harbors Institute
jack.wiggin@umb.edu

Amy Den Ouden
Department of Anthropology
amy.denouden@umb.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of New England Barry A. Costa-Pierce
Henry L. & Grace Doherty Chair of Marine Sciences
Director, Marine Science Education and Research Center
bcostapierce@une.edu
 
University of Rhode Island Judith Swift
Director, Coastal Institute
jswift@uri.edu
Ellen Mcvey
Sponsored Projects 
Scientific Research Grant Assistant
emcvey@gso.uri.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Biodiversity Research Institute David Evers 
Chief Scientist
david.evers@briloon.org
Catherine Flegel
Science Operations Director
catherine.flegel@briloon.org
Marine Biological Laboratory Jim Tang
The Ecosystems Center
jtang@mbl.edu  
Rebecca Lynn
Manager of Sponsored Programs
rlynn@mbl.edu
Maryland Coastal Bays Program Roman Jesien
Science Coordinator
mcbp@mdcoastalbays.org or rjesien@mdcoastalbays.org
 
Provincetown Center for Coastal Studies Mark Borrelli
Coastal Geologist
mborrelli@coastalstudies.org
Richard Delaney
Executive Director
delaney@coastalstudies.org
Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park Mark Berry
President/CEO
mberry@schoodicinstitute.org
Phyllis Morris
Office Manager
phyllis@sercinstitute.org