CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

Gulf Coast Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (GC-CESU) facilitates collaborative research, education and technical assistance pertaining to the human and natural environment, within and beyond the region, among federal and state agencies, universities and non-governmental organizations.

HOST

Texas A&M University, AgriLife Research

Texas A&M University, AgriLife Research

ESTABLISHED 2002
WEBSITE http://gccesu.org/
DIRECTOR Jeremiah Leibowitz
Program Manager
Texas A&M Institute of Renewable Natural Resources
1919 Oakwell Farms Parkway, Suite 100
San Antonio, Texas 78218
PHONE: (210) 277-0292 ext. 108
EMAIL: jeremiah.leibowitz@ag.tamu.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS
AGREEMENTS AMENDMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2002)
Amendment 1 adding U.S. Forest Service
Amendment 2 adding Grambling State University and Instituto de Ecologia, A.C.
Amendment 3 adding Rice University, Stephen F. Austin University, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
Amendment 4 adding University of New Orleans
Amendment 5 adding the U.S Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works
Amendment 6 adding University of West Florida, Tarelton State University, Sul Ross State University, University of Arkansas at Monticello, University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture, and Houston Advanced Research Center

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2007)
Amendment 1 adding U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and Bat Conservation International
Amendment 2 adding National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, University of Texas at Brownsville, and Florida State University
Amendment 3 adding Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation and Enforcement, University of Arkansas Pine Bluff, and Texas AgriLife Extension Service
Amendment 4 adding Valdosta State University and Dauphin Island Sea Lab
Amendment 5 adding Columbus State University

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2012)
Amendment 1 adding University of Texas - Pan American
Amendment 2 adding University of South Alabama
Amendment 3 adding Gulf Coast Bird Observatory and Louisiana State University Agricultural Center
Amendment 4 adding Lamar University
Amendment 5 adding Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) and The University of Alabama
Amendment 6 adding Tulane University
Amendment 7 adding University of Mississippi
Amendment 8 adding University of Texas at Tyler
Amendment 9 changing the names of several schools
Amendment 10 adding Bureau of Indian Affairs and other partners
Amendment 11 (pending) adding Sam Houston State University, Three Rivers Resource Conservation and Development Council, Inc., Texas A&M University–San Antonio, Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

Chelsea Whitten
Lead Contract Specialist
Chelsea.M.Whitten@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Indian Affairs Rachael Novak
BIA Climate Science Coordinator
rachael.novak@bia.gov
Jo Ann Metcalfe
Grants Management Specialist
jo.metcalfe@bia.gov
Bureau of Land Management Sean MacDougall
Biological Sciences Program Lead
Eastern States Office
smacdoug@blm.gov
Brandon Riley
Grants Management Officer
briley@blm.gov
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Melanie Damour
Marine Archaeologist and Supervisor Studies Plan Coordination Unit
melanie.damour@boem.gov
Kate Segarra
Oceanographer
Division of Environmental Sciences
katherine.segarra@boem.gov
Department of Defense Frank Lands
Frank.W.Lands.civ@mail.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
Kathy.S.Mitchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor Charles.McGregor@usace.army.mil
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Kim Webb
Project Leader Stockton Fish and Wildlife Office
kim_webb@fws.gov

Cesar Cadena Blanco
Chief, CVPIA Project Implementation Division
cesar_blanco@fws.gov
Jean Lee
Grants and Agreements Specialist
Jean_Lee@fws.gov
U.S. Forest Service Monica J. Schwalbach
Assistant Director, Planning and Applications
Southern Research Station
mschwalbach@fs.fed.us
Joyce Gorgas
Lead Grants and Agreements Specialist
Southern Research Station
jgorgas@fs.fed.us
National Aeronautics and Space Administration Jenette Gordon
Stennis Space Center
jenette.b.gordon@nasa.gov
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Bonnie Ponwith
NOAA Southeast Fisheries Science Center
bonnie.ponwith@noaa.gov
Jennifer Lechuga
Environmental Compliance Coordinator / CESU Program Manager
jennifer.lechuga@noaa.gov
National Park Service Giselle Mora-Bourgeois
CESU Coordinator
nps-cesu@ag.tamu.edu or
giselle_mora-bourgeois@nps.gov
Rose McClelland
Contract Officer
rose_mcclelland@nps.gov
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist
Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
U.S. Geological Survey Thomas Doyle
Wetland and Aquatic Research Center
doylet@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Auburn University Graeme Lockaby
lockabg@auburn.edu
Tony Ventimiglia
ventiaf@auburn.edu

John Folmar
folmajt@auburn.edu
Columbus State University Julie Ballenger
ballenger_julie@columbusstate.edu
Michael Wetherholt
wetherholt_michael@colombus.edu
Florida State University Eric Chassignet
echassignet@coaps.fsu.edu
Marcy Friedle
mfriedle@fsu.edu

Julie Wammack
jwammack@fsu.edu
Lamar University Paul Nicoletto
Professor and Chair, Department of Biology
pfnicoletto@my.lamar.edu
Peter J. Kelleher
Associate Provost for Research
pkelleher@lamar.edu
Louisiana State University Craig E. Colten
ccolten@lsu.edu
Winona Ward
osp@lsu.edu
Louisiana State University Agricultural Center John S. Russin
jrussin@agcenter.lsu.edu
Wade Baumgartner
wbaumgartner@agcenter.lsu.edu
Mississippi State University Wes Burger
wburger@dfr.msstate.edu
Tina Hood
thood@spa.msstate.edu

Penny French
pfrench@spa.msstate.edu
New College of Florida Lee Ann Rodriguez
Director, Research Programs and Services
lrodriguez@ncf.edu
Lee Ann Rodriguez
Director, Research Programs and Services
lrodriguez@ncf.edu
Southern University and A&M College Kamran K. Abdollahi
kamrana664@cs.com
Contact your sponsored programs office
Stephen F. Austin State University Pat Stephens-Williams
stephensp@sfasu.edu
Carrie Brown
brownch@sfasu.edu 
Sul Ross University Louis Harveson
harveson@sulross.edu
Marilyn McGee
mmcghee@sulross.edu
Tarleton State University Dan Hunter
dhunter@tiaer.tarleton.edu
Bert Little
little@tarleton.edu
Texas A&M University, AgriLife Research Debbie Danford
dedanford@ag.tamu.edu
Ross Albrecht
ralbrecht@tamus.edu
Texas A&M University, Texas AgriLife Extension Pete Gibbs
p-gibbs@tamu.edu
Lester Crenwelge
lcrenwelge@tamus.edu
Texas A&M University, College Station Jeremiah Leibowitz
jeremiah.leibowitz@ag.tamu.edu
Debbie Danford
dedanford@ag.tamu.edu

Ross Albrecht
ralbrecht@tamus.edu
Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi Paul Zimba
paul.zimba@tamucc.edu
Mayra Hough
Mayra.Hough@tamucc.edu
Texas A&M University, Galveston Tammy Holliday
hollidat@tamug.edu
Travis Young
tyoung@tamus.edu  
Texas A&M University, Kingsville William Kuvlesky
william.kulvesky@tamuk.edu
Sandra Garcia
kusdg000@tamuk.edu
Tulane University Michael J. Blum
mjblum@tulane.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
Troy University Glenn Cohen
gcohen@troy.edu
Judy Fulmer
jfulmer@troy.edu
The University of Alabama Carl A. Pinkert, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
cap@ua.edu

Cheryl Leonard
Administrative Assistant to the Vice President for Research
celeonard@ua.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Arkansas, Division of Agriculture Phil Tappe
tappe@uamont.edu
Mike Sisco
msisco@uark.edu
University of Arkansas, Monticello Phil Tappe
tappe@uamont.edu
Christy Pace
pacec@uamont.edu
University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff Leslie Glover
gloverl@uapb.edu
Sherrie Wylie
wylies@uapb.edu
University of Central Florida Graham Worthy
graham.worthy@ucf.edu
Josey Combs
jcombs@mail.ucf.edu  
University of Florida Sherry Larkin
slarkin@ufl.edu
Shell Romano
mr050370@ufl.edu
University of Georgia Michael Mengak
Associate Dean – Outreach | Professor – Wildlife
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
mmengak@uga.edu
Jacob Maas
jnmaas@uga.edu
University of Louisiana, Lafayette Ruth Landry
rlandry@louisiana.edu
Donna Fontenot
dsf@louisiana.edu

Camille Perry
cperry@louisiana.edu
The University of Mississippi Mickey McLaurin
Director of Sponsored Programs Administration
research@olemiss.edu
Mickey McLaurin
Director of Sponsored Programs Administration
research@olemiss.edu
University of New Orleans Martin O'Connell
moconnel@uno.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of South Alabama Kimberly Littlefield
kplittlefield@southalabama.edu
Lynne U. Chronister
Vice President for Research & Economic Development
lchronister@southalabama.edu
University of South Florida Jeffrey P. Du Vernay
jduverna@usf.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
The University of Southern Mississippi Marcia Landen
Associate Vice President for Research
Marcia.Landen@usm.edu
Contact your sponsored programs office
University of Texas, Austin Eric William James
ewjames@austin.utexas.edu
Stephen Richardson 
skrichardson@austin.utexas.edu

osp@austin.utexas.edu
University of Texas, Rio Grande Valley BethLynn Maxwell
bmaxwell@utsystem.edu
Cathy Dineen
cdineen@utsystem.edu
University of Texas, Tyler Blake Bextine
Professor, Department of Biology
bbextine@uttyler.edu
Carla Reichard
Assistant Director
Office of Research & Technology Transfer
creichard@uttyler.edu
University of West Florida Elizabeth Benchley
ebenchley@ufw.edu
Carol Rafalski
crafalsk@uwf.edu
Valdosta State University J. Mitchell Lockhart
jmlockha@valdosta.edu
Barbara Gray
bhgray@valdosta.edu
OTHER PARTNERS
Bat Conservation International Mylea Bayless
mbayless@batcon.org
Linda Moore
lmoore@batcon.org
Dauphin Island Sea Lab Kenneth L. Heck, Jr.
kheck@disl.org
David England
dengland@disl.org
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission René Baumstark
Rene.Baumstark@myfwc.com

Brian Branciforte
Brian.Branciforte@myfwc.com

 

Gulf Coast Bird Observatory Felipe Chavez-Ramirez
fchavez@gcbo.org
 
Houston Advanced Research Center Jim Lester
jlester@harc.edu
Linda Binford
lbinford@harc.edu
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Steve Smith
ssmith@wlf.la.qov

 

The Nature Conservancy, Texas Chapter John S.C.. Herron
jherron@tnc.org
Dayo Adeseum
dadeseun@tnc.org
White Buffalo, Inc. Anthony J. DeNicola
tony.denicola@whitebuffaloinc.org