CESU Masthead

Back to Current CESU Units page

The North and West Alaska CESU is a collaborative effort between universities, institutions, and federal agencies designed to facilitate research.

The North and West Alaska CESU achieves the highest level of integrity and leadership expertise in unique circumpolar north, boreal and marine ecosystem science critical to the future of state, national and global issues by establishing:      

  • An integrated structural partnership that functions seamlessly to meet science needs
  • A quality assurance and peer review mechanism that assures the integrity of the process, bringing accurate and current science to bear on policy issues
  • A collaboration that is publicly visible in making connections and communicating research impacts at the state and national levels
  • A program that draws from all cultures in Alaska, builds both agency and partner human resource capacity in Alaskan expertise for the future and connects this capacity with the national arena
HOST University of Alaska, Fairbanks

University of Alaska, Fairbanks

ESTABLISHED 2003
WEBSITE http://www.uaf.edu/snre/cesu/
DIRECTOR Peter Fix
323 O'Neill Bldg
PO Box 757200
Fairbanks, AK, 99775
PHONE: (907) 474-6926
EMAIL: pjfix@alaska.edu
ADMINISTRATIVE DOCUMENTS

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2003)
Amendment 1 adding the Natural Resources Conservation Service
Amendment 2 adding the Minerals Management Service
Amendment 3 adding the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Amendment 4 adding the Alaska Pacific University and Denali Education Center

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2008)
Amendment 1 adding the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense - Installations and Environment
Amendment 2 adding U.S. Army Corps of Engineers – Civil Works and Alaska Geographic
Amendment 3 adding Alaska Bird Observatory and Manomet Center for Conservation Sciences
Amendment 4 adding Wildlife Conservation Society, Idaho State University, and Montana State University

Cooperative and Joint Venture Agreement (2013)
Amendment 1 adding Sitka Sound Science Center

Request updates to partner contact information.
UNIT PARTNERS
  TECHNICAL REPRESENTATIVE ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVE
FEDERAL PARTNERS
Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works Alfred F. Cofrancesco
Technical Director
Civil Works, Environmental Engineering and Science
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil
Jeri Mcguffie
Grants Officer
Jeri.H.Mcguffie@usace.army.mil

Sherry Whitaker  
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil
Bureau of Land Management Bill Overbaugh 
Alaska State Office
boverbau@blm.gov
Betty Lockard
blockard@blm.gov
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Dee Williams
Environmental Studies Program
dee.williams@boem.gov
Kate Segarra
Oceanographer
Division of Environmental Sciences katherine.segarra@boem.gov
Department of Defense John Haddix
Natural Resources Supervisor
John.A.Haddix.civ@mail.mil

Alison A. Dalsimer
Director, DoD Natural Resources Program
Allyn.A.Dalsimer.civ@mail.mil
Kathy Mitchell
Ft. Worth Center Project Manager
kathy.s.mimtchell@usace.army.mil

Charles McGregor
charles.mcgregor@usace.army.mil
Fish and Wildlife Service Cynthia Jacobson, Ph.D.
Assistant Regional Director, Office of Science Applications
cynthia_jacobson@fws.gov
Rich Primmer
Contract Specialist 
rich_primmer@fws.gov
Forest Service Linda E. Kruger
Social Science Team Leader
Pacific Northwest Research Station lkruger@fs.fed.us
Vi Ta
Grants Management PNW Research Station – SDO
vita@fs.fed.us
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Douglas DeMaster
Science Director, Alaska Fisheries Science Center
Alaska Fisheries Science Center
douglas.demaster@noaa.gov
 
National Park Service Lois Dalle-Molle
CESU Coordinator
lois_dalle-molle@nps.gov

Robert A. Winfree
Science Advisor
Alaska Regional Office
robert_winfree@nps.gov
 
Natural Resources Conservation Service Doris Washington
National CESU/COE Coordinator
Doris.Washington@ar.usda.gov

Noller Herbert (acting)
National Technology Support Coordinator
Science and Technology Deputy Area
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist Christopher.Watkins@ftw.usda.gov
United States Geological Survey Grant Hilderbrand
Chief of our Marine Ecology Office
dpsmith@usgs.gov
Faith Graves
CESU Contract Specialist
fgraves@usgs.gov
UNIVERSITY PARTNERS
Alaska Pacific University Mike Loso
Assistant Professor of Geology and Earth Sciences
mloso@alaskapacific.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Idaho State University Ben Crosby
Assistant Professor
Department of Geosciences
crosby@isu.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
Montana State University Stephanie A. Ewing
Assistant Professor
Department of Land Resources & Environmental Sciences
stephanie.ewing@montana.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Alaska, Anchorage Peter Fix
Assistant Professor and NWAK-CESU Campus Coordinator
pjfix@alaska.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Alaska, Fairbanks Peter Fix
Assistant Professor and NWAK-CESU Campus Coordinator
pjfix@alaska.edu

Stephen Sparrow
Interim Dean, School of Natural Resources & Agricultural Sciences
sdsparrow@alaska.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of Alaska, Southeast Peter Fix
Assistant Professor and NWAK-CESU Campus Coordinator
pjfix@alaska.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
University of New Hampshire John D. Aber
Vice President for Research and Public Service
john.abner@unh.edu

Kelly Giraud Cullen
Associate Professor
kelly.cullen@unh.edu
Contact your college's grants and sponsored programs office
OTHER PARTNERS
Alaska Geographic Barbara Elfman Bell
Exeutive Director
bbell@alaskageographic.org
 
Alaska SeaLife Center Tara Riemer Jones
Interim resident and CEO
taraj@alaskasealife.org
 
Sitka Sound Science Center Lisa Busch
Executive Director
lbusch@sitkascience.org
 
Manomet Center for Conservation Sciences Stephen Brown
Director of Shorebird Science
sbrown@manomet.org
 
Wildlife Conservation Society Joe Liebezeit
Associate Conservation Biologist
jliebezeit@wcs.org